We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“what a great place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Astoria Hotel & Event Center

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Astoria Hotel & Event Center
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Dickinson
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“what a great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

I can't say enough great things about this place. It is absolutely beautiful. The prices are so affordable also. It is very close to Theodore Roosevelt National Park and right in the middle of lots of restaurants and things to do. The town of Dickinson has several parks to walk around and stretch your legs. The breakfast is outstanding and they have a nice lounge area, although we were just too tired to try it out. The pool and hot tub area are quite beautiful as well. This was certainly our favorite place to stay on our 10 day trip. We liked it so well we stayed an extra day!!
The staff could not have been nicer!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveler1075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayAstoria, Director of Sales at Astoria Hotel & Event Center, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
We are so happy to hear that you found our Hotel convenient to your trip to Medora! We are lucky we have a location right off the interstate and close to restaurants. We are also glad that you liked it so much you extended your stay, hopefully your travels will bring you back here again! Thank you for making the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    57
    19
    9
    14
See reviews for
49
46
6
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fargo, North Dakota
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

This was a Beautiful property. Staff was friendly and very helpful. I have stayed at many properties and this is one of my favorites. Breakfast was great. Room was very welcoming. Lounge area was nice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayAstoria, Director of Sales at Astoria Hotel & Event Center, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for letting us know that you had a nice stay! We appreciate you taking the time to make a review. We also appreciate you staying with us here at the Astoria. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Great location for this new hotel in Dickinson. It had very nice large rooms with comfortable beds and all the amenities. The breakfast was sufficient, but we did get in on the tail end, so there may have been more choices earlier in the morning. The lounge area was comfortable and fun with a family feel around the community pool table. A nice place to hang out. Many good restaurants nearby. The front desk staff were very friendly and very helpful with all of our needs. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelermontana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayAstoria, Director of Sales at Astoria Hotel & Event Center, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for your pleasant review! We appreciate you taking time to let the public know what kind of a facility we have. We are also pleased that you were able to enjoy our amenities. Hopefully we will see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
468 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Large room - sofa/sleeper and stuffed chair in addition to a king size bed. There were up lights behind the head board which made for soft lighting in the room as well as reading lights on the head board - nice! The desk was on rollers so you didn't have to sit at once place to work on a computer, etc... Very comfortable bed/pillows. Nice size bathroom. Also very quiet - oil workers staying hear but we never heard anyone in the morning leaving.

Room Tip: Make reservations - they sell out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bountiful-IA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayAstoria, Manager at Astoria Hotel & Event Center, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time out of your schedule to leave us with a guest review. I am well please to know that you were satisfy with your stay and have such positive things to say about our hotel. Great customer service is an ongoing process and a daily practice of our hotel and our entire staff. Here at the Astoria we think, and look at everything we do from a guest perspective. We strive for quality and consistency in everything we do.

Once again I thank you for staying with us, and thank you for leaving us with such great comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here when passing through town, very nice with almost new facility, friendly staff, nice pool and a reasonable rate, what more could you ask for. Also n excellent Mexican restaurant next door. Give the both a try you won't be disappointed !

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank gregfromthepeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayAstoria, Manager at Astoria Hotel & Event Center, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
I would like to start of by thanking you for taking the time to leave us with such a great and warmth review, and for speaking so highly of our hotel, staff, and surrounding area. secondly, I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel as your hotel of choice. Here at the Astoria, we believe in going over and beyond our guest expectation, and live solely for providing 100% customer service and hospitality.

We enjoy having you here as our guest, and we look forward to seeing you again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Michigan
Level Contributor
95 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stopped in Dickinson, ND while on our trip to Theodore Roosevelt National Park (the prices in Medora, which is where the park is located, were FAR too expensive). We were pleasantly surprised by the Astoria!

Our large room had a refrigerator and microwave, as well as an automatic sensor so the lights and a/c come on when you enter. The service was wonderful, and the rooms fantastic! The king room had wonderful flexible reading lamps on either side of the bed, so my husband could read without disturbing anyone else. The next morning, we enjoyed a great breakfast with freshly-made waffles. Yum! To top it off, it was only 30-40 minutes to the National Park.

We saved money by staying in Dickinson rather than Medora, and loved this hotel. We'd stay again when in the area!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Monkeybusiness23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayAstoria, Director of Sales at Astoria Hotel & Event Center, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
We are so happy that you stopped at the Astoria on your way to Medora! We appreciate you taking the time to let people know that we are a good alternative to staying in Medora. Hopefully when you come back through you will stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

The Astoria is a beautiful new hotel in downtown Dickinson. The rooms are larger then average and include large flat screen tvs, comfy beds and bedding, table and chairs, extra reading lamps attached to beds, microwave, fridge,desk and chair, and bathroom with very modern decor (loved the ion hair dryer and extra shelving under the sink for personal care product storage) The housekeeping is amazing!! Thank you for cleaning the room every day and making it look like the first day we came in. It's unbelievable how thorough they are and as a guest who is OCD about clean I loved this!! the breakfast is amazing! They have scrambled eggs, sausage, and biscuits and gravy daily along along with the normal breakfast choices (waffles, Danish, toast, cereal, fruit, etc.) the pool table is fun for adults and kids alike. There's a computer available in the lobby and free wi fi in the rooms. The pool is fabulous. One thing to mention is the hot tub is a cold tub. The heater is either not working or not installed yet. It's going to be great when it's fully working though. The kids and adults loved it even cold. Theres a coin laundromat behind the hotel you can walk to and do your laundry at be warned though last wash is at 10 and it closes at 11p.m. Parking is one of our only complaints. There's not enough of it on certain nights but we made do and loved this hotel so much we didn't mind. This should be rated the #1 hotel choice in Dickinson and I am shocked it is not ranked in the top 3. It truly is a top notch hotel in this area. We stayed a week and will be back again. The staff are friendly and accommodating another added bonus.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heater5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayAstoria, Director of Sales at Astoria Hotel & Event Center, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for your positive review! We really appreciate your comments. We are in the process of fixing the Jacuzzi and it should be done soon. Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dickinson hotels
1.9 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Dickinson
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Dickinson
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#7 of 19 in Dickinson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Dickinson
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#8 of 19 in Dickinson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Dickinson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astoria Hotel & Event Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astoria Hotel & Event Center

Property: Astoria Hotel & Event Center
Address: 363 15th St. West, Dickinson, ND 58601
Location: United States > North Dakota > Dickinson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Dickinson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Astoria Hotel & Event Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This eco-friendly hotel is 100% smoke-free with jacuzzi suites and extended stay units. Rooms come in kings, double Queens, Jacuzzi suites, kitchenettes. All rooms have refrigerators, micorwaves, ipod docking station. Exercise room, indoor pool, complimentary hot breakfast buffet, WIFI & hardwired internet, lounge with gaming, 15,000 square foot convention facility along with breakout rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Astoria Hotel & Event Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing