We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable dining experience in downtown Fargo.”
Review of Toscana

Toscana
Ranked #45 of 333 Restaurants in Fargo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: European, French, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Ballston Spa, New York
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Enjoyable dining experience in downtown Fargo.”
Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I were traveling and the evening at Toscana was our wedding anniversary. We hoped to have a very nice meal and Toscana came through for us. The restaurant is not fancy in terms of decor, but our booth was fine and the table settings are attractive. I had escargot to start and husband had the carpaccio. Both were excellent. I ordered the veal entree and asked to have it light on mushrooms. That did not turn out to be the case and our server apologized. Never the less, the veal was excellent and accompanying potatoes and asparagus were tasty. My husband really enjoyed his lamb and raved about the sauce. We shared a tirimisu dessert which was light and flavorful. The wines we had were nice. Our server was friendly and courteous. We felt the meal was worth the cost and we left very satisfied with Toscana.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    23
    10
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Falls, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch selection and wine choices”
Reviewed May 11, 2014

We were pleasantly surprised during our downtown visit to come across this great little find. Our group of three were all very pleased with our lunch choices and all agreed it was one of our best meals of the trip. The wine list was also excellent and we were happy to see several good by-the-glass choices offered. Also, we were impressed to find they offered a gluten free menu with many choices. If you choose one of their gluten free pasta choices, you may prefer to have it cooked a bit more thoroughly though, so be sure to ask.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank CFMWvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Sorry ...”
Reviewed May 9, 2014

Not good … at all. I wanted to like it for a Fargo downtown experience but pre-marathon worst pasta dinner I have had in a long time.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bacon3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Frozen, Canned or Packaged”
Reviewed April 3, 2014

The worst meal I've had in Fargo. The restaurant is dark, and dated. There are way too many items on the menu, and it is terribly expensive for the quality. For a place that is locally owned and boasts an italian chef, this was a complete disappointment. Nothing we ordered was from scratch. Frozen ravioli, canned mushrooms, puff pastry from a package, no seasoning at all. Dessert appeared to have a cool-whip topping and strawberries in syrup from a container. The cost of three entrees, one dessert, and water was $80+.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank eatdrinktravel234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Toscana is worth a visit!”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Great menu, great food. Never disappointed. Only sell wine or beer, so no night cap! Really worth a visit. We will be back

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ajh697
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toscana also viewed

 

Been to Toscana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing