We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Given room me was already occupied.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Fargo
Ranked #15 of 50 Hotels in Fargo
Certificate of Excellence
Alexandria, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Given room me was already occupied.”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

After finding someone already in the room I was given I hauled my stuff back to front desk. The clerk wasn't at the front desk when I arrived and actually wasn't ever there that evening. I'd stand at the desk and he'd finally come out from the back. At one point I asked him if he was having dinner and he said no. Don't know what he was doing. There was a staff member (my thought was a manager) who was getting ready to leave and heard me saying someone was already in the room I was given. The clerk and this staff person were more interested in greating each other and saying have a nice evening. If this was a manager I would have not left and not seem so indifferent to me and my situation. The new room I was given was clean and very nice. The staff didn't great me until I greated them. The guy at the desk when I checked out didn't look like any hotel clerk I have ever seen before. He was quiet but pleasant.
i will look for a different hotel the next time I am in Fargo.

Room Tip: If you are paying full price like I did try to get it reduced. The full price isn't worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MinnesotaTraveler49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jana L, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Fargo, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
We are so sorry that we made a mistake in your room assignment. That should not happen to anyone, and we sincerely apologize that this was your experience with us. We are committed to providing the best hospitality and guest service to everyone who stays with us. Your discounted room rate was refunded in full before you checked out of the hotel, and we have apologized and do apologize again that this was not the outstanding guest service experience that we deliver every day. I sincerely hope that you will come back to be our guest to enjoy the hospitality and the warm welcome of the Hampton Inn & Suites of Fargo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    114
    39
    17
    6
See reviews for
175
90
16
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
274 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We had a decent experience here. The check in process was pretty slow. When we got to the room, it was super cold. You had to put your key card in the entry way for the room heater to come on. I think that is a great idea, to save energy on slow days, but the hotel was sold out. Or when the heat is not on in the room, have it stay at a warmer temp than what it was on. Brrrr.

The hotel was nice and new, but it still had a cheap feel about it. This is a nice hotel now because of the newness, but in a few years, this hotel is going to be beat up. But for now, it is nice.

The beds were nice and comfy though. And it was quiet. Breakfast pretty typical. Rooms were on the small side.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuvHaribo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jana L, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Fargo, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you so much for being our guest. Did you know that Hampton's give Haribou Gummy Bears to their Gold and Diamond members at check in? We are always looking for ways to create the best stay possible for every guest every time, and greatly appreciate your comments. We hope you will choose the Hampton Inn & Suites of Fargo for your next stay in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We had a family reunion- we had 12 people- from all corners of the country, and all were comfortable and pleased with our accommodations. The dining area and lobby were great for just visiting and we all enjoyed the complimentary 24/7 coffee/tea bar. The staff were helpful in every way - and the hotel is situated very conveniently for any Fargo spots.

Room Tip: as in all busy Hotels- any room next to the elevators is going to be noisier- also next to the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank b h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jana L, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Fargo, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you so much for your many wonderful compliments. From our IPad bar to comfy furniture, and fresh coffee, we love to have our guest use the spacious lobby area to relax, reconnect, and most of all, enjoy their stay at the Hampton Inn & suites of Fargo. We so appreciate that you chose us for your reunion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Hills, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

The staff is always friendly and the rooms are consistently clean.
The quality of the breakfast and lady who takes care of it are both excellent.
I stay here every time I'm in Fargo, which is about 4 - 5 times per year

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ngoodreau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jana L, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Fargo, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your review ~our breakfast staff feels that you are in our home, and we are going to start your day with hot coffee and a good meal, just like you would in your home. And a smile~a great big smile. We love having our guests enjoy their stay! We sincerely thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn & Suites of Fargo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamestown, North Dakota
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here one night and loved it! The hotel is very nice and clean. We stayed in a king suite and it was great. We wanted a 2 room suite but since they don't have those here this was a great substitute! The room was spacious and the tv swung out from the wall to either watch in the bedroom area or the sitting room area. The room, bathroom and wet bar areas were very clean - cleaner than most hotels I've stayed at! The bed was comfy and they also had complimentary teas and coffee in the lobby (also a coffee maker in our room). The staff seemed to care about how our stay was going and gave us complimentary toothpaste and anything else we forgot. The pool was perfect for kids and our daughter loved it. We paid $209 for the suite, which is pretty steep, but had a great experience nonetheless.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brillo6510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jana L, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Fargo, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We love our spacious rooms, and work very hard to ensure that they are clean and comfortable every day, for every guest. Please come and stay with us again at the Hampton Inn & Suites of Fargo !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

This was our first trip to Fargo in many years. Had a hard time to find the hotel as it is tucked off the strip. When we did the front staff were very friendly and said our room would be ready before check in time and it was. We had a King room and it is very spacious, with a wet bar and rotating tv to either living area or watch in bed which was nice. Big area where the sink is separate from the shower. Lots of space to put your cloths.
The breakfast could be a lot better given the price you pay to stay here.
The hot tub was great on Friday but when we returned on Saturday, it was so hot you could not enjoy it. That's one of the reasons when we chose a place to stay is that you can enjoy the hot tub. I told the front desk and it was looked at right away and noticed later that they had to close it.
The tv didn't have a weather channel to check on conditions, glad we had a iPad to check, as a blizzard was coming in, so we left that morning.
The front staff on all shifts were very friendly and helpful. That is a plus as well when we look into hotels to stay at. We would stay here again in the future.

Stayed February 2013
Helpful?
Thank bigmamma1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jana L, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Fargo, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful compliments about our staff. Your concerns are our concerns, and we work very hard to respond to any and all suggestions and comments that can make our guests stay more enjoyable. We really look forward to having you as our guest again at the Hampton Inn & Suites of Fargo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

New Hampton Inn. I stayed in King Suite room which was clean and quiet. Everything worked well and was in excellent shape. The staff was effecient and friendly. My only complaint is the evening snack and some breakfast items. The evening snacks were over-processed, microwaved items that were not good. Breakfast had the standard Hampton items but generally the hot items were over-cooked.
Despite these concerns, I would stay at the hotel again. I don't stay just for the food, but if you are going to offer food have more fresh food options.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BluDragonFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jana L, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Fargo, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay. We are always looking for ways and asking for suggestions on how to make each guests' stay more enjoyable, convenient and comfortable. I very much appreciate your "fresh" perspective, and hope you enjoy the changes we are making for our guests the next time you stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fargo hotels
0.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Fargo
0.9 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Fargo
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Kelly Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Fargo
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fargo
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Fargo
Comfort Suites Fargo
#11 of 50 in Fargo
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Fargo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Fargo

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Fargo
Address: 4776 Agassiz Xing S, Fargo, ND 58104-8901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Dakota > Fargo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 50 Hotels in Fargo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Fargo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hampton Inn & Suites Fargo, ND hotel, located in the premier shopping and entertainment area just 15 minutes from the Hector International Airport (FAR). Our hotel in Fargo offers easy access to the West Acres Shopping Center, boasting an impressive collection of stores, and the largest and most popular dining destination in the region. Visit the nearby Red River Zoo or treat the kids to a fun day at Thunder Road Amusement Park. If you're here on business, you'll enjoy our proximity to companies such as Sanford Health, Essentia Health, Wellmark Blue Cross Blue Shield, US Bank, Microsoft, Case New Holland, Titan Machinery, Trail King, Swanson Health Products, North Dakota State University and more. Scheels Arena is just down the street and the Fargodome is a short 10 minute drive. Enjoy a warm welcome at our comfy and spacious Hampton Inn & Suites Fargo hotel. Start your day right with Hampton's free hot breakfast and famous waffles, available every day, or if you're in a hurry, grab a healthy Hampton On the Run® Breakfast Bag, available Monday through Friday. Catch up with work in our free 24-hour business center or work out in our well-equipped fitness center. Refresh in the pool while the kids have fun with the waterslide, waterfall and pool basketball hoops, or retire to a comfy guest room with a 37-inch HDTV and free internet access. Extra large King Studio Suites area available featuring a sofa sitting area and oversized work desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Fargo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing