We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Water slide at the Ramkota”
Review of Ramkota Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ramkota Hotel
Ranked #23 of 32 Hotels in Bismarck
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We have stayed at the Ramkota on several different occasions. I grew up in Bismarck, and return every year to visit family. The hotel is located in the south part of town by the Kirkwood Mall for reference. The biggest draw for the Ramkota is their indoor waterpark (I use the term loosely). If you know the weather in ND over the winter, then anything indoors is a bonus and there are few hotels with water slides available in the area. The Ramkota has a cute water slide that is approximately three stories high. The pool is mainly for the slide so no area for general swimming however. There are some smaller slides that drop you into the main pool as well. But could only be used by independent swimmers really as you drop into 5 foot water, and I do mean drop and not slide. There are a few smaller slides for toddlers with a toddler pool area that is a few inches deep with some water fall mushroom type device in that area. One slide is a frog that you slide down it's tongue but it only for toddlers. I tried but was too tall to "slide". The pool is getting older and not necessarily well maintained as there is a lot of rust present on the slide itself and the water pours over the stairwell. But the slides attract a lot of attention and is in a main area surrounded by adjoining hotel rooms and tables for non swimmers to sit at. This generally becomes a party area until close, so don't stay by the pool if you want a quiet night or do if you want to party. There is a very small game area near the pool with about 6 arcade games. The fitness room overlooks the pool, or the pool overlooks you as you work out, since it has glass walls. I think there were 4 pieces of equipment to use; treadmill, elliptical, stepper, and a stationary bike; as well as a piece of weight lifting equipment all old but usable if climbing the slide stairs didn't get you enough of a workout. The hotel is large in that it also contains a convention center type wing and a restaurant so it does tend to have a lot of traffic in and out (people traffic not cars). The rooms are getting a little older and not all that maintained, as there is some water damage from being near the pool and missing pieces of wall paper. The showers need some help with new shower heads and additional grouting along the edges. They are not dirty, just need some maintenance. The comforter and extra pillows were nice and the TVs were nice large flat screens, however the earth friendly remote was dead on batteries. Luckily, I have had previous knowledge of walking over to the TV to change channels. The hotel staff are friendly enough. We have never seen any hotel staff monitoring the pools, despite their policy on wearing wristbands. The hotel has wifi accessible in the hotel rooms but it was hard to maintain a connection. There is a computer room set up for use if needed. I give this hotel an average rating for value, since I think they could go a little cheaper considering everything is getting older and not that maintained (hotel rooms, pool area, water slides,ect). One bad note, they have a hot tub and our last visit it was closed with caution tape and had turned a horrible green color. The water park area really makes this hotel and adds a lot of value into the stay for fun for the family.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (793)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

647 - 653 of 793 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

I was in town for a conference that was held at this hotel. I had to have a couple packages shipped and the hotel staff helped me take care of it. The conference room was rather large. This would be a great location to hold a large wedding group. The rooms were about average. Nothing really to complain about or praise.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richie21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramkotagm, Manager at Ramkota Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Thank you! We are happy to hear that our staff was efficient and helpful in getting your packages shipped. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and hope that your travels bring you to our property again in the future.

Thanks again for your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank MICHAEL T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ramkotagm, Manager at Ramkota Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

This hotel has a great location, it's right across the street from the largest retail mall in the city. The rooms were clean and comfortable, it also had good parking. Two things keep it from getting 5 stars; it has no complimentary breakfast and the pool area was small and got rather congested. The staff was very friendly and very helpful. All in all it was quite a good value for the money :)

Room Tip: For what I could tell all the rooms were good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heather P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Loved staying at this hotel. Was so clean, the staff was fantastic and the food was great. We ordered room service every morning as it was better than standing in line somewhere and the food was ssoooo good. Grandkids played in the pool area and was fun for them. The mall is right across the street so that was great with Christmas shopping.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wilstngrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Very very clean room's would recommend it to all. The convenience of the shopping mall is nice. Also the hospitality of the housekeeping was awesome and kids love the swimming pool! Beds were very comfortable rooms were spacious with great adjustable room temperature!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rudyg43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A Best Western traveler
Hazen, North Dakota
1
Reviewed December 11, 2012

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank A Best Western traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bismarck hotels
0.6 mi away
Radisson Hotel Bismarck
Radisson Hotel Bismarck
#12 of 32 in Bismarck
634 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Bismarck South
3.1 mi away
Country Suites By Carlson, Bismarck
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Expressway Inn & Suites of Bismarck
2.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Bismarck
4.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Bismarck
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramkota Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramkota Hotel

Address: 800 S 3rd St, Bismarck, ND 58504-5728 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Ramkota Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Dakota > Bismarck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 32 Hotels in Bismarck
Price Range: $87 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramkota Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 305
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ramkota Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bismarck
Bismarck Best Western
Best Western Hotel Bismarck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing