We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Try the other Kelly Inn's in Fargo” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kelly Inn Fargo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kelly Inn Fargo
Ranked #29 of 50 Hotels in Fargo
Carver, Minnesota
Level Contributor
91 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Try the other Kelly Inn's in Fargo”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2009

My wife and I stayed here the weekend while running the Fargo Marathon in May. Our room had stains on the carpet and a recliner chair that had tears in it. It was very dated and not very clean. We were glad we didn't need to spend much time at the hotel. It needs to be updated- there are 2 other Kelly Inn's in Fargo that are much nicer for the same price. Try one of those instead!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amdittbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    48
    24
    5
    5
See reviews for
36
39
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ND
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2008

We checked in and got to our room. There was no offer to help with luggage and it was obvious we had alot of it. Get to our " first " room whene the 2 of the bigger lights wouldnt work. I called the front desk and they sent a lady down to fix it wtih 2 lightbulbs in hand-so they assumed. They tried the lightbulbs and that didnt work. Her answer was, she had no idea why. " Atleast she was honest! ". Well we asked if they had another room we could switch into, when you have a room with 3 or 4 lights and 2 out of the 4 dont work, I wanted to switch rooms. They check us into our 2nd room a few rooms down and immediately upon walking into that room it stunk of utter gross smoke smell. I immediately complained of the smell and was told well, they dont know why it would smell of smoke, apparently the guy who stays in that room during the week doesn't smoke. Whatever, it stunk and stunk so bad it was starting to make us sick. We stayed in there for about 30 minutes and decided that having the first room would've been better, no smoke smell atleast. We stayed the night and checked out immediately, before we had to be out. That afternoon I sent an email to the companys director who forwarded the reply to someone else and their response was. We're sorry you did not enjoy your stay but we will give 30% back. 30 %..I guess they couldve offered us another nights stay free, which I wouldn't have accepted anyways. They couldn't have cared less that we were upset. This was suppose to be a fun weekend get away with a hot tub jacuzzi in the room. Nope, all it was was a very small tub with a few jets in it. The only person who was semi friendly was the gal who checked us into our rooms. That morning upon check out, there were two teenage kids like working and talking, thats about it, doing absolutely nothing else, not offering any help or assistance with check out, didnt ask us how our stay was. I'm sure they probably already had an idea from all the complaints the night before. Do not stay in this hotel, I'm guessing every other room in there reaks of cigarette smoke, terribly. Most people were rude enough, even the manager who responded to my complaint email. If you stay here you are going to be miserable!

  • Liked — That we were able to move back into our original room that did not reak of smoke
  • Disliked — Most everything else.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mlh2337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2007

We carefully chose this hotel according to location for our crossboarder shopping experince from Manitoba. We used the Fargo attractions brochure which was very helpful. The Kelly Inn was walking distance to West Acres Mall as well as other large stores. Our first impressions were good, as everything was clean and the room was spacious. Our bed was superbley comfortable. We went from a Sunday to Tuesday thus avoiding the Black Friday ( after thanksgiving) rush. We used the hot tub a few times and were the only ones in the pool area. The waffles at breakfast were really a neat idea but they also had bagels cereal toast donuts as well as a small selection of fruit. The coffee was NOT as good as Tim Hortons. The staff was friendly and helpful.
Our overall impression was very good and we would go back there sometime in the future.

  • Liked — The bed and proximity to shopping
  • Disliked — no bathtub
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank footlooseWinnipeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winnipeg
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2006

Having heard rave reviews about the Kelly, my fiance and I booked there for a shopping trip. There was nothing absolutely horrible about the place, but for what I paid and what I heard, I expected much much more.

Checkin was easy and quick. No problems there.
Room was clean, and very large.
Had pool, sauna and hot tub.
Included continental breakfast with make your own waffles, plus 24 hour coffee and tea in the lobby (not a full breakfast as some had said).
Close to West Acres
Morning/Say personel polite and easy to deal with

Downsides...
Room was large, but obviously worn and out of date. Nothing matched, which honestly isn't a big deal, but again, for the price and the reviews, I expected more.
Pool was ice cold, to the point where I couldn't go past my knees because my lips turned blue.
Sauna was too hot to go into. Fiance parched his face after one minute.
Hot tub looked nice and warm, but a family of about 20 didn't leave it the whole time we were there.
Free internet usage in the lobby, but every time we went down the hotel front desk girl (evening one) was on it, and even after waiting for 10 minutes, she made no move to return to her job and offer it to us. (she was talking on MSN).
Got sick from the waffles.
The walls were paper thin, and the family beside us had both a dog and an infant, whom from the sounds of it, they left ALONE in the room. Not the hotels fault, but I heard the poor guy screaming for about 20 miutes at a time, off and on all night.

Again- the hotel was not horrible in any way, just not nearly as nice as I expected from the rave reviews. If I were to do it again, I would save the extra $20 a stay in a hotel that was maybe a few minutes further away from the mall for the same quality, or a better quality for the same price. If you're really not picky and will be out of the room for most of the day, you shouldn't have a problem here.

  • Liked — location. clean
  • Disliked — Noise, Pool,
  • Tips/Secrets — Decent for budget, but you can probably find something better for the budget!
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank jenine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winnipeg mb
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2004

When we arrived, the room we were given was still a mess from the night before - had not been cleaned...fine...they gave us another room which was filthy, and had a broken sink plug (sink wouldn't drain - yuck) and bathroom light. I couldn't wait to get out of the place. The front desk wasn't exactly the shining example of customer service although the housekeeping staff was very accommodating... that however, is not enough to EVER get me back there - it was disgusting.

Helpful?
8 Thank bhm121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fargo hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Kelly Inn & Suites
1.0 mi away
C'mon Inn - Fargo
C'mon Inn - Fargo
#27 of 50 in Fargo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
1.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Fargo
Comfort Suites Fargo
#10 of 50 in Fargo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Fargo
Days Inn Fargo
#18 of 50 in Fargo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
1.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fargo
0.3 mi away
Fargo Inn & Suites
Fargo Inn & Suites
#26 of 50 in Fargo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelly Inn Fargo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelly Inn Fargo

Property: Kelly Inn Fargo
Address: 4207 13th Ave S, Fargo, ND 58103
Location: United States > North Dakota > Fargo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 50 Hotels in Fargo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Kelly Inn Fargo 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kelly Inn on 13th Ave is located across the street from West Acres Mall in Fargo, ND. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Kelly Inn Fargo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelly Inn Fargo Hotel Fargo
Kelly Hotel Fargo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing