We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Astoria Hotel & Event Center

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Astoria Hotel & Event Center
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Dickinson
Certificate of Excellence
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
2 reviews
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

Everything was top notch from the moment of checking in and I will return again when business
brings me back. Although I didn't use the pool or jacuzzi they were in great shape and very clean. The bar completion will also add to overall appeal in the hotel. Guest services was extremely friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayAstoria, Director of Sales at Astoria Hotel & Event Center, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you so much for your positive review! We are opening our Lobby Bar today, 6/27/2013. The bar will be open 7 days a week. We appreciate your business, and look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    57
    19
    9
    14
See reviews for
49
46
6
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

This hotel is doing a great job to provide a comfortable place for the weary traveller to stay for the night. The front desk staff was helpful and friendly when we checked in around midnight. The rooms are well appointed and the beds comfortable. I expected a cold continental breakfast but was surprised to find eggs, biscuits and gravy and make your own waffles available besides the usual juice, cereal and bread. They have some work to do on the landscaping and interior common areas, but, it can't be easy to find construction workers with all the activity up North in the bakken oil field. Would stay here again on next interstate 94 driving adventure. I made my reservation several months in advance because this place fills up with workers from oil fields (as all hotels do in this area).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mtholde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayAstoria, Director of Sales at Astoria Hotel & Event Center, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you so much for your positive feedback! We appreciate you choosing us for your stay and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

When we first arrived, it seemed like a very nice place. That is until later that night when the air conditioning didn't work, the pool was close (and we weren't even informed of this on check in). When we went to talk to the manager about this we were told he was in a meeting and would call us. Needless to say it was just a blow off. We never heard from them. Complete waste of money. DO NOT STAY HERE if you value your money.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lillroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayAstoria, Director of Sales at Astoria Hotel & Event Center, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you so much for your response. We appreciate the feedback whether bad or good. We are continually striving to improve so our guests always have a wonderful experience. We are passing along the information to the correct departments, for improvement. We would love for you to give us a second chance if your travels ever come to this area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

Over all this is a nice hotel. That is unless you have kids then forget it. The pool doesn't work and there is a "quiet time" at 9:00. Therefore you cannot talk normally without getting a complaint about the noise. NOT family friendly at all!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunny_0976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayAstoria, Manager at Astoria Hotel & Event Center, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
We apologize for the issues you experienced during your stay at the Astoria. We have had some issues with the pool/hot tub heater and are addressing these issues. We have the manufacturer and installer coming in this week to replace a part that is faulty. The pool is usable although the water temperature is slightly cooler then normal.
Our hotel does enforce a "quiet time" at 10pm for the comfort of all of our guests.
We know that you have several lodging choices in the Dickinson ND area and appreciate you choosing the Astoria for your stay.

Pauline James
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lupton, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

The rooms are very nice. They seem to be new and have great towels. If you're a fan of the airport-style "wave your hands for a few seconds to get 1.5 seconds of water" bathroom faucets, you'll love these rooms.To me, it just screamed "CHEAP!!" I stayed for a week and never had my sheets changed. Good thing I had two beds. I used the 2 coffee packets only once during the week and houskeeping did not see fit to replace them. The WiFi is very weak. I booked 2 nights with hotels.com, and they jacked the price up $10, then $20 a night without even mentioning it to me when I had to extend my stay. On the plus side, there is a laundromat, liquor store, mexican restaurant, and burger king literally on the other side of the parking lot. When the front desk crew feels like it, they make great cookies for the guests. I will seek accommodations elswhere the next time I am forced to stay in Dickinson.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayAstoria, Director of Sales at Astoria Hotel & Event Center, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Astoria. We truly apologize about the housekeeping and coffee! We realize how important our guests' satisfaction is, and will address this immediately. The rates you booked on Hotels.com should always stay the same as you reserved them. We would be happy to look into this for you. We are continually trying to improve and appreciate the feedback. Should you decide to come back to Dickinson we would like the opportunity to prove these kinds of things will never happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

After having a less than positive experience at a neighboring hotel, it was a breath of fresh air!
The room was clean, well appointed, spacious and comfortable. Still brand new and there were some issues with one of the elevators, but staff was good at redirecting.

If there is anything that lacked, it was the evening desk staff (I don't know her name) was less than helpful. She was bored and clearly didn't want to be there. Not very hospitable.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alicia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayAstoria, Director of Sales at Astoria Hotel & Event Center, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments! We will address the issue with the night person and we do apologize for that. We hope you will come and stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Germany, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

Very nice rooms and decor. Very professional staff and very nice place to stay. Would recommend to all my friends and family. Very close to all shopping and resturants. Pool is very nice and really loved my room, wanted to stay longer, very roomie and quiet.

Room Tip: Right off the 94 interestate, Resturants only blocks away!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DRettler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayAstoria, Director of Sales at Astoria Hotel & Event Center, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Astoria! I am so glad you had a nice time. We look forward to your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dickinson hotels
1.9 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Dickinson
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Dickinson
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#7 of 19 in Dickinson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Dickinson
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#8 of 19 in Dickinson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Dickinson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astoria Hotel & Event Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astoria Hotel & Event Center

Property: Astoria Hotel & Event Center
Address: 363 15th St. West, Dickinson, ND 58601
Location: United States > North Dakota > Dickinson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Dickinson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Astoria Hotel & Event Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This eco-friendly hotel is 100% smoke-free with jacuzzi suites and extended stay units. Rooms come in kings, double Queens, Jacuzzi suites, kitchenettes. All rooms have refrigerators, micorwaves, ipod docking station. Exercise room, indoor pool, complimentary hot breakfast buffet, WIFI & hardwired internet, lounge with gaming, 15,000 square foot convention facility along with breakout rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Astoria Hotel & Event Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing