We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprisingly Authentic!”

Don Pedro's Family Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #20 of 74 Restaurants in Dickinson
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Authentic Mexican cuisine featuring lunch and dinner specials. Enjoy all varieties of Mexican favorites, including combination platters, enchiladas, burritos, egg dishes, and much more. Full bar with liquor, wine, beer, and margaritas.
Pensacola FL
Level Contributor
69 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Authentic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

Starting with the home made salsa loaded with fresh cilantro, this restaurant supplied wonderful flavors in all the foods we ordered. I had the Enchiladas Suisse (choice of fillings with a fresh tomatillo sauce, Mexican crumbling cheese and sour cream), and my husband had a Chile Relleno and a side of Chile Colorado. He raved about both of them, and we are comparing this food to that in Cozumel at Pancho's Backyard (the best!). The servers were friendly and attentive, and brought extra guacamole (excellent). I had a strawberry Margarhita, which was made with Sauza tequila, fresh squeezed orange juice, and a very fresh tasting strawberry puree, all served in a giant goblet, just amazing. You must try this place if you go to Dickinson. It is an unexpected surprise in a far away place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Coffeebuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    28
    14
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Pretty good all around”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

We hadn't been here in a while but I noticed they are taking advantage of the oil boom and have raised their prices. I had the chicken fajita quesadilla, it was very good. Salsa leaves something to be desired. My daughter loves to come here for the Mexican soda.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank larson59330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
162 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Big portions and very tasty!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

My husband is a big eater, he usually eats his food, then finishes mine....there was so much food, he left food behind! You are greeted with chips and Salsa/Refried beans. The menu is extensive. Portions were huge, giant platters and they were full....the deep fried ice cream is a nice finish. There are drink specials. When we were there, it was BOGO Margeritas/Sangria...so we thought they'd be small, but they were huge, and it was $4.50 for two!! Very pleasant atmosphere and lots of room.....but was quite busy!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank itsallgood-14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dickinson, North Dakota
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Yummy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Everytime we visit here we have wonderful service. The food is always brought to the table quickly and it is always good.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank southernmomx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not my favorite...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

Service is good, but that is where the good ends for me. Arroz con pollo was not great, neither were fajita's, and the sauces and salsa were not the best by a long shot. Atmosphere is okay, but I just don't get the authentic feel.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank burlgirl777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don Pedro's Family Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Don Pedro's Family Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing