We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1 'star' because I can't give any lower.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Former Vista Inn & Suites
Ranked #47 of 50 Hotels in Fargo
Winnipeg
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“1 'star' because I can't give any lower.”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

The entire hotel is disgusting. The service terrible!!!! It looked ok from the photos which are all misleading.

We got to our room and were upset to find no locks on the inside of the room at all - nothing to stop hotel staff from entering any time night or day.

The tv was broken - knocked sideways and when you turned it on had black lines all down the screen.

Bathroom was filthy, bugs on the floor, used/dirty soap still in the shower, the fan had dust bunnies hanging off it and black mould in the shower as well.

The room had no a/c and it's temps were hot and hotter. You couldn't open the windows as they led to the hallway. I tried plugging in my laptop and the outlet literally started sparking.

The front desk person didn't seem to care much, but he did give us a fan. The room was so short of plug ins that we had to unplug the lamps to plug in the fan and sit in the dark watching the broken tv. While we were up at the front complaining the desk got four more calls of angry guests.

We complained about the pool and were told "it's there for all guests to enjoy, not just you." We have nothing against sharing the pool however when you have 15 unattended children running, cannonballing, eating and drinking IN the pool and hot tub and tossing water bottles around and smacking people it's not exactly 'enjoyment'.

We asked to check out a day early and were told 'we couldn't as we booked online through hotels.com' and he then literally asked if there was something wrong with the hotel so we told him about our complaints he said nothing I can do. We tried explaining that I'm pregnant and allergic to dust and mould and the room is just way too hot and he couldn't care less.

We went back to our room and phoned hotels.com who said we definitely could check out a day early, so we went back to the front desk and told him to which he lied and said "OH! I didn't know that was what you wanted - ok you can check out tomorrow."

The next morning we called hotels.com back to confirm we were leaving and they phoned the front desk. The night guy apparently put no mention of the incidents at all on our file and the morning person told hotels.com that they "were NOT going to LET US check out a day early". The hotels.com rep came back to me and said you guys need out of there! and they ate the cost for us to check out early and find better accommodations.

We checked into the Ramada and had an amazing experience! We even got a free upgrade after they heard about our accommodations the night before.

The Vista Inn and Suites is a dive.

Room Tip: Just bi-pass this hotel all together, I am by no means a five star girl and have stayed in a lot of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tracey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    6
    17
    13
    40
See reviews for
28
12
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Needed a cheap night and this one looked okay from the photos. NOT HAPPENING AGAIN!! First thing we noticed was the hotel was confusing and smelly. The doors to the hallways are unlocked, and the keys to our room could be easily duplicated due to the nature of their design. Our room smelled musty and stale. A face towel in our bathroom looked like someone with either bloody fingers or pizza fingers had used it. Gross!! Thermostat didn't work. Put it on cold and it blew hot. Hot tub was okay...just warm. Morning sleep was disturbed due to the maids vacuuming as early as 8 AM. To top it all off, we got a glimpse of the kitchen which was right next to the continental breakfast and it was completely disgusting. Mold...old blood dried on the cutting boards...rust...etc. The kitchen was no longer in use, but it still ruined our appetite. If there are no other rooms in Fargo, keep driving!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 325BPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Fargo hotels

Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Checked trip advisor before booking two nights. No other choice most other hotels were booked. I can't see how this hotel is two and a half stars. Most reviews were on the mark. It does smell like cheap cologne and puke when you walk through the door. Very dated and not well maintained. Pool area was ok , small cold pool and hot tub. The free breakfast was very disappointing. The room itself was not too dirty just old tired look. It's very close to interstate 29 and 94 junction. It's a cheep place just to sleep with lots of parking for larger vehicle and trailers. It's also about ten minutes from the mall and shopping area.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Familydomain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OSD, director operations support at Former Vista Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
thank you for your comments. All your comments are greatly valued. I apologize for the condition of your room. Obviously you did not get one of the rooms that we are in the process of renovating. I wish we had the opportunity to address your concerns. We have a 100% guarantee satisfaction policy, and I'm sure we could' have made your stay enjoyable. please give us another opportunity Fargo. Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swanville, Minnesota, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We needed an inexpensive room for one night and this hotel was the least expensive I could find. We stayed in a room with a king bed and a pull out couch. The room was clean and the bathroom had a lot of counter space. The room also had a microwave and refrigerator. The bed was reasonably comfortable. It was quiet the night we were there and we got a good night's sleep. We went to the bar/casino for happy hour and enjoyed a few drinks; quite a few people there. It looked to be a popular spot for happy hour. We didn't use the pool or hot tub but they appeared to be clean and well taken care of. The hotel is outdated and could use a remodel but overall we had no complaints.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

We go in and went to our room which was in the back. As soon as we drive back there we see graffiti on the walls. By this time the room is paid for... We go to our room and lock our selves in, only to wake up to glass shattering 2 hours later. Peeked out the window and obviously people live in the hotel as when we looked out the widow there are like 6 of the scariest looking people partying it up at a table like 3 feet from our door! Looking higher then anything... By this time we were scared they would come thru our window next and were afraid to just leave. Bed was horrible.. Bathroom floor was dirty. The next morning we left and the room next to us has there do jot disturb sign out I so wanted to pull my car in there and blow the horn for like 10 minutes but they proble were passed out by this time an wouldn't of heard it, from partying all night so we couldn't sleep! I would never recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rleszcynski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OSD, director operations support at Former Vista Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
thank you for your comments. I would like to apologize for the inconvenience that you had at our property. I do not know what happened . But I do take your comments very seriously . I wish I had an opportunity to correct the issues that you incurred. We have a 100% guarantee policy for our guests and I am sure that I would have been able to satisfy and correct any problems that you had so that your stay would have been an enjoyable. Again, thank you for your comments you will give us another opportunity to serve you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We can to Fargo from Wisconsin for a concert. Most of the hotels in town were sold out or asking over $150 for the night of the concert. I chose VIsta because it had an indoor pool, free breakfast and wifi and it has a casino and bar.

Pool/Hot Tub-no complaints here and we swam a lot and most of the time we were the only swimmers.

Breakfast-with breakfast over at 9 we only made it one day (out of three). It wasn't a hot breakfast like the website says, it was cereal, donuts and watered down OJ. The lady working obviously wanted to be anywhere else. If you want gourmet breakfast you'd have to go to IHop or something:)

Wifi-worked great the entire time

Casino/Bar-we only made it down there one night, Saturday. It was a few hours after an NDSU game so it wasn't as busy as a normal Saturday night usually is. The Black Jack tables are run by a charity, $1 a hand. Just enough to have a good time but not get out of control. Beer was reasonable, pizza smelled good, and many tvs to watch games, etc.

Rooms-Beds were small (only offered doubles) but we knew that going in. The bathroom was nice and big and included a closet which helped to keep us organized. No issues with the fridge and microwave and was a big reason why we chose this hotel.

Overall the place is dated yes but it worked. I'd stay again without hesitation.

Room Tip: Casinos in ND are charity run and has Black Jack ($1 tables) and pull tabs only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenniferWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fargo hotels
0.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#48 of 50 in Fargo
108 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Medical Center
2.7 mi away
Scandia Hotel
Scandia Hotel
#40 of 50 in Fargo
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Econo Lodge East
Econo Lodge East
#44 of 50 in Fargo
137 reviews
2.8 mi away
Biltmore Hotel & Suites-Newly Renovated
2.5 mi away
Fargo Inn & Suites
Fargo Inn & Suites
#27 of 50 in Fargo
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Former Vista Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Former Vista Inn & Suites

Property: Former Vista Inn & Suites
Address: 1340 21st Ave S, Fargo, ND 58103-5237 (Formerly Prairie Rose Inn)
Location: United States > North Dakota > Fargo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Casino Hotel in Fargo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Former Vista Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Former Vista Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista Hotel Fargo
Vista Inn And Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing