We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Home Away from Home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hotel Donaldson

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Hotel Donaldson
Ranked #24 of 50 Hotels in Fargo
Certificate of Excellence
winni
2 reviews
“Home Away from Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

10 50+ women celebrating 40 years of friendship enjoyed a fantastic weekend at the HoDo. I can't say enough about the staff and service; both were exceptional, attentive to every request with a smile.
Small things like wine and cheese get together, bed turndown with soft music and lights and chocolate truffles to die for made our stay just that much more special.
The restaurant in the Hotel served a great dinner with again, thanks to Chris, exceptional service.
We will return...

Room Tip: The rooms were very comfortable and tastefully decorated. Lots of room to relax and the beds were gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cndtraveller53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    27
    15
    4
    2
See reviews for
16
75
12
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

For the frequent business traveler, this hotel is a wonderful change from the standard places you will stay. Each room has beautiful local art with description of the artist and a modern/eclectic feel. Wonderful restaurant too!

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Christine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

If you are ever in Fargo, this is THE place to stay. It is not cheap but the experience you get is unlike any other hotel that I have ever stayed at. Each room has a theme and is decorated by a local artist. Each room is completely unique in size and amenities. We are interested in going back again and again just to see every room! The staff was beyond friendly and the service was exceptional. I really enjoyed the wine and cheese hour where you can meet the guests. Downtown Fargo is unique and getting to stay in such a beautiful hotel is the icing on the cake.

Room Tip: Stay in each room! They are so unique!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ABBY L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopkins
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

The HoDo is consistently one of the best hotels in the country, and we love it. We actually plan weekend getaways to Fargo ONLY because of the HoDo and it's restaurant/bar. It's a beautiful hotel with an amazing restaurant and bar on the main level, so we can get everything we need without even leaving the building. It's the best place to stay, eat, and drink in town! Now if only they had a blackjack table, we wouldn't need to leave!

Room Tip: Rooms on the 3rd floor are quieter than the 2nd floor rooms. Also rooms above the restaurant are qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phunnyfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
181 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

When I started planning a long weekend trip to Fargo the first question everyone asked was ,"Why?" and then they added, "You have to go to the HoDo." So I figured that I'd stay at the HoDo. We were very pleased that we did. The guest services were wonderful. Very friendly staff. Quirky rooms. Worth the money.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderlustMBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Hello out there .had booked the hotel Donaldson on our last leg of our mini vacation.did not stay there due to parking issues as they have no parking .when we arrived they indicated they have valet parking at some other parking lot but did not feel comfortable with leaving our car as it was brand new.we decided not to stay and told them we would not be staying and even though it was under the 24 cancellation they granted us no charge.This is a class hotel they saw we were uncomfortable and gave us the cancellation.As far as the hotel is concerned it looks great from what we saw right in the heart of downtown fargo.I know it's hard but they need to address the parking issue.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank al g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

This is really a wonderful place, very clean, recently renovated with interesting decor and original artwork throughout, cheerful and friendly staff and a central location. Only reason they don't get five stars was the empty lobby when we arrived. The lobby was not routinely staffed with a bellhop at least over Labor Day weekend, and reception is on the second floor. When we arrived, we walked into an empty lobby with the restaurants closed for the holiday; it was a little disconcerting ("Do we have the right place? Did they go out of business???"). Fortunately, after that it has been all smooth sailing. Kudos for a free WiFi system that just works, no login, no ads, just open your device, connect and go.

Hint - it is an older building with good solid walls. If you are a light sleeper and want a really quiet room, ask the receptionist to show you how to turn the AC off. During our stay, it really wasn't needed, and not having the fan coming on made for an extra pleasant night.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank a2djs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fargo hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel Fargo
Radisson Hotel Fargo
#16 of 50 in Fargo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
3.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Fargo
3.7 mi away
Clubhouse Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Scandia Hotel
Scandia Hotel
#42 of 50 in Fargo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
3.7 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Fargo
3.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Fargo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Donaldson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Donaldson

Property: The Hotel Donaldson
Address: 101 Broadway N, Fargo, ND 58102-4925
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Dakota > Fargo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Fargo
#19 Business Hotel in Fargo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hotel Donaldson 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Hotel Donaldson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donaldson Hotel Fargo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing