We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finally made it to the Peace Garden”

International Peace Garden
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Dunseith
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 293 helpful votes
“Finally made it to the Peace Garden”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

For years it has gnawed at me to stop at the Peace Garden but until now I hadn't got there. I must admit my expectations were greater than the reality. Overall I expected more color and flowers but kudos to the Peace Garden for a well kept facility, well groomed and for preserving this site for so many years. There are two areas that I believe to be fairly new. One is the cactus garden which is maintained in a climate controlled area and the North American Game Warden Museum. Both of these we're well worth the time. Other than that, take the time to walk the main garden walkways around the sunken garden and up to the towers. Because the facility is sort of a neutral zone, you can freely walk around both sides of the border without hindrance. Two loop roads, one on the Canadian side and one on the US side take you through preserved forests and wetlands of the

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank BorealForestDweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    40
    24
    4
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Du Quoin
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Worth the stop”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Very nice tribute to two countries and the long standing relationship! Nice chapel and gardens! Fitting end to our Canadian Road trip and a great place to cross the border!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bsknees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We went on Father's Day. With all the rain they didn't have all the flowers planted and some of the fountains weren't turned on. Still it was very beautiful and interesting. You turn right before you cross the Canada border patrol and when you exit you turn right into the US border patrol. You don't need a passport, but all adults in car needs to show their driver's license.
It's cool being in 2 countries at once.
Many interesting things to see including pieces of the twin towers from 9/11.
There are picnic areas on both sides, mainly in Canada. The 1 way road is very long and the picnic areas are far apart. The area is beautiful. Bathrooms are basically outhouses, so use visitor center before you head out. We saw pelicans. Didn't know they came so far north.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Manitoba
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Everyone should check it ou”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Very nice and beautiful in the summer. Everyone should check it out and the peace tower. Beautiful when in full bloom.

Helpful?
1 Thank DeniseR23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bismarck, North Dakota
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

the gardens are beautiful every year they add something new! it's great for cycling around the park, the flowers are lovey!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank sue l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed International Peace Garden also viewed

 

Been to International Peace Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing