We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Memorial Lunch” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ramkota Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ramkota Hotel
Ranked #19 of 32 Hotels in Bismarck
Great Falls, Montana
1 review
“Memorial Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014

This was an important day for our family, we buried our Mother's ashes and had a memorial lunch here. Treated everyone very well. Thanks for the great service and respect given to all. We are Best Western customers and have not been disappointed by the quality of service.

Room Tip: Rooms by pool are ok, some kids not monitored by parents in pool at all was troublesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ramkotaopsmanager, Manager at Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Thank you for choosing Best Western Plus Ramkota for such an important event in your family. I am so pleased to hear that you had a good experience and that our staff took great care of you. Thanks again for your business; I hope we will see you again in the future.
Best Regards,
Samantha Ackerman, Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

768 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    179
    162
    112
    78
See reviews for
294
97
22
235
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

We were in Bismarck for a funeral, got to the hotel and checked in. Upon getting to the room, we found the prior guests clothes hanging up on the back of the door! The mirror that had been on the door had obviously broken and they just left the tape on the door. After going back to the front desk because of the dirty clothes they moved us to a different room. The next room didn't have dirty clothes but we had to wear shoes the entire time we were there because the carpets were sticky!!!!!!! Absolutely disgusting! We will never stay here again!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hootmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ramkotaopsmanager, Manager at Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
First and foremost, I am very sorry for your loss. I know that traveling for the purpose of a funeral is stressful in the first place and I apologize that our lack of guest service added additional strain on you and your family. There is no excuse for finding your room in the condition that you did. I will do my best to figure out the rooms you were assigned to and make sure that the issues are addressed. Again, I am very sorry for the poor experience you had at our hotel. Thank you for bringing your dissatisfaction to my attention.
Sincerely,
Samantha Ackerman, Operations Manager
701-355-2023
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bismarck hotels

Albertville, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

I am a Best Western fan when I can stay at one I do. I always prefer the signal king room and lots of times I enjoy it when they upgrade my room to a suite. The staff is always helpful, even when I am not in a good mood.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank William G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ramkotaopsmanager, Manager at Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel and for being a loyal Best Western customer! We appreciate you and hope you will continue to choose Ramkota when you visit Bismarck.

Thanks again, Hope to see you soon!
Samantha Ackerman, Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casper, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

The staff are the greatest and the hotel property great. Centrally located for easy access to any need, conference or venue. Definitely give this property a try.....it was a great experience.....having a café and bar on location adds to ease of travel. and close to the mall.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Margaret T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ramkotaopsmanager, Manager at Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope you can come back to visit us again soon.

Sincerely,
Samantha Ackerman, Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crookston, Minnesota
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

Everyone appeared to be "working" and not "welcoming" guests. The only time the pool boy would talk to anyone was when he wanted to get after them for some minor infraction. If your going to stay here and are from out of town and want to see other relatives who have children your age.... dont do it.... you are limited to the number of swimming wristbands (5) that you get and that is it, even a simple request of purchasing one extra one was shot down. If you want more than just an average stay, with above average prices do not stay here. Front desk staff was overall friendly but it ended there, employees walking the hallway did not say hi or how you doing. It appeared that everyone was there doing a job and did not really want to interact with guests.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Jarv969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ramkotaopsmanager, Manager at Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I apologize that our staff was not friendly and welcoming to you during your stay. This is not the norm as we often get compliments on our employee interaction with guests. I am also sorry that we were not able to grant your request for additional pool wristbands. We only allow five wristbands per room as that is the maximum occupancy in a room. We do not allow any additional on weekends to be fair to all hotel guests. I appreciate you sharing your concerns with me and assure you they will be addressed.

Best Regards,
Samantha Ackerman, Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

At first glance, the hotel and the rooms looked fine. Then we began to find the little problems. The air conditioning was stuck on 78 degrees, too hot for my taste. We had to call maintenance to come reset it; while they were there, I pointed out that the closet doors wouldn't open and close properly. The response was that they needed to be replaced, which didn't help me any. Maid service was sketchy at best. We did tend to sleep later on some days, but they should have kept track of the rooms they hadn't done and come back later to finish them. The last night, we even ran out of toilet paper and were told we had to come down to the desk to pick some up! A desk clerk should have been sent to our room with it immediately with a BIG apology. I know you are under construction, but not having any chairs in the lobby to sit and wait was a big problem for me. You could have taken chairs from any of your conference or event rooms and set them against the wall. In short, I expect better service even from a Motel 6, which would have been half the price! We were part of a large wedding party that rented many rooms from you and many of these complaints were universal. This is the last place in Bismarck that I would stay again OR recommend to anybody; thank goodness we didn't have the wedding or the reception there!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ramkotaopsmanager, Manager at Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Thank you for your review. I hope the discounts credited to our account sufficiently compensated you for any discomfort while staying with us. I apologize for the issues you experienced with the cooling unit in your room; we were having many issues with air conditioners in rooms during the time of your stay. We have replaced the equipment that was not working properly so this will not be an ongoing problem. I will address the customer service concerns you expressed with our Front Office and Housekeeping managers so we can better train our staff. If you would like to discuss your stay further please feel free to call me at 701-355-2023.

Sincerely,
Samantha Ackerman, Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bismarck, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

I usually stay at Ramkota when in Bismarck. The location can't be beat and if I am too tired to go out for dinner, there is an excellent restaurant on site. I have used the room service before also and it is a good value. The pool area is wonderful for my children when they accompany me. They love the water sides. The beds are comfortable and the rooms are quiet so I can use my internet service while in town. The staff is always friendly and helpful. There is a shopping center right across the street from the hotel if I care to shop. All in all, a great experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Gladys M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ramkotaopsmanager, Manager at Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Thanks again, Gladys, for this wonderful review! We appreciate your business and hope you will keep choosing Ramkota when you stay in Bismarck.

Many Thanks,
Samantha Ackerman, Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bismarck hotels
4.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Bismarck
0.6 mi away
Radisson Hotel Bismarck
Radisson Hotel Bismarck
#25 of 32 in Bismarck
3.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
3.1 mi away
Country Suites By Carlson, Bismarck
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Bismarck
0.2 mi away
Expressway Inn of Bismarck
Expressway Inn of Bismarck
#21 of 32 in Bismarck
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
2.3 mi away
Days Inn Bismarck
Days Inn Bismarck
#6 of 32 in Bismarck
4.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramkota Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramkota Hotel

Property: Ramkota Hotel
Address: 800 S. Third Street, Bismarck, ND 58504-5728 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Ramkota Hotel)
Location: United States > North Dakota > Bismarck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 32 Hotels in Bismarck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramkota Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 305
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Ramkota Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bismarck
Bismarck Best Western
Best Western Hotel Bismarck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing