We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Granite city solid quality”

Granite City Food & Brewery
Ranked #8 of 330 Restaurants in Fargo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Lake Tahoe (Nevada), Nevada
Level Contributor
138 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Granite city solid quality”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

I have been here about 2 years ago as well.
Food is good somewhat unique with the flair they put on their flatbread (I love fresh jalapeños ) they specialize in their own brewery so be sure to try the beers. Salads are good as well .however the beer cheese soup is below par.if you love beer cheese soup then don't order this one.

Why eat here? Food in general is good beer very good as well but more importantly if you are in fargo during 4 degree weather with 30 mile an hour winds and no car? Then this is the place right across the street from Ramada and Hilton Garden in which I stayed at both this trip and will review next.

Why not? The place is loud so if that bothers you then don't sit at the bar

Helpful?
Thank Steven N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    170
    64
    18
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Detroit Lakes, Minnesota
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Top 5”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

I love granite city; the app's, the salads, the pasta, the brunch, the drinks... all very good! Kind-of a pain to get seated on a Fri/Sat night, but that's a by-product of being so good!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Zaydaray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Love this place! Cannot say enough good about it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Absolutely love this place! The Blue Peppercorn Burger is to die for as are "ALL" of the micro brews that they serve. We have been gong here as well as other GC locations for many years now & cannot say enough good things about this place. Gotta hook yourself up with a Mug Club Card too for a special mug price & 10 off all future entree purchases! If you catch them on certain days the membership is half price ($10 as I recall) and you get your 1st mug club mug free as well so that is like an additional $5 so it is only like $5 to join if u do it right!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank UltimateFoodCritik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great place to refuel after a long day of shopping!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

I recently was in Fargo on a shopping trip with a girlfriend. On my sister's recommendation we decided to try GC... We were very glad we did. We had a coupon for a free appetizer with the purchase of an entree. We were forewarned that portions are big so we should probably share an entree if we are getting an appetizer.

We started with the pepper bacon tomato flatbread, although on the greasy side it was absolutely delicious and a really generous size.

We then shared the meatloaf... It was huge and even shared we still couldn't finish. I loved the crispy onions that they pile on it and the fresh bread they serve it on (think steak sandwich)

I tried the beer sampler, 8 generous samples of their beers for $4- liked the Northern Light Lager best. It was fun to have a line of beers that are placed on a sheet with descriptions of each.

Well we enjoyed our experience so much we went back the next night! It was after 9pm- happy hour! We decided to order appies and save room for dessert this time.

This time we ordered the tomato Basil flatbread and the Idaho nachos. Both were good. I also got to try a few (I was on a mini vacation after-all) of the happy hour drink specials. They were all delicious- raspberry mojito, sangria and Hungry Like a Wolf (blueberry martini). I especially loved the mojito.

We ordered the gigantic cookie for dessert- do not under any circumstances try to navigate this one yourself, this is a share with five of your closest friends kind of dessert. It was served piping hot in a pan and although greasy we enjoyed it because it reminded us of the greasy giant chocolate chip cookies we could get when we were in high school (only a very short time ago of course ;)

Service was fantastic both evenings. We were lucky enough to have the same wonderful server both nights.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WinniCalGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorhead
Level Contributor
91 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

Always consistent, servers are excellent, food is very good. Some prices are high, portions are large.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank victor59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Granite City Food & Brewery also viewed

 

Been to Granite City Food & Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing