We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent and Clean But Overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Fargo - West Acres
Ranked #31 of 50 Hotels in Fargo
Certificate of Excellence
Bismarck, North Dakota
1 review
“Decent and Clean But Overpriced”
Reviewed August 17, 2011

Rooms were clean and very comfortable. You can tell that this is an older hotel it may have been updated some time ago. I dont mean that in a bad way. The Pool and its area is small and deepest depth of around 4.5 feet. Hot tub was good. Beds were very comfortable. Front desk staff pleasant. For its going rates over $100+ I feel is too much for this property. I have stayed in same local area in other hotels with more amenties and have paid less. This would be a near perfect place if the rates were around $70-$90 for a single king. Our room did not have a fridge or microwave. I believe this hotel is 100% no smoking but our room had a hint of smoke smell to it. I would stay here again if rates were somewhat cheaper.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiemanager1, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Fargo - West Acres, responded to this review, September 9, 2011
Derek,

I really appreciate you taking the time to comment about our hotel. Information that you provided to us really helps us to step back and take a look and see what our guests want. I am happy to hear that the staff was pleasant and the beds were comfortable and you had a good nights sleep. I did want to mention that we do have separate fridge units that we can place in the room for you. We hope to have all of our rooms equipped with them in the near future. I also do apologize for the hint of smoke in the room. We could have sent housekeeping up,moved you or even upgraded you if we were aware of that particular issue. The value you receive for your room is important and thank you again for your comment.

Sincerely,


Alan Thomas
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    41
    17
    3
    3
See reviews for
28
28
3
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

Overall we were happy with the HIX. We were in Fargo for a show so it was a quick stay but we were pleased with the hotel. Easy access - right off the interstate. Very clean, rooms were quiet, speedy check in, across the street from a shopping mall, various restaurants and a casino (smaller one in the Holiday Inn next door), and a $10 cab ride downtown.

We did not have time to take in the pool or hot tub but I did peek in and the area looked pretty decent.

The breakfast was somewhat your standard continental. Biscuits and gravy, warm mini cinnamon rolls, cereal, juices, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, toast, bagels, and a pancake machine. The breakfast area could be moved to a more accommodating area though. It's set up in the lobby area so people coming and going are walking through as well but it honestly didn't bothered me.

Yes, we would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alysheeba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2011

Quick speedy check in, clean and spacious room, quiet night and comfortable bed. Just what you would expect from Holiday Inn.

Breakfast was good, however setup could do with a re design. The breakfast items are arranged around the lobby and the front desk. Anyone leaving or arriving at breakfast time are working around the people trying to get the breakfast items. It was congested. Nice touch was the pancake maker, my son said they were very good.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gillesph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2011

Nice newer room, very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was good, and had those great little cinnamon buns.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank v98roadstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, MN
Level Contributor
148 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2010

We did not like the HIX at West Acres, Fargo.

Staff surly, breakfast area way too small for more than 25 people. Poor quality of breakfast items, cold eggs, same selection as all the other HIX that we stayed in. Exact same menu. Plus it is such an ugly building!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luvscats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiemanager1, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Fargo - West Acres, responded to this review, October 11, 2010
Hi,

I am responding to your recent comment regarding our hotel. I deeply sorry that you were not happy with the breakfast selection and also that it was cold. Our selection would be the same as other Holiday Inn Express's because we want to be consistent as brand and offer the same thing. Holiday Inn Express has added new items this year, such as western omelets and ham. I guess I would have like the opportunity to speak with you about our staff and your overall experience, it is my job as the front office manager to make sure we are exceeding your expectations and leaving you with a positive impression of us. Please feel free to contact me if you would like to discuss the matter further.

Sincerely,

Alan Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2010

Horrible stay. Front desk called at midnight because they gave our room to someone else, but they couldn't get in because we had the door deadbolted. Then we got a wake-up call at 5:10am, which we did not ask for. The asst mgr, Allan, just made excuses, and finally comped the room after a good deal of arguing. I complained to corporate office, but only got a wishy-washy response from the same Allan.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZaidaStan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 18, 2010

We have stayed at this hotel twice while making visits to NDSU. The hotel is in an area that is great to walk around, and the mall is right across the street. The continental breakfast is alright, not the greatest, but it does the job. We really like the bedding that HIE's provide, but the pillows aren't the greatest. There is also not a fitness center so that was also a bit of a setback.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skier_1624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fargo hotels
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Fargo SW - I-94 45th St
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Fargo
Holiday Inn Fargo
#33 of 50 in Fargo
319 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fargo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
C'mon Inn - Fargo
C'mon Inn - Fargo
#28 of 50 in Fargo
192 reviews
0.8 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Fargo
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Fargo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Fargo - West Acres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Fargo - West Acres

Property: Holiday Inn Express Fargo - West Acres
Address: 1040 40th St. S., Fargo, ND 58103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Dakota > Fargo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Fargo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Fargo - West Acres 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express West Acres hotel! If you want to Stay Smart you definitely want to stay with us! Our newly decorated guest rooms now feature 32 inch flat screen TVs, New granite bathroom counters, and our new Simply Smart Bedding Collection. We also offer complimentary wired and wireless Internet access and a 24 hour business center to meet your business needs. As one of our guests you would also get to enjoy our new hot breakfast bar, with items such as omelets, bacon, sausage, biscuits and gravy, and also a wide variety of healthy selections as well. If you are wondering about location, well that s just another reason for you to stay with us. We are located in the shopping and dining district of Fargo. We are directly across the street from West Acres Shopping Mall and walking distance to restaurants and bars and minutes away from Hector International Airport.Now after your hard day at work or a long day shopping, come and relax and enjoy our pool area and hot tub or watch an in-room movie with movies still in theaters! So come and visit us here at the Holiday Inn Express-West Acres we will be happy to have you as our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Fargo - West Acres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Fargo - West Acres Hotel Fargo
Holiday Inn Fargo
Fargo Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing