We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed Our Stay”
Review of Ramkota Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ramkota Hotel
Ranked #25 of 32 Hotels in Bismarck
Modesto, California
Level 6 Contributor
578 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 542 helpful votes
“Enjoyed Our Stay”
Reviewed June 14, 2012

We stayed here three nights while vacationing in North Dakota. We found our room to be very nice and it met our needs. The hotel is very large. The room was good sized, featured a nice bed and bedding, flat screen TV (we did not watch it), an easy chair for sitting and large desk. The hotel was very quiet. We actually never heard anyone around. We requested that hotel cleaning staff not do up the room during our stay, as in our opinion it did not need to be cleaned each day. Therefore, we had almost no contact with any hotel staff as we were not near the main lobby and did not need to ask questions regarding the city. The hotel features a pool and waterpark but we never used it or even saw it as it was on the other side of the property from us. We also did not try the onsite restaurant. We found Bismark to be a very pleasant city to visit. There are a multitude of stores, restaurants, the usual chain places. The city seems to be rather prosperous. Be sure to visit the Capitol building while here, take the free tour offered and also visit the Heritage Center (museum) next door to the Capitol. We also visited Fort Abraham Lincoln located near Mandan and that is a great attraction. Lots of interesting history there and is worth several hours of your time. I would have liked to see the Dakota Zoo, but we did not have time for that. The city has a few beautiful parks including one fairly close to the zoo. Very large, shady trees, green lawns and paths for walking or cycling. On Burnt Boat Road, along the Missouri River is another nice place to bike or walk. We would have liked to ride on the Lewis and Clark Riverboat but it was still not operational when we were there. There are other great sights not too far from Bismark including the Lewis and Clark Interpretive Center, 38 miles north in Washburn, Fort Mandan, a few miles from the Interpretive Center and the Knife River Villages. Lots of history in this area, centered around the MIssouri River. If you want an interesting drive outside Bismark, take the Old Red, Old Ten byway which starts in Mandan and ends in Dickinson. It runs somewhat parallel at times to Interstate 94 and takes you through farm country, quaint little towns and some interesting points of interest. We enjoyed the drive and saw the largest Holstein cow, a beautiful historic church in Sims, Ft. Sauerkraut, pottery and art centers, the huge and beautiful Abbey in Richardton and the entrance to the Enchanted Highway with a number of metal sculptures beginning in the town of Gladstone.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MSWMom50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    183
    166
    115
    83
See reviews for
304
99
22
241
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ushuaia, Argentina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 9, 2012

We were in Bismarck for the Williston Energy Show. We were very impressed with all the staff at the Ramkota. Housekeeping was very friendly and helpful with questions we had on restaurants, shopping and location of golf courses. (Incidently, the restaurant at the Ramkota was fabulous). Excellent job Ramkota!! Definitely will be staying there again on any return visits to Bismarck.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glea312855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Never written a review before, but after my experience at the Ramkota in Bismarck, I felt I needed to warn others. After traveling all day, we checked in and went to our rooms. They were horrifying. It was pretty obvious the rooms had not been adequately cleaned. Nothing vacuumed, nothing wiped down, hair all over in the bathroom, bed coverings with suspicious stains, trash found under the beds,...you get the picture. Piled the luggage for 8 people in the hallway and called the front desk and asked them to come take a look. Twenty minutes later...no response. Called again. No response. Finally go down to the front desk personally. They apologized and gave me keys to two new rooms and told me to check them out. Wanted someone to go with me to inspect the room, but was told that was not possible.

Second set of rooms were only marginally better. Certainly not clean enough to stay in. Another trip to the front desk....meanwhile our entire group, including 5 children is still hanging out in a hallway with all their luggage. You can only imagine how much fun that was. Now the night manager is rounded up. After inspecting the second set of rooms, he agreed they were not clean. I asked him what I and our group needed to do to sleep in clean rooms that night. 45 minutes later he came back to show us two more rooms. These rooms were clean enough that I didn't get the heebie jeebies, but certainly not first class, By now over two hours have passed, we are mad, hot & exhausted. We stay in the rooms. I would never want to again.

I stayed here two years ago and it was a completely different place. I should have paid attention to the condition of the hallways & glass areas in the hotel. They would have given me a clue to the condition of the rooms. To top it off...not even a piece of toast is offered in the morning. So expect to get breakfast elsewhere. In general, this hotel has obviously gone down hill and I would definitely recommend that you find another place to stay.

Room Tip: Check the rooms FIRST before you check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaNaye H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bismarck hotels

Lisbon, ND
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

This hotel is an amazing place with a great waterpark for kids. The rooms are clean IF YOU GET THE NEW HALF OF THE BUILDING!!! DO NOT STAY if you get the old half the building, those rooms are disgusting. The food is great, the pool area clean, and arcade games all worked. We always book a pool side room. Out of the last 5 times we stayed there 3 times they "lost" our reservation for pool side and moved us elsewhere. This was very discouraging as 2 times it was for a child's bday party. One time they moved us to the old part and we still got charged for the full amount of a pool side room. Another time they called our room and stated they gave someone the key that was staying with us but had lost their key, as if they were trying to get a pat on the back for their customer service. Problem was we had everyone in our room. It was a drunk person who had the wrong room number. Imagine our suprise when the door opened and a loud OOPS rang from the doorway. Not a huge deal, just an unexpected suprise.

They have computers that are available and their breakfast buffet is great when they have one. I highly recommend the hotel but MAKE SURE you are getting the room you are being billed for and confirm it at least twice. Not once did a manager or anyone try to rectify the mistakes. Considering how much we travel I figured they would see we stay their monthly and at least make an effort. Nope.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a newer room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GreenBean055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bismarck, North Dakota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

When we checked in the guy that helped us was very helpful. However, we had a hard time finding our room and when we got there the bed was broken (hope i don't get charged for this) and a lightbulb was out, also the TV did not work right away. We went to the pool and it was dirty. Upon getting out of the pool there wasn't any towels left. We asked a staff member and he didn't seem to care...told us there was some at the front desk. I walked down to the front desk to get towels in my dripping swim-suit and it was freezing. Then, the front desk guy told me he might not have any. Finally got some towels. Overall not a hotel i would reccomend. Only one staff member of our entire stay seemed to care.

Room Tip: don't stay in the courtyard...the rooms are not remodeled here and you can tell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dani R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us. I apologize for the condition of your room and the lack of cleanliness in the pool area. These issues have been addressed with our staff so that they can be corrected moving forward.
Again, we thank you for your business and your comments and hope you will give our staff another chance to serve you in the future.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandan, North Dakota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Had a birthday party scheduled for the 6th of May, was told that could possibly do an early check in so as to get prepared for the party. Showed up at 2:45 p.m. and did check in but pool side room was not yet cleaned. Amazingly however, when some other family came in to check in for their party a matter of minutes later their pool side room was available. Why didn't I get that room as I was there first I wonder? I found the front desk service terrible and the service was slow. I will definately not be recommending this hotel to anyone I know.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramkotagm, General Manager at Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We apologize that you were not able to check in to your room prior to 3:00PM. We are not able to guarantee early check in and regret that we were not able to honor your special request on May 6th. We do our very best to make accomodations for all special requests based on availability.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorhead, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

This is a nice, large, clean, well-maintained and comfortable hotel in a convenient location in Bismarck. Just had some difficulties this time when requesting service (fridge in room, noisy a/c unit, room not cleaned by 4 PM). The service was great once they got there, but there may be some communication problems among staff, or maybe they're understaffed. I'll continue to stay here, but I can't give it a higher rating this time.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DakotaTraveler10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramkotagm, General Manager at Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
Thank you very much for sharing your comments about your recent stay at our hotel. We apologize for the issues you experienced and will review them with our staff so that we can improve our guest experience moving forward. We are pleased that you plan to continue being our customer and hope to see you again soon!

Thanks Again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bismarck hotels
0.6 mi away
Radisson Hotel Bismarck
Radisson Hotel Bismarck
#11 of 32 in Bismarck
606 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Bismarck South
4.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Bismarck
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Expressway Inn & Suites of Bismarck
2.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Bismarck
3.0 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#1 of 32 in Bismarck
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramkota Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramkota Hotel

Property: Ramkota Hotel
Address: 800 S 3rd St, Bismarck, ND 58504-5728 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Ramkota Hotel)
Location: United States > North Dakota > Bismarck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 32 Hotels in Bismarck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramkota Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 305
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Ramkota Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bismarck
Bismarck Best Western
Best Western Hotel Bismarck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing