We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent dinner and quiet atmosphere”
Review of Toscana

Toscana
Ranked #51 of 333 Restaurants in Fargo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: European, French, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Buxton, North Dakota
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent dinner and quiet atmosphere”
Reviewed March 29, 2012

My wife and I were given a gift certificate (more like $50) from our best friends that reside in Fargo, telling us we need to visit this restaurant. They did tell us, its a smaller place so calling ahead was recommended. We called ahead and on Tuesday evening at 7pm there were no issues getting in. The food was excellent. Because it was my wife's b-day we splurged and ordered an appetizer of calamari. Delicious! Both my wife's and mine main dishes were excellent and more than either of us could eat. Left overs were also tasty. Service was a bit slow but we were not in a rush and enjoyed our time together. If you are looking for a place for a romantic evening and excellent food, make sure to give Toscana a visit.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank hunterhersh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    24
    11
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Best food around”
Reviewed March 9, 2012

Best food, hands down, in Fargo. Fresh, interesting flavor combinations. My chicken scalopini ($8.75) was a grilled chicken breast, fettucine, some tomatoes, mushrooms, and bacon. I kept wondering, "What is this tang in the sauce?" Oh! It's actual, genuine lemon in the lemon basil sauce, instead of an artificial lemon flavor.
We went for lunch, and the prices were very reasonable ($9 something for husband's including shrimp).
We had super-speedy service, unlike some of the other reviewers. Perhaps it depends on when you go? Who you get?
Bread with olive oil & spices were fresh and very flavorful.
Seriously, this stomps the heck out of Olive Garden. Price and atmosphere are better. Definitely will return.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Leezer1015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutchinson, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Am I really in North Dakota?”
Reviewed February 24, 2012

Just returned from a wonderful meal at Toscana. 5 of us spent a pleasant evening enjoying the food and ambience of this restaurant which far exceeded our expectations. We learned that the chef is a native of Italy who has cooked in Europe and New York and it shows. Every aspect of our meal was excellent, The bread was served piping hot with olive oil. The lobster and shrimp bisque was rich and redolent of seafood. The seabass, with mushrooms and shrimp in a brandy sauce was subtle yet flavorful. Another in our group had Coquille St. Jacques with generous amounts of scallops and a delicate puff pastry. The pheasant was moist and tender and the Penne Marie Monte was served in a pepper/ cream sauce that balanced well with the pasta. Finished with tiramisu or cheese cake and an espresso which was the perfect ending to an unexpectedly first class dining experience.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank ChinggisKhaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorhead, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“good food but terrible service”
Reviewed February 9, 2012

The food is pretty good, but plan on spending a long time there. The servers seem rushed and stressed out. The servers do a good job, it just appears the place is very under staffed.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank wineanddine0451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The best Italian restaurant in Fargo”
Reviewed January 26, 2012

This is THE best Italian restaurant in the FM area. Great, fresh food that does not scream chain restaurant. Love the ambiance. A little pricey but well worth it. You might want to get a reservation however, because this place is always packed.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 13TravelJunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toscana also viewed

 

Been to Toscana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing