We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food-Worth the Trip!”

Granite City Food & Brewery
Reserve with OpenTable
Granite City Food & Brewery is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 333 Restaurants in Fargo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Food-Worth the Trip!”
Reviewed July 24, 2011

This is the second time we have gone to Granite City, and it is certainly on our checklist for any future trips to Fargo. My husband loves trying the variety of beers, and they make an alright margarita. What really keeps us coming back is the appetizers. We have tried the tomato/basil/bacon flatbread and the oriental shrimp, both make my mouth water just thinking about them. The entrees are good, but my husband and I both agreed that next time we order just appetizers for a whole meal. The service was great, the restaurant is modernly decorated, the only downfall is that it does tend to be a bit noisy. Regardless, can't wait to go back!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank C_Shipman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    225
    179
    67
    18
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lakeville, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“very good beer, OK food”
Reviewed July 14, 2011

I have eaten here 2-3 times over the last year when in town for business. I do find their beer to be good to very good and the service is excellent. On the food side, I and a co-worker had steaks last time and they were bad! I would recommend sticking with appetizers, burgers when eating there as they seem to a good job with them.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank craigmn29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Higher Class Dining”
Reviewed February 22, 2011

The thing I loved most about Granite City was the great atmosphere and the delicious food. I thought that it was reasonably priced for the quality and amount of food you received. Overall I would recommend Granite City without a doubt.

  • Visited December 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BKid23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bismarck, North Dakota
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Quality food”
Reviewed November 11, 2010

The parking lot of this place is always crowded like the one of a Texas Megachurch.
If you like good service, this is the place. I find it overserviced, there seems to be always two or three servers coming at once to fullfil all your needs.
The steaks and mashed potatos are very good, waiting times can be long and it's noisy.
They have a microbrewery, the beer is good but not exceptional.

Helpful?
Thank auswanderer2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bismarck, North Dakota
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Crowded, noisy and overrated”
Reviewed October 26, 2010

My food was just above room temperature and had the appearance of having sat on the plate for quite some time while waiting for my wife's food to be ready. (her's was steaming hot)

The walleye was heavily breaded and reminded me of something from the supermarket freezer section. The garlic mashed potatoes were really good, in spite of being room temp.

The ceiling is a high metal framework with no sound deadening. This is NOT the place for a quiet romantic dinner. With the TV's all over the place it is more like a sports bar trying to act like a nice restaurant.

I would maybe visit again, but only during odd hours when they're not so busy.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank biplanepilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Granite City Food & Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing