We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maybe the worst hotel of our trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fireside Inn & Suites
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Devils Lake
Reviewed September 3, 2011

We have been on the road for 5 weeks and this hotel must be the worst. First, no elevator. My husband has a heart condition and it was quite difficult to get all our luggage up 2 flights of stairs. We asked for a room on the lower floor and they said they were full. When we got to the room, it had a horrible stale smell. There were windows to open, but there was so much dust from construction, we couldn't do that either. The bed was covered with an old polyester type bedspread that I immediately removed. The sheets were green! I've never seen anything other than white sheets in a hotel. The room was fairly clean (except for the smell), and had a newer TV. My suggestion is forget the new TV and update the linens!
Breakfast. I have an allergy to eggs and so cannot eat most hotel breakfasts, but I can drink the coffee. When I went down to get coffee, the machines were emptied and being cleaned. Granted it was later in the morning, but not that soon after the breakfast had closed.
There were some sights to see in the area and when we asked about them were not told of the unbelievable construction we had to go through to get to these sights, AND when we finally got to the sights, one was closed and the other we gave up on because we were tired of dealing with the construction (see photos) and just wanted to get out of there. It would have been nice if the woman at the front desk of the hotel would have warned. We must have wasted 3 hours of our day and our car was filthy!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LadyB319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MinnesotaMitch, Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback.

Our bedding has been upgraded, all of the bedding is now white as you requested.

If you require first floor, it is always best to request it when you initially make the reservation as we can fill up very quickly. We always try to accommodate our guests.

Road construction is a little out of our hands and I am sure that the front desk clerk would have let you know about the business closure if they would have known about it.

We clean our coffee machine right away after breakfast for sanitary purposes. It is usually back up and running within 15 minutes.

We hope that you choose to stay again and we appreciate your business.

Thank you,

Monica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (166)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 166 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2011

The staff here is friendly and take care of any problems that arise above and beyond my expectations. They also serve 2 free drinks during happy hour. The rooms are clean and the folks that take care of the room when you are away are often-times intuitive on what you need and what you can use again. Any time I'm in the Devils Lake area, this is the hotel I am staying at.

Room Tip: To get a good room, book a week and a half to two weeks in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

Stayed here Aug 11, 12 for a fishing trip. Room was clean and adequate, typical chain size room but the hospitality was fantastic. Mon thru Thurs they have a courtesy happy hour with beer, wine and pizza at no charge from 5-7 pm. Pool and hot tub were clean. Staff was very courteous and helpful. Breakfast was a notch above normal. Scrambled eggs and sausage were great. Waffle batter is premeasured into cups with 2 waffle makers, Cereal, fruit, coffee, juice, pastries, toast and fixings were also available. For 85 bucks a nite including tax, I thought it was a great deal.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mnfisherman284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

The hotel has a nice breakfast and it is very clean. The rooms have lots of tables, a microwave, and a fridge. The decor and bedding are dated. BEWARE OF THE HOTEL'S CANCELLATION POLICY. We needed to change our reservation and were told that the hotel had a three day cancellation policy and we would be charged one night's stay (approx. $94). The policy was not posted in their lobby (despite being told by a manager that there was a sign in the lobby...nope, no sign). The policy was not printed on the confirmation paper that I received at the hotel in the lobby a couple weeks before the scheduled stay... In short, it seemed like the hotel staff just "made up" some random policy to charge me for changing my reservation.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PAmomroadtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MinnesotaMitch, Owner at Fireside Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2011

We have discussed the cancelation policy and decided we agree. We have changed the 72 hr cancellation policy to 4 p.m. of arrival. If you have had difficulty with this please contact the Fireside Inn manager. If you are not satisfied with the answer ask him to give you my number. (Owner)
Thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2011

We stayed there during a hockey tournament. The rooms were clean, comfortable and spacious. As mentioned in previous reviews the shower heads are low. It had a good breakfast of waffles,fresh fruit, toast/bagles, cereal, eggs, sausage, yogurt and the kids enjoyed the all day hot chocolate. The pool area is not that big but the kids were able to have fun in it. The pool closes at 10:00 (for kids) and 11:00 for adults. The staff were there right away to kick us out. At the hotel lobby there were 2 computers set up and the hotel didn't mind kids playing on it. Overall they were very accommodating to our group.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LL18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2011

Would definitely stay here again if I was in the area. We were driving back to Denver from Erskine, MN over New Years 10-11, after visiting family. A huge blizzard knocked out the interstate (I-29 I believe towards Omaha). We decided to head due west and neander down through Wyoming. We didn't make it very far when our Jeep Cherokee Sport blew a head gasket on us. Extreme Hooray by the way to Bert's Deep Rock towing for coming out and rescuing my family in 10 degree below temperatures and bring us into safety. Also Big Hoorays for the local car dealerships working with us on repairs and alternate transportation. Everyone in this great little town is so super friendly. One of the last great American towns left.) Anyways, we ended up picking the Fireside Inn to spend the night in after reading several positive reviews about the place. We had read very bad reviews about the Devils Lake Days Inn and Super 8. The Holiday Inn Express looked OK.
The Fireside Inn was a very good fix for us. Very clean. It was once a Comfort Inn I believe. It's an older building (20 plus years), but the new management has apparently done a lot of upgrades to keep it up with the times. Flat screen TVs in the rooms. New linens and towels. New carpet, etc... There's a Kmart adjacent, so that made it very nice for us, as well as a pizza buffet restaurant next door. They have a very nice indoor pool / jacuzzi as well. Good continental breakfast (waffles, scrampled eggs, sausage, bagels, toast, cerial, juice milk, etc...) And the place was clean!!! Would definitely stay here again. A very solid 3 star hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amymantooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2010

After staying in a dive (see Days Inn at Devils Lake review) we needed a place like home. This hotel exceeded that. The room was clean, comfortable, spacious and with a jacuzzi tub as well as a shower. A happy hour is held each night in a small meeting room. The hostess,Lisa,was knowledgeable about the area and could give good recommendations on places to eat and shop. It was obvious that she enjoys her job and is very caring for about the patrons. All the staff we encountered, greeted us with a smile and was friendly. This hotel was a great value at a convenient location to the highway.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mrswom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Devils Lake hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Devils Lake
1.2 mi away
Cobblestone Hotel & Suites Devils Lake
1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Devils Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sunlac Inn
Sunlac Inn
#1 of 1 in Devils Lake
9 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Fireside Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fireside Inn & Suites

Address: 215 Highway 2 E, Devils Lake, ND 58301-3935
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Dakota > Devils Lake
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Devils Lake
Price Range: $91 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fireside Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fireside Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fireside Inn & Suites Hotel Devils Lake
Fireside Inn And Suites
Fireside Hotel Devils Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing