We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing place to eat!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Johnny Carino's

Johnny Carino's
Ranked #21 of 329 Restaurants in Fargo
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Steinbach, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing place to eat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

We asked yo be seated on the patio which was very nice. The menu has a lot of different options, not just the regular Italian staples, although they are there if you so choose! Service was great! The Italian drinks were very nice, they make a great authentic Bellini. The atmosphere is very authentic to Italy. We would definitely eat here again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Becky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    77
    35
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Scottdale, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Food good but our waitress was a dunce!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

We got there about 5pm and got seated immediately. We were immediately were welcomed and got a bag of bread and a small saucer of olive oil with black pepper and burn peices of garlic in the olive oil. It was horrible! Our waitess was very nice and asked what we wanted to start with and took our appetizer order. She asked us several times to repeat ourselves and you could tell that her mind was not on working but it was somewhere else. After she got our drinks and appetizers she asked if we were ready for desert. My husband said that we havent even started our main entrees yet. She apologized and said that she "felt just stuipd". She came back to check on us and everytime she came back she would be apoligize for something. She came back a third time and asked if we received our food and we said no. She looked at us with a blank stare and said,"I did write down your order right?" So she went through her order book to see that she not only wrote our order down but did in fact place it in to the chefs. She came back again to check on us and said our food should be out in 2 to 3 minutes. It was more like 4-6 minutes to get our food. The food was good.
Our waitress never came back to ask how our meal was or if we would like any desert. I did inform the manager that our waitress was not focused on working but did have her mind on something else. The manager apologized and said that she would talk to our waitress, do I think that our waitress was talked too? Probably not.
As we were waiting for our food, we know that the table behind my husband got the wrong order-it was the same waitress that we had and the table that was across from us, the same waitress screwed up their bill. So make sure that you review your check before handing over your credit card.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DAN N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Mixed review”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

Let's start with while walking to our table the floor was extremely sticky. Sticky enough that I rubbed my shoes in the snow after dinner. Anyways the staff was very polite and helpful and the bread appetizer was great. Although the appetizer plates were filthy along with one of the glasses and the booth had not been cleaned throughly. Those are just some downsides that don't take the fun out of eating here. Our meal was delicous and the staff was SO apolagetic about our food being late even though it wasn't. The porsions was giving size which is nice to take some leftovers home. After our meal the manager came to our table and offered us a free dessert to make up for "late meals" even though they weren't late. That was very kind of him. To top it off it seemed they didn't have enough staff.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tyler V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitoba Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“excellent food and good value.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

very nice restaurant. it was clean and the staff was very attentive. you get lots of food for what you pay. and the bread they give you as an appetizer was delicious. and if requested the bread kept coming. Would highly recommend eating here.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank LoriRayManitoba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Had never been here before, and sure are glad we went. You can taste that the pasta is freshly made every day. Menu consists of a great variety of dishes. The staff is very kind and friendly. Johnny Carinos is a great value for the price you pay. The next time we're in Fargo, we will be going back.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bubba1290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Johnny Carino's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing