We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (91)
Filter reviews
91 results
Traveler rating
68
11
3
4
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
68
11
3
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lovely campsite le puy two weeks safari tent shade games swing nature highlights pools surroundings canoe bikes culture marshmallows fortnight
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 91 reviews
Reviewed August 11, 2017 via mobile

Had a lovely week here in one of the safari tents. Great location on the river bank - kids (16 and 12) went back and forth between the river and the pool . The river is calm and around 75m across so we swam across and the kids jumoed off the rocks on the far side. There is also a canoe and rowing boat you can borrow. Safari tent is really well equipped and they are well laid out so you are not the n to op of your neighbours . I really liked the fact that tge site owners had put games and equipment out for everyone to use - at no additional charge E.g. Archery , basketball and net , table tennis table with bats and balls underneath. There were two open fires lit each night- one on the riverbank end one near the bar restaurant for people to get her round and toast marshmallows . Bar/ restaurant was good and nice setting - indoor area had lots of board games available. No shop on site but you can order bread etc for the morning. The village is an easy 10 minute stroll along the river bank. With young children I could see many were happy to stay on site the whole time . We did two good bike rides - both voie vertes - one from brives charensac which follows an old railway line in goes through 5 tunnels ( great fun) and another along a beautifying gorge again following an on steam railway line. One should also go to le puy en velay and walk up to the church and statue.
Overall it's a beautiful unspoilt region of France , peaceful and almost alpine in feel. If you like nature I would recommend it highly and the campsite owners have done a great job of providing some great amenities in keeping with the surroundings.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank HampshireFamily2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2017 via mobile

Just back from a two week stay at Cosycamp. We stayed here for a fortnight last year too and enjoyed it so much that we went back and persuaded friends to come with us. We were not disappointed. We stayed in a Safari Lodge this time (having stayed in a Canadian Tent last time). The campsite is beautiful and so chilled out. Sophie and Richard are fabulous hosts. The family room with toys for the kids to play with is good, the pools are clean and have amazing views. The camp fires in the evening are sociable. The stars are incredible on a clear night. Our lodge had a hammock with it which was great for relaxing. Our kids and our friends' kids (two aged five and two aged three) loved it and the relative freedom they could have on the car-free site. There is loads to do in the surrounding area. I have no hesitation in recommending this campsite.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2017 via mobile

Stayed with two other families in August and had a perfect week. Owners Sophie and Richard are really laid back but also really helpful. There are lovely touches like the beautiful main building - perfect for relaxing or for bad weather days (thankfully we didn't have any), help yourself to firewood or to the veg patch, table tennis was popular with some of our kids (ranged from 4-14). Puy was a good day out but swimming in the Loire nearby was even better. Will definitely go back :)

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank PJnono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2016

Just back from a 9 night stay here and we are already trying to figure out when we can go back again! We stayed in one of their lovely Robinson tents with a really cute mezzanine level for the kids to sleep on. The tent was brilliantly equipped and the campsite itself is just wonderful.

The site facilities are great (pools, games, laundry, play area, bar, restaurant, etc, etc) but it's the whole atmosphere and vibe here that we just loved. We like staying places where you can have real fires, but to find somewhere where they have actually go round handing out sticks with marshmallows for toasting to all the kids was just fab!

The random hammocks and social areas around the site give lots of fun areas for the kids to run off to and make new friends, and being on the banks of the Loire was just magical. I'm a keen swimmer and was in the river most days - absolutely gorgeous!

Richard, Sophie and the rest of their team are great, always around to offer advice on local activities - I really recommend a dip in the (very chilly!) Cascade de la Baume and Le Lac Bleu, and the bike ride through the tunnels was great (take a torch - I spent the whole 1.3km tunnel desperately hoping the lights didn't go out as we had no torch!) Our girls (7 year old twins) loved it as much as we did and are equally desperate to go back!

My only reservation about giving a 5 star review is that it might make it harder for us to book in next time we want to stay! :-)

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank NDD_73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2016 via mobile

Stayed in a Canadian tent this time and it was very comfortable with all one needs. We did have great weather too! Perfect place for families and friends. Sophie & Richard are superb hosts as well as their team. Pool is very clean. :-)

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews