We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Johnny Carino's

Johnny Carino's
Ranked #22 of 330 Restaurants in Fargo
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Fargo, North Dakota
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We were staying next door at the Best Western and didn't feel like going out to eat. Johnny Carino's delivered food to the rooms which was super convenient. When I called to order the individual I spoke with was very friendly and helpful. He said the food would be there in 25-30 minutes and it was barely 25 when they knocked at the door. I had the pepperoni burger and shoestring fries. The burger was different but absolutely delicious. The fries had a little different seasoning on them but again were delicious. The other individual with me got the steak, beans and rosemary potatoes. The steak was cooked to perfection and the meal was generally delicious. It came in this giant foil pan! They give you tons more food than you can possibly eat! I can't speak for the service when you sit down in the restaurant, however the service we received was terrific. Would definitely try it again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Blake S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    78
    35
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Granite Falls, Minnesota
Level Contributor
239 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Ordered take out...very good.”
Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

Ordered the rosemary chicken dish for take out. Bread was tasty and plentiful. Main dish was good but way too doused with oil. Probably would eat here again and try something different.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank iver0185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
175 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Pseudo Italian with Midwestern Overtones”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

It seemed like a low risk hit while we were on the road. Sadly, we walked in. The facade is new, the decor a bit kitschy old world Italian, but then we get to the food. While the menu is Italian, the reality is pure middle American Midwest. Completely flavorless cesaer salads. How does one do that? Main courses were sketchy on the proteins, not at all like the pictures in the menu...where did the pesto and sausages go? Flat tastes, no spice and little flavor. Sao, short version...not a great evening...not even good. This places seems to want to the Olive Garden when it grows up - we not even close. There are other better choices in the area. Not to be a repeat visitor. Sad, really.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
276 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
“Disappointing To Say The Least”
Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

There are some basics that should not be overlooked when it comes to delivering memorable dining and on my visit this restaurant failed to deliver.

What is so culinarily challenging about penne pasta with chicken and gorgonzola sauce? Normally ... nothing.

It was readily apparent the pasta had been pre-cooked and then stored cold until called for. The chicken breast meat had been pre-cooked, chilled and held until needed, as well.

This dish, in all likelihood was cold pasta reheated, chicken breast meat reheated and then gorgonzola sauce out of a bucket added, along with tasteless white mushrooms that had all the quality of watered-down canned ones.

It was evident my meal consisted of virtually all reheated ingredients rather than cooked to order ingredients.

Food should only be sent out of the kitchen when it is thoroughly heated and not a race to see how fast it can be sent out!

Next, hot food should be placed on warm dishes so it stays hot until it reaches the customer.

On a positive note, the bread was nice as was the calamari; but then this kitchen could not get away with precooking the squid...but I would not put a bet on that.

Consider this a fast food restaurant with nice decor. Go for the atmosphere but don't expect a culinary journey to Italy.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TraveljohnsonJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nebraska
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent food and atmosphere”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Food was great, wine was fine and large servings. The wait staff was very attentive. Would return if in the area again

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank lovetotravelNebraska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Johnny Carino's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing