We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worst stay EVER!!!!”
Review of Grand Inn Fargo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Inn Fargo
Ranked #50 of 50 Hotels in Fargo
Reviewed December 28, 2006

When we arrived, the girl at the front desk was extremely unproffessional. The room smelled of stale smoke, and was not clean. We found hair in the bed!! The dog in the next room peed on our door, which caused an even beiiger smell in the air.
Then at 5:00am the fire alarm went off, and did not stop for over 1 hour (becuase of toaster smoke they said). Af ter all these problems, they refused to give any kind of a refund, and were quite short with us. We will never stay there again!

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank brinajoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 62 of 62 reviews

Reviewed November 29, 2006

We recently stayed at the Grand Inn over the Thanksgiving holiday and requested a non-smoking room. What we received was a room directly over a smoking room which smelled horribly of smoke. It was just like someone was smoking in our room all night long. The beds were so uncomfortable and the room was not all that clean. We did make our complaints known to the person on duty, and she said she would note it. I will not stay there again. There are so many things that need to be fixed. I know the price and location were great, but the smell and lack of cleanliness was overbearing.

Stayed: November 2006
Thank shopper4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2006

I completely agree with the last review. We had been staying at the Grand Inn (Motel 75) twice a year for the last 10 years during our bi-annual shopping trips to Fargo. We often enjoyed this hotel as an extremely clean, comfortable, friendly and high-value stay at less than $40 a night but the recent management (and name) change has resulted in increased prices with no noticable improvements being made. Granted, at less than $40 a night, who's to complain and if all you require is a clean, no-nonsense roof over your head, this is an ideal place to stay. However, with memory foam/pillowtop mattresses all the rage and a comfortable night's sleep important to every traveller, the Grand Inn comes up miserably short. These are undoubtedly the same beds we slept on 10 years ago and the lumps we experienced last April (and in other recent stays) were just too much for even our paltry $40 to bear.

On the positive, the continental breakfast has everything you need to start your day and the rooms are large and always clean. The location is close to the mall and other dining choices are a short drive or walk away.

All in all, if the beds were replaced, we'd be back! I will be looking at future reviews to see what transpires.

  • Stayed: April 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PegTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandInnFargo, General Manager at Grand Inn Fargo, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2006

Hello everyone, My name is Alycia and I am the new general manager. Just wanted to let you all know that we have made so major changes here. We have put all new beds in our queen NS rooms and a few new beds in our Double NS rooms. We plan to finsh with all new beds by spring. We have also put all new carpet in our 1st floor hallway. We also have a guest computer and laundry services now. We will be makeing some more changes over the winter. The best part about all this we will not be raiseing our prices anytime soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2006

A friend recommended the Grand Inn as an inexpensive, but clean motel. I guess if walking dingy hallways and inhaling stale cigarette smoke is your thing, this place would be ok. On a positive note, once we were in our room it was bearable. Since we spent most of our weekend out, we decided to stay, but we would definitely not return.

The beds were in rough shape, but the bedding was clean. The cigarette smell was evident throughout the hotel, and the continental breakfast consisted of coffee (not even milk or cream for the coffee, just the powdered stuff!), juice and a few toasters in the next room with loaves of bread and bagels.

There are far better hotels in Fargo and we'll be sure to book the rooms for our next trip.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
8  Thank CanadaTraveller44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fargo hotels
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge East
Econo Lodge East
#43 of 50 in Fargo
137 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fargo Inn & Suites
Fargo Inn & Suites
#27 of 50 in Fargo
215 reviews
2.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#48 of 50 in Fargo
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Super 8 Fargo Airport
Super 8 Fargo Airport
#42 of 50 in Fargo
298 reviews
0.7 mi away
Econo Lodge West Fargo
Econo Lodge West Fargo
#46 of 50 in Fargo
98 reviews
2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Fargo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Inn Fargo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Inn Fargo

Address: 3402 14th Ave S, Fargo, ND 58103-3415
Location: United States > North Dakota > Fargo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 50 Hotels in Fargo
Price Range: $38 - $50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Inn Fargo 2*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Good Location Close to The Interstate, Shopping Center, Quiet Two Story Building, Continental Breakfast, 24 hour Coffee In The Lobby. 24 Hour Front Desk. Wireless Highspeed Internet. Childern Under 18 Stay Free With Their Parents. Guest Loundry In The Building. Smoking And Non Smoking Rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Inn Fargo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Inn Fargo Hotel Fargo
Grand Hotel Fargo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing