We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Apart from the Dencorub smell it was fine to stay here”
Review of Grand Inn Fargo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Inn Fargo
Ranked #50 of 50 Hotels in Fargo
Reviewed May 4, 2011

Yes this motel is old and rooms are average. But the price of the room was cheap.

Free breakfast was good as was free internet access in the lobby.

My only problem was that the bed/sheets/blankets smelt like Dencorub. I'm from Australia and I'm sorry I don't know what the American equivalent is, but basically Dencorub is a heat cream that people rub into their skin for aching muscles - IT STINKS.

When I told the people in the lobby the next morning, they said 'Oh yes that's from when the Dencorub lady stays'. The smell is contained to a couple of rooms that a particular woman stays in. The maids cannot seem to get rid of the smell.

I think that it is fine to stay here, but just ensure that youdon't stay in these rooms.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhilUSA2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 62 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2010

Do yourself a favor and pass on this place. 15 years ago this was a decent motel at reasonable rates. Today it is still inexpensive but: stinky, dirty, filthy smelly. The health dept. should ashut them down. One of the staff lives in an old car at the back of the parking lot. The nite staff do nothing but eat and it shows. A real slum!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moisheh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandInnFargo, Manager at Grand Inn Fargo, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2011

My name is Lori and I have been Manager here for a little over a year. In the past year, we have replaced the box springs and mattresses, painted all of the insides of the rooms, the hallways, breakfast area and outside of motel. We have guests that have been coming here for years and will not stay anywhere else when they are in the area. Every year the health dept and fire dept inspect all the motels in Fargo and when we had our inspection a week ago, the health inspector said that for an older building, the upkeep was excellent. Report is on file if anyone would like to see it. We had no violations. We are human and unfortunately we get an occasional issue in a room. If we are called when the problem is discovered, we either correct the problem right away or move the guest to another room. We do have a smoking area and we are installing an exaust fan so that the rooms near the smoking section will not be affected by the smoke. If we know a guest is allergic to smoke, we have a section that is away from the smoking area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2010

We pulled into this hotel at 2am after being delayed at the Canada-USA Border for 3 HOURS. Both my fiancee and I are working professionals, no trouble with the law, so we were VERY tired and easily irritated at this point.
When we showed up, the hotel staff was up and waiting for us, and very accomodating. We had to be up by 7am to continue our driving, and the free, tasty breakfast was waiting for us. The hotel staff also lent us their iron (they do not have one in the room, as it is a budget hotel) for the night, as we had some clothing to de-wrinkle, and was in all, very accomodating. The beds are a little hard, but the place was clean and well worth the money in my opinion. I'll stay there again. :)

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lookintomyeyes83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2010

This is truly the most disgusting place I have ever stayed in my life, it stinks its dirty the sheets are used, they said queen beds they might of been single size very small and very uncomfortable. There was dirty floors everything was dusty, mirrors were dirty, light bulbs missing in the lamps, hair in the tub and sinks YUCK! towels were stained, no soap. The room smelled like someone was in there smoking while we were in there and it was a no smoking room. I could go on and on, there is weird people walking the halls at night. I even seen women that look like hookers in there. And you knew there were people buying drugs just by watching all the traffic going in and out. Please do yourself a favor and stay anywhere but here, very unsafe and dangerous.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Canadianfamilyofours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2009

This has to be the worst hotel/motel in Fargo. The carpet is very old, the rooms all smell like smoke (even the non-smoking rooms). I am not a picky person and figured the price was alright ($ 45.00), but wow, you get what you pay for. I have stayed in motels that were priced less than this one, but were much better quality. Honestly, pay another $ 15.00 or $ 20.00 and go to a better hotel in the same area.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2009

We stayed here for one night en route to Minneapolis. It was a DUMP! The rooms smelled bad, it was freezing, there was gum in several spots in the carpet, our reservation was not recorded and the front desk had no idea we were coming, there was hardly any parking thanks to an ignorant truck driver who took up multiple stalls, and on and on the list goes. To top it all off, we were situated beside a room full of party-happy people who were up until well past 4 a.m. Despite complaints to the front desk, NOTHING was done!

Although this hotel is cheap, I believe for $10 more you can get a much nicer hotel with more amenities.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuperGirl84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2009

This is a terrible place to stay, carpets are dirty, plumbing was leaking in the bathroom, room smelled of wet carpet, missing bulbs in the lamps, stains on the pillows. Paid for rooms with two queen beds which the hotel advertises and had two full size beds, the floor would nave been more comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PWDirector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fargo hotels
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge East
Econo Lodge East
#43 of 50 in Fargo
137 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fargo Inn & Suites
Fargo Inn & Suites
#26 of 50 in Fargo
215 reviews
2.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#48 of 50 in Fargo
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Super 8 Fargo Airport
Super 8 Fargo Airport
#42 of 50 in Fargo
298 reviews
0.7 mi away
Econo Lodge West Fargo
Econo Lodge West Fargo
#46 of 50 in Fargo
98 reviews
2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Fargo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Inn Fargo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Inn Fargo

Address: 3402 14th Ave S, Fargo, ND 58103-3415
Location: United States > North Dakota > Fargo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 50 Hotels in Fargo
Price Range: $38 - $50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Inn Fargo 2*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Good Location Close to The Interstate, Shopping Center, Quiet Two Story Building, Continental Breakfast, 24 hour Coffee In The Lobby. 24 Hour Front Desk. Wireless Highspeed Internet. Childern Under 18 Stay Free With Their Parents. Guest Loundry In The Building. Smoking And Non Smoking Rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Inn Fargo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Inn Fargo Hotel Fargo
Grand Hotel Fargo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing