We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel at best!!”
Review of Kelly Inn Bismarck

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kelly Inn Bismarck
Ranked #30 of 32 Hotels in Bismarck
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
145 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“Average hotel at best!!”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

I only stayed here one night as this was my first stop to Montana from Minnesota. I reserved a room with one bed since I was the only one in my room...room was very small. My sisters had reserved rooms with 2 beds, so their rooms were much larger.

The hotel is fine for one night...but not for much more than that. I'm sure there are nicer hotels in the area, but it was one of the more reasonable priced hotels, I think I paid $86.00 per night on a 7 day advance purchase.

Again, nothing fancy, but served it's purpose...the staff were very nice...check-in and check-out went smooth.

Would probably try a nicer hotel in the area the next time!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LOVEROFPV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    30
    29
    14
    16
See reviews for
25
26
8
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Fergus Falls, Minnesota
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

This hotel is very conveniently located near the freeway and many restaurants and shops. It is on a busy road so there was quite a bit of noise from that, but we were always so tired after our busy days we didn't notice it too much. I don't feel the rate was really "reasonable" for what we received....2 double beds vs. queen beds, no continental breakfast, housekeeping service did not follow our preferences as indicated on the door hanger (just wanted new towels and trash emptied - that didn't happen). The pool area was very nice with an outside patio, too. There was a big event in town and we were limited on places with availability. We will choose something different next time!

Room Tip: A room on the west side would have been much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TootsieTravelista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacob K, General Manager at Kelly Inn Bismarck, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for your review regarding your stay with us. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay, During your stay was in fact a busy time for Bismarck, however I hope that you would give us a try again in your future travels to Bismarck.

Kind Regards,

Jacob Kolander
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Terrible, DO NOT STAY HERE. You would be better served to stay in a room made of paper mache. They should tear this facility down and start over. Every single door slam, cough, pin drop can be heard.... Got no rest. Worst experience EVER. The clientele certainly had zero decorum... Why would anyone be courteous right?

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ajhornb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacob K, General Manager at Kelly Inn Bismarck, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
I am very sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. This particular weekend in Bismarck is a very busy one with the McQuade Softball tournaments going on. We do our best to ensure that everything is quite throughout our building however there are those rare circumstances when we don't always catch the culprits of the noise. I do hope that you will choose to stay with us again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Jacob Kolander
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bismarck hotels

New Rockford
1 review
Reviewed June 13, 2013

It was conveniently located to the class I had to be at. Rates were Ok!
I would probably stay there again if in the area. Did not get an opportunity to use the pool but it looked clean. Location is a little on the noisy side but not unbearable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Cheryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacob K, General Manager at Kelly Inn Bismarck, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank You So much for staying with us, I am glad that you enjoyed your stay! We look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Kind Regards,
Jacob Kolander
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
84 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

In room coffee, hair dryer, very helpful staff (who patiently stayed on the phone and gave excellent travel directions when we exited the freeway too soon and needed to navigate around a detour), very comfortable bed and nice bedding. Fast check-in at a late hour, bargain price at under $85. Clean, well appointed room, with a heated tile bathroom floor that was warm on bare feet in the night. Lovely lobby, with capacious seating in front of a welcoming fireplace. We parked 45 ft of moving truck with a car trailer easily in the parking lot. Had there been discounted breakfast at the restaurant downstairs or at least a continental breakfast with fresh fruit, I would give it 5 stars. Room 313. No elevator to upper stories at this time, but we are fit, had little luggage and prefer stairs. Would definitely come again!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Merrywoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacob K, General Manager at Kelly Inn Bismarck, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank You so much for staying with us and for letting us know how your stay was, I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Kind Regards,
Jacob Kolander
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenmare
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Went to check in and I wanted to pay with cash and they said they do not take that anymore so I had to get somebody with a credit card and I was standing at the till for a good 30 minutes and there was nothing at the till. I went and got my kids and brought them into the building and still nothing as we were walking to our room we walk by the pool and notice that the pool is not open and I even let them know at the till I had kids. So we take the stuff to the room and I asked my husband to go and check with the front desk how long the pool was down for and if we could cancel our room. Manager claimed the sign for closed pool was on the till since the pool broke down. Would not refund our money because we had already stepped into the room. When I checked out they took the sign off the till again. They only had it on the till while my family had left for supper.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacob K, General Manager at Kelly Inn Bismarck, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
I am so sorry to hear that you experienced some issues during your recent stay with us. Sadly our pool is closed for repair however our front desk associates should have made you aware of that, Please contact me directly at the hotel as I would be happy to discuss your concerns.

Kind Regards,

Jacob Kolander
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamestown, North Dakota
Level Contributor
110 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

Nothing too exciting to say about the hotel, it was pretty average. I think it's an older hotel so it was about what we expected. The room was clean enough and suited our needs, although the bed wasn't the most comfortable. It also had a fridge and microwave so that was a nice surprise. The pool was really nice and warm but had pieces of balloons floating all over in it so that was a little odd/gross. The restaurant in the hotel, Minerva's, was delicious but a little spendy. For being under $100 it was fine for a night, would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brillo6510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacob K, General Manager at Kelly Inn Bismarck, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
I would like to thank you for staying with us here at the Kelly Inn! I would also like to thank you for writing about your recent stay with us. I am surprised that you didn't find the beds comforable, As they are new to the hotel we just purchased them in February. I hope that you will stay with us again in the future when you are in Bismarck.

Kind Regards,

Jacob Kolander
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bismarck hotels
0.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Bismarck
Days Inn Bismarck
#5 of 32 in Bismarck
587 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#29 of 32 in Bismarck
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ramada Bismarck
Ramada Bismarck
#15 of 32 in Bismarck
663 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Bismarck
2.1 mi away
Super 8 Bismarck North
Super 8 Bismarck North
#11 of 32 in Bismarck
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelly Inn Bismarck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelly Inn Bismarck

Property: Kelly Inn Bismarck
Address: 1800 N 12th St, Bismarck, ND 58501-1979
Location: United States > North Dakota > Bismarck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 32 Hotels in Bismarck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kelly Inn Bismarck 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Kelly Inn Bismarck North Dakota, your ideal choice for Bismarck North Dakota hotels. The Kelly Inn Bismarck provides lodging in Bismarck adjacent to the North Dakota State Capitol and the North Dakota Heritage Center, which includes the ND Historical Society. The Kelly Inn Bismarck is the closest hotel to all of the following: VFW Sports Center, home of Bismarck's Bobcat Hockey team and many other hockey games. Bismarck State College, Job Service of North Dakota, Lewis and Clark Riverboat, Steamboat Park, and Tom O'Leary Golf course. We are also just minutes from the Kirkwood Mall Shopping center, Gateway Mall, Bismarck Civic Center, home of the CBA Dakota Wizards, Raging Rivers Waterpark and Speed world Golf and Games, Hawktree Golf course, St. Alexius Medical Center, and Medcenter One. When visiting Bismarck North Dakota, make the Kelly Inn Bismarck your first choice for Bismarck North Dakota hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Kelly Inn Bismarck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelly Inn Bismark Hotel Bismarck
Kelly Hotel Bismarck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing