We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Penang Butterfly Farm”
Review of Entopia

Entopia
Book In Advance
More Info
$57.00*
and up
Private Tour: Discovery Tour of Entopia Butterfly Farm in Penang
More Info
$53.00*
and up
Half-Day Tour to Tropical Spice Garden and Entopia by Penang Butterfly Farm
More Info
$67.00*
and up
Private Tour: Spice Garden and Entopia Butterfly Farm in Penang
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Entopia, a tropical sanctuary for our planet's little denizens from those that fly freely in the sky to the ones that creep stealthily beneath the ground. Journey into a magical paradise that honours the unsung heroes of our natural world with plenty to discover from outdoor adventures to cavernous mysteries and a multi-storey Indoor Discovery Centre. Live the moment with exciting interactive workshops and activities. There's something for everyone. Join us to experience the seen and unseen in Nature. We are the voice of nature.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Wheelchair access
Reviewed July 26, 2014

It was a beautiful bright day and the butterflies were in full bloom, everywhere. They landed on your head. One was on the way out (they can not live forever) and it sat on my daughter's bust and blended in with her blouse. It remained there till it dropped off, probably dead. There were also cages of large snakes, chameleons, large lizards, turtles and other underwater things.
It is well worth a visit. Small ponds contained brightly coloured fish that were quiet friendly. there is also a part where one can watch the flutterbyes hatching. We spent about 2 hours there

Thank Rita R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PenangButterflyFarm, Public Relations Manager at Entopia, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2014

Hi,

Greetings from Penang Butterfly Farm!

We would like to thank you for visiting us and sharing your experience. We are happy to know that your visit was worthwhile.

At Penang Butterfly Farm, we strive hard to create the realization of joy by being with Nature for all our visitors. With the whole team of nature loving people, we will continue to carry our mission, ensuring every step is a step towards attaining harmony between Human and Mother Nature

Have a great day and see you again next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,038)
There are newer reviews for Entopia
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

539 - 543 of 1,038 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2014

I visited this place some 20 years ago during a school trip. Nothing has changed, the same old butterfly park with butterflies flying inside a big cage. It's a good place for children to learn about butterflies and insects but not so nice for tourists. This is an outdated tourist place.

Thank Lucie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PenangButterflyFarm, Public Relations Manager at Entopia, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2014

Hi,

Greetings from Penang Butterfly Farm!

First of all, let us thank you for visiting us again and for taking the time to share your thoughts.

For the past 28 years of operation, Penang Butterfly Farm has undergone redevelopment works. In the coming year, we are working on a major transformation. Rest assured, we are constantly changing to provide our visitors the best experience every time they step into the world of butterflies and insects.

At Penang Butterfly Farm, we strive hard to create the realization of joy by being with Nature for all our visitors. With the whole team of nature loving people, we will continue to carry our mission, ensuring every step is a step towards attaining harmony between Human and Mother Nature

Have a nice day and we do hope to see you again next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2014

Countless butterflies flying around~ Amazing colours!
There are also spiders, reptiles (lizards) and beetles inside the indoor exhibition area.

1  Thank Tiaraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PenangButterflyFarm, Public Relations Manager at Entopia, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2014

Hi,

Warm greetings from Penang Butterfly Farm!

First of all, thank you for visiting us. We hope you had a great time with the butterflies and insects.
Thank you for also taking the time to leave your feedback.

At Penang Butterfly Farm, we strive hard to create the realization of joy by being with Nature for all our visitors. With the whole team of nature loving people, we will continue to carry our mission, ensuring every step is a step towards attaining harmony between Human and Mother Nature

Have a nice day and we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Stepped into a place where butterflies are so tamed that they settle on your hands and legs without fear! The variety of butterflies are so beautiful. My kids are a wonderful time admiring all different species. The farm has an aircon area that screen short movie about insects and also house several insects that you don't get to see in our daily lives if you stay in the city. The souvenir shop is good too!

Thank Eileen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PenangButterflyFarm, Public Relations Manager at Entopia, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2014

Hi,

Greetings from Penang Butterfly Farm!

Thank you for visiting us and we are glad to hear that you had a great up close and personal experience with the butterflies.

We would also like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.

At Penang Butterfly Farm, we strive hard to create the realization of joy by being with Nature for all our visitors. With the whole team of nature loving people, we will continue to carry our mission, ensuring every step is a step towards attaining harmony between Human and Mother Nature.

Have a nice day and hope to see you again next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

It was a thrilling experience walking into butterflies flying all over the place once we entered the enclosed compound...but this is pretty luck-dependent. The nature guide told us the weather was perfect that day for the butterflies to get active, and i have also heard from friends and family members who have been there previously but did not see much.

Anyway please go for the guided tour! They have it at regular intervals at the park, just join in when you hear someone speaking. Without it, the walk in the compound can be pretty aimless and boring after awhile. The guided tour was really insightful and interactive (good job to Ed!).

Thank Fishyu1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PenangButterflyFarm, Public Relations Manager at Entopia, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2014

Hi,

Greetings from Penang Butterfly Farm!

Thank you for visiting us and sharing your experience here on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you had an insightful time with your Nature Specialist Ed. The Nature Specialists are always eager to help and share their knowledge.

A perfect sunny day is always the best time for butterfly watching.

At Penang Butterfly Farm, we strive hard to create the realization of joy by being with Nature for all our visitors. With the whole team of nature loving people, we will continue to carry our mission, ensuring every step is a step towards attaining harmony between Human and Mother Nature.

Have a nice day and we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Entopia also viewed

Teluk Bahang, Penang Island
 
George Town, Penang Island
Air Itam, Penang Island
 

Been to Entopia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing