We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, on the expensive side, but worth it”
Review of Entopia

Entopia
Experience for Yourself
More Info
$57.00*
and up
Private Tour: Discovery Tour of Entopia Butterfly Farm in Penang
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Entopia, a tropical sanctuary for our planet's little denizens from those that fly freely in the sky to the ones that creep stealthily beneath the ground. Journey into a magical paradise that honours the unsung heroes of our natural world with plenty to discover from outdoor adventures to cavernous mysteries and a multi-storey Indoor Discovery Centre. Live the moment with exciting interactive workshops and activities. There's something for everyone. Join us to experience the seen and unseen in Nature. We are the voice of nature.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Beautiful, on the expensive side, but worth it”
Reviewed April 12, 2012

A must visit. Most tourist cities have some sort of a Butterfly park. And frankly, if you have seen one, you have seen all (like aquariums or bird parks). So go for it if you haven't seen one yet or if you have kids.

You can knock this attraction of your list in an hour, a little longer if you have kids.

Lots and lots of butterflies (surprise!) here; there are also iguanas, fishes & a few birds.

Great place for nature lover photographers, with a heavy use of the macro mode.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank zaki_mulla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

976 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    478
    368
    95
    16
    19
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tripoli, Libya
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to take the kids!!”
Reviewed April 11, 2012

I have been here twice now, once in the rain and once in perfect weather. It's a place you should definitely visit in good weather, cos the butterflies all hide away when it rains! my second experience was definitely better than the first, and is the reason for the 4 stars. It is a bit expensive, but if you get a good tour guide, the experience more than makes up for it!! Our guide told us all sorts of useful information, and made sure we got to see all the interesting creatures in the facility. I even held a scorpion and a stick insect!! There are excellent facilities, such as souvenir shop, toilets and a small cafe/restaurant. Highly recommended for families or singly. Worth a half day visit.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank JenniRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luang Prabang, Laos
Level Contributor
344 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Great family spot”
Reviewed April 9, 2012

I was skeptical of visiting this commercial operation but was impressed by the very professional design and display. Impressive thousands of butterflies in a large flower greenhouse, and equally impressive were the many varieties of local plants, orchids and insect-eating pitcher plants (presume they must catch some of the butterflies). Displays of other large insects, spiders, scorpions, etc behind glass were also very good. The visit ends with several large gift and souvenier shops, in one of which mounted butterflies and insects are also sold (contradictory?). Teen kids liked it a lot.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank ditchnapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Nature Revisited”
Reviewed April 7, 2012

The opportunity to see many butterflies flying freely and many landing on hand or body. Also the various scorpions that I did not know existed in Malaysia especially the water scorpion

Helpful?
Thank FplusV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Definitely worth visiting - Butterfly's + more.”
Reviewed April 3, 2012

The Butterfly Farm was definitely a highlight for us while we were visiting Penang. Included in the admission fee is a tour guide, who gives you very detailed information on the different species of butterfly's, the environment and projects that are being conducted to preserve the butterfly's. We got to hold a millipede which felt a bit daunting but after our guide reassured us it just felt like lots of brushes running over your hand, we braved it and so glad we did. You will be amazed at the other wildlife that is held there too. A fantastic experience for all ages.
If your on a tight budget I recommend you make a day of it and catch the bus. The Tropical Fruit Farm is also on the bus route, which is before the Butterfly Farm.
We loved it so much, we are considering going back again at the end of this year, on our second visit to Penang.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank passionT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Entopia also viewed

Teluk Bahang, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 
George Town, Penang Island
 

Been to Entopia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing