We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place For The Kids -- And Mom & Dad Too”
Review of Red River Zoo

Red River Zoo
Ranked #2 of 38 things to do in Fargo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Red River Zoo is a leading conservation organization for some of the world's rarest cold climate species. We feature world class exhibits on over 33 beautiful acres. Founded in 1999, we are constantly growing into a leading attraction in the Fargo Moorhead area. Our new interactive Children' Zoo Farm and Nature's Legendary Playground open in 2016! Come in and see for yourself!
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Midwest
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great Place For The Kids -- And Mom & Dad Too”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

If you are visiting Fargo - Moorhead with your kids don't miss the Zoo. This is a great zoo for a community this size. They have some animals that are outstanding. It is clean. Just plain nice!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank MidwestTraveler2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    83
    45
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“wonderful!”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

True, that this is a small zoo but we had a wonderful experience there. The animals' enclosures were so clean and the animals were happy and relaxed. There seemed to be a lot of environment enrichment going on and that ensures stimulated and comfortable animals....The education component of the zoo also seemed unique. There were kid friendly edu-carts that were interactive and fun. Our family had a great time and learned so much! Thank you Red River Zoosters!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 6 Contributor
296 reviews
211 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“A Small Zoo With Some Different Species”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Pros: A nice layout lets one easily see everything without backtracking. The exhibits were well-marked. The animals were happy. Also has some rare/different species.

Cons: Very small. Not too many species.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank RoapTripper3081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We love the RR Zoo”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

A great place to bring smaller children. The zoo is small enough they don't get bored and can get close up to the exhibits.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank jangenejones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bismarck
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Small-but always a hit with my daughter”
Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

Have been to the Red River Zoo several times. My daughter (5) loves walking around and checking out all the animals. It is a small zoo, but very clean, and easy to navigate. Her favorite exhibits are the "farm" animals....feeding the goats, and horse, and the little building that houses reptiles/amphibians. No trip to the zoo is complete without a ride on the carousel (extra charge-$2). The membership we have through the Dakota Zoo gets 1/2 price admission. There are small wagons on property for small children that are free of charge, but seem to be few in number, so a stroller may be a good idea for small children. I would estimate 1-2 hours to be sufficient time to see everything without feeling rushed at all. Overall, we have always enjoyed our time there. Just know that it is small, and you won't see many "exotic" exhibits.

Helpful?
Thank jdrosty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Red River Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing