We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay at Devils Lake”
Review of Woodland Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Devils Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Woodland Resort
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great place to stay at Devils Lake”
Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at their motel. Nice motel, not huge rooms but very clean and great staff. Used their guided service fishing and really enjoyed it. Excellent food at the restaurant. We will be back in the winter or the perch express.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank lucyluelue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    9
    2
    2
    3
See reviews for
13
6
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Six of us shared a condo big enough for 12. Beautiful knotty pine interior. Lots of room. Beds were double and twin, but queen would have been better. The floor plan is wide-open. Beautiful loft. Fireplace lights with the flick of a switch. Everything was perfect. Had a small clog in the drain and they fixed it immediately!! Very friendly people, lots of room in the clean fish-cleaning house, condo was well-supplied, comfortable beds, plenty of hot water. Amazing friendly customer service. When requested, they brought the pontoon to us right away. Facility is beautiful - right on the lake. Fire pits, gas grills are right there. Real big deck with tables & chairs, facing the lake. The area is sprayed for mosquitoes - I didn't get bit once! I recommend this!! We'll be back next year.

Room Tip: We chose the largest condo (C4) See info. on their website for floor plans of the type of room you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nebraska68154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Dakota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Good locaton, facilities. Problems: dusty roadways, no hooks or tables in bathrooms. Nice employees

Room Tip: Some lodge rooms have a wooden deck - some do not
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank weaver41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 10, 2012

I have fished many places in Canada and Minnesota. Staying at Woodland Resort was a superb facility to experience the best fishing I have ever done. Top notch service from the whole staff. Everyone was so very friendly and accomodating to our needs. Clean cabins, fantastic walleye and pike fishing. I'm definately booking another trip to Woodland Resort We had such a wonderful time It's going to be hard to choose any other place to go and have as much fun as we have had here.

Thanks to all!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim_m1116232427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Have gone to fishing lodges for near 70 years and Woodland is one of best ever.....just returned last night. The nicest, most helpful staff we've ever encountered. Clean cabins, wonderful walleye and pike fishing. We are booking for a return visit. Our expectations were exceeded in every regard.

Just sent out this report to everyone I know who fishes!

Ken M

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2011

We reserved two rooms at this resort recently. The first day we were there our child climbed into bed and got their leg cut due to glass being in the bedsheet. When we brought this to the owner's attention they didn't apolgy for this or even ask if our child was ok. The only solution they would provide to us was to change the bed sheets and vacuum the room. We did not find that acceptable. We said we wanted a partial refund as we paid for 3 full days and had this happen on our first day. They refused stating if they gave us a refund we had to leave. Being that we were there on a holiday weekend we could not find any other locations available to stay at therefore we were stuck being that we drove 500 miles to stay in Devils Lake. Plus we had other family members staying in another room and they would have lost their money for their room if we had left. The owner made no effort to provide any customer service to make our stay more acceptable or pleasant. Besides the issue with the glass in the bed and the owner being less than friendly about staying here....the room was very small, the beds were very uncomfortable, we could not get additional pillows or bedding, there was no electric to the boating area where we wanted to keep our boat for the 3 days, and the inside and outside of the motel smelled like sewer for 2 days of our trip. While we were there we had other guests tell us they had to move to town because the resort overbooked and were kicking them out. There was a room open with a fan running for more than a day and someone walked into it saying that was their room and it smelled like cat pee. I would STRONGLY RECOMMEND NOT staying at this location. Terrible customer service and poor quality. We will gladly stay in town next time at the hotels or the casino and get our moneys worth!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Dana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

This resort was my husbands choice for his big birthday. He booked it over 6 months in advance. Imagine our disappointment when we check-in and get to our room to find they have assigned us to a room with 2 single beds. When we go back to try to get the room corrected we were told, "Sorry, everyone has checked in and we have no other rooms available." Our only option was to take a partial refund and try to find another hotel near the lake where we were supposed to fish all week. Not viable since it was the 4th of July weekend and they knew we couldn't find another room.
The young girls hired to check in guests tried to imply it was somehow our fault that they would assume a married couple wouldn't mind sleeping on opposite sides of the room from each other for a week.
In the end, there was no apology or attempt to make amends. We left feeling cheated after booking so far in advance and driving 1,600 miles for a disappointing vacation.
On a positive note, the food at the resort restaurant was surprisingly good.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank crappiegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Devils Lake hotels
4.2 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites
Fireside Inn & Suites
#2 of 8 in Devils Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
5.2 mi away
Cobblestone Hotel & Suites Devils Lake
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Devils Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Devil's Lake
4.1 mi away
Sunlac Inn
Sunlac Inn
#1 of 1 in Devils Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodland Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodland Resort

Property: Woodland Resort
Address: 1012 Woodland Drive, Devils Lake, ND 58301
Location: United States > North Dakota > Devils Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Devils Lake
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Devils Lake's only full service lakeside resort. We have everything you need to make a fun family or guy trip getaway. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing