We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the price for us.”
Review of Ramkota Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ramkota Hotel
Ranked #25 of 32 Hotels in Bismarck
Jamestown
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worth the price for us.”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We were in town to visit family. All tolled, there were four little ones under the age of 3. We were in the pool at least three times during our stay. There is a little toddler area, as well as 3 and 5-foot deep sections to accomodate all swimmers. Although we were poolside (perfect spot with youngsters), we had no trouble getting them to sleep. The ventilation unit hummed all night long and no one lost sleep due to noise from the pool area. With doors sliding out to the pool area, it gave us lots of room. We ate pizza out there and had coffee and the newspaper/book in the morning before others awoke. Clean hotel. Great staff.

Room Tip: Throughly enjoyed being poolside. We were in Bismrack to spend time with family and this provided t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marg K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

785 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    182
    166
    114
    83
See reviews for
303
99
22
241
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Curtice, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
399 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

To begin with, the staff at this hotel was outstanding. This property is greatly supported by it's people. I had great service from the front desk staff, the bar staff, and the cleaning staff greeted me with a good morning at every turn. That being said, the hotel and pool are in need of a good scrubbing. The room was great, but not cleaned particularly well from the previous guest. The pool area shows mold, corrosion on the steps, and rust stains near the shallow water. The hotel is "experienced" and in need of a facelift. Now, the kids LOVED it. They don't pay attention to the details so all they cared about was that the water slide was "AWESOME" and that they could romp to their hearts content. For the cost ($112), you cannot beat that. I've paid more for less. A free breakfast would improve the rating. I would recommend this hotel for families with young children, but not for a romantic getaway.

Room Tip: If traveling with kids, you cannot beat a first floor rooms that open to the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PfeiffersOnTheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melville, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

This year we rented two rooms for a night, and found that the rooms were very clean and comfortable. Everything was well-maintained and I think the decor has been updated recently. Unfortunately the a/c was not working well in one of the rooms though. The waterpark was a few options for different family members, so anyone from young children to adults can enjoy themselves.

This is a nice but large hotel that can be busy and confusing. While we were here there was a ball tournament so the hotel was full and the waterpark in particular was ridiculously busy making it hard to avoid bumping into others in the pool. Being a Saturday night there was also a wedding reception, and noise from that kept some of us awake for a while. Of course I wouldn't blame the hotel for their success, but just be aware that this might not be the place for a "quiet retreat".

Breakfast in the restaurant was very good, and the $5 coupon helped to compensate for the lack of free breakfast such as provided by many hotels. There are several other restaurants within walking distance, and a large mall across the street.

Room Tip: Ask for a poolside room if you want convenient access to the waterpark. If you want a quiet room, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saskadon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genoa, Illinois, United States
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Nice hotel....The hallways are very much like a maze...we got lost...lol Breakfast was good, not free, but they gave us $5 coupons. Lots of families as there is a small waterpark inside the pool area. The staff was very friendly, professional and we were very please with the room. It was large and clean and quiet considering all the kids we saw. Would stay again...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitoba
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Stayed here for one night as we were on a road trip. Check in was smooth and painless, and the staff was friendly. We got a poolside room on the ground floor. We were pleasantly surprised by how large and clean the room was, and that the sliding glass door did an excellent job of blocking out the pool noise. The bathroom was clean, and the shower area was separated from the sink area which made it convenient when multiple people need to get ready in the morning. The only downside is that the lights for the whole bathroom area are on one switch, which meant that the whole room would be illuminated when the bathroom light was on. The hotel isn't new, but it has been updated recently by the looks of things. Beds were comfortable and the air conditioning worked well, but was loud. there was no way to leave the fan on so that the noise of it coming on would be less noticeable. we wanted to lemave it off over night, but being in a poolside room, the humidity would have gotten out of control. The AC wasn't unusually loud, just average of hotel air conditioners. The room had a fridge with freezer, as well as a microwave. The pool area was nice, and clean. the only problem with it was that the outlet for all 3 waterslides, is in the same small pool used for general swimming. So there is really nowhere to just be in the water without getting splashed every time someone goes down the slide. There is also a small area for kids that is isolated from the main pool area. A few restaurants are nearby, and the mall is across the street. The only thing that is missing is a continental breakfast. but there is a Denny's on the other side of the mall. I would definitely stay here again for something like a weekend stay.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the outside are less humid and quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AC_A340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

First nights stay in the US on a sightseeing trip. Staff were very competent and cheerful, room very clean and up to date, AC worked very well at keeping room very cool besides temperatures outside over 100 F.
Only improvement needed was more hot water, or should I say any at all, water never got more than than barely warm.
Oh ya, if you order out for pizza from Bruno's Pizza(an off sight pizza joint) watch that you get all that you order, they stiffed us for a two litre pop!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler154914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Our stay at the Ramkota Hotel was very good. I asked for a new room, and the room appeared to be newly renovated. There is no continental breakfast, but the rooms were a reasonable rate. The only complaint was the water park. There was little supervision and it was a free for all on the water slides. They were out of towels too, so it might be a good idea to bring your own for swimming. Service was great- friendly people. The maids knock on the door far too early, yet there are no "No Disturb" signs. It is across the street from the mall so it has a great location as well.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the pool if you want to sleep in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank familytravelgroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bismarck hotels
0.6 mi away
Radisson Hotel Bismarck
Radisson Hotel Bismarck
#15 of 32 in Bismarck
589 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Bismarck South
4.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Bismarck
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Expressway Inn & Suites of Bismarck
3.0 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#1 of 32 in Bismarck
321 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bismarck Northwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramkota Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramkota Hotel

Property: Ramkota Hotel
Address: 800 S 3rd St, Bismarck, ND 58504-5728 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Ramkota Hotel)
Location: United States > North Dakota > Bismarck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 32 Hotels in Bismarck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramkota Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 305
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramkota Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bismarck
Bismarck Best Western
Best Western Hotel Bismarck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing