We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Satisfied guest”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Former Vista Inn & Suites
Ranked #47 of 50 Hotels in Fargo
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    6
    17
    13
    40
See reviews for
28
12
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fargo, North Dakota
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel because we were traveling and needed to sleep. The price was good, so we figured we would give it a shot.
The hotel needs updating, badly. I could picture it in its heyday, in the 70s or 80s. Many areas are dirty and crumbling.
The room itself was fairly clean. The sheets were clean on the bed, but the couch in our room was stained. The bathroom was small, but mostly clean. The tub had bad soap scum and it looked like someone had tried to clean it, but failed.
The hot tub was nice, but some areas of the tile were beat up and scratched me.
The complimentary breakfast was cereal, toast, and donuts in tupperware.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heb14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winnipeg
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Its a dated retro place , okay if you need a place to sleep .
rooms are dated , carpet in our room was filthy . The place smelled like cheap booze and cologne .

It attracts " different cliental " I guess due to the casino

check inn was good was the only positive

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank picaaso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Fargo hotels

Fargo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Bring your own ice. Bring your own GPS as the markers/maps are few and far between. Pretty easy to get lost and put in a lot of miles. Impossible to get a seat in the lounge on the weekend (full of local youths).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamestown, North Dakota, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed December 18, 2012

I enjoyed my time here. The pool and hot tub was nice. Room was nice. Hotel staff was great. I will come back here...We had room 131, its a handicap room, real close to our car. The only bad part I see is that it took 5-10 minutes to get hot water to shower.

Room Tip: I had room 131. Handicap and close to my car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Called to make a reservation here as a last resort because all of the hotels were full in Fargo. ND. when we called we were quoted a rate of $69.99 per night and we needed 3 nights and two rooms. We made sure we ask for non smoking and also we needed one room to be handicap accessible. The room would not accommodate a walker easily, it was dirty, dark and there were about 5 items plugged into the one electrical outlet on the wall. We paid the night before we were scheduled to leave and had split the check between us, when we got home my credit card had been hit for all 3 nights and for the full amount of the room. The hot breakfast was a joke, cold eggs, microwave pancakes and juice. Not a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank C0astie11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheaton, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Forced to stay here because all other hotels were full. We found a used dirty needle/syringe under our mattress! The front desk clerk was nice, but the manager refused to do anything about it. He was rude and had no customer service skills at all. Our room was run down, noisy and the bed was horrible. We would have been better off sleeping in our car. This was the worst hotel experience of my life! DO NOT stay here - ever!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Alexis J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fargo
0.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#48 of 50 in Fargo
108 reviews
1.7 mi away
Courtyard Fargo Moorhead, MN
3.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Red Lion Inn & Suites Fargo
2.0 mi away
Econo Lodge East
Econo Lodge East
#44 of 50 in Fargo
135 reviews
2.7 mi away
Scandia Hotel
Scandia Hotel
#39 of 50 in Fargo
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Former Vista Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Former Vista Inn & Suites

Property: Former Vista Inn & Suites
Address: 1340 21st Ave S, Fargo, ND 58103-5237 (Formerly Prairie Rose Inn)
Location: United States > North Dakota > Fargo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Casino Hotel in Fargo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Former Vista Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Former Vista Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista Hotel Fargo
Vista Inn And Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing