We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Newly remodeled, poor conditions” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Bismarck

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Motel 6 Bismarck to your Saves list
Motel 6 Bismarck
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2433 State St, I-94 at Exit 159, Bismarck, ND 58501   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 32 Hotels in Bismarck
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Newly remodeled, poor conditions”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

The newly remodeled rooms are very nice. However, I felt very unsafe staying here. The deadbolt to my door would not latch. There were people standing around in the dark around corners who were smoking, drinking, and yelling late into the night. I had to check on my vehicle various times to make sure everything was okay. The towel left on the bathtub was dirty. There was black fuzz in the sheets when I pulled back the blankets. There was also some hair in the shower. Normally, this is what I would expect for the typical low Motel 6 price. However, I paid a higher price than I ever had in the past and I stay and this branch often while traveling across the country. I could have stayed at a much nicer and secure hotel for 15 dollars more.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shannon k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motel6, Public Relations Manager at Motel 6 Bismarck, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear shannon k,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. The cleanliness and maintenance conditions you encountered are not consistent with our standards for quality at Motel 6, and we sincerely apologize for your unpleasant stay. Please kindly contact our Guest Relations department so they can have a record of your experience to help us provide you and our other guests with better service in the future: 1-800-577-3435.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    7
    11
    12
    33
See reviews for
15
21
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

This was the absolute cutest room I have ever had to stay in!! I loved the bright colors and the hardwood floors. Will always stay there everytime I have to go to bismarck!! And you can't beat the price. Was only $39.95 for my daughter and I, granted they were under construction at the time. Thank you for the kind service, and the great experience.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kersipma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waukesha wi
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Sure it is cheap, and the accommodations reflect that, I just wanted a place to shower and sleep. Fine .. But the drug dealing going on by the staff had me on edge, I'm no angel.. I know this kind activity when I see it. People with no rooms hanging out in parking lot until all hours waiting for drugs. Had to hide my concern from my family to protect them from fear.. it is worth the extra 20 or 30 or 50 dollars to stay in a place where you have peace of mind..

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank mattoman01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motel6, Public Relations Manager at Motel 6 Bismarck, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
mattoman01 - We apologize for your unpleasant stay. We take your feedback very seriously; please report your experience to our guest relations department so they can inform the appropriate department to investigate your claims and improve service for you in the future: 1-800-577-3435.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bismarck hotels

buffalo mn
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

A family of six wtih a puppy actually living in the room next door to us greeted us upon our arrival and told us not to complain about their three kids making noise like the previous occupant in our room had. Smoke was actually billowing out from underneath the adjoining door into ours. I spoke to management about it and she offered me febreeze for my room rather than actually enforcing their own no smoking policy. When she finally did come out with the febreeze she pointed at me and told the resident smoker that I was complaining about their cigarette smoke. Every other hotel in Bismarck was full or we would have left - refund or not. Inept management, sketchy clientele. Thankfully our family trip improved significantly upon leaving this crap hole.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Butler2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Rooms are supposed to be smoke free. Our room was smoky and blanket had cigarette burns in it. Room smelled bad (dirty and smoky). Floors obviously hadn't been washed for some time. Fridge was dirty. Could only walk on one side of bed which is not ideal when 2 people are using the bed. When concerns were
reported to the front desk right after check in and again at checkout, staff
didn't really care. Would definitely recommend avoiding this motel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tmc66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motel6, Public Relations Manager at Motel 6 Bismarck, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear tmc66 - Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We sincerely apologize for the odor, cleanliness and service issues you encountered during your recent stay; these issues are not consistent with our standards for quality at Motel 6. Please kindly contact our guest relations department so they can have a record of your experience to help us provide you with better service in the future: 1-800-577-3435.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

The room was tiny and barely fit two beds. It looked newly remodeled, yet the bed spread on one bed had a stain on it, which made me not want to touch it! I make an assumption that every room today should be equipped with Kleenex and a hair dryer. This had neither. There was a bar of soap but no shampoo. Additionally, the toilet paper was almost out when we arrived, and there was no other roll in the room. We had to call the front desk and wait for toilet paper to arrive. Shouldn't the daily maids be aware of restocking supplies??? The night manager, who was trying to do his best to help everyone who arrived around 10 p.m., brought a new supply to our room; he had no other help there to assist him.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sg-on-vacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motel6, Public Relations Manager at Motel 6 Bismarck, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear Sg-on-vacation - We apologize for the lack of housekeeping service you encountered during your stay. Regarding amenities, as an economy brand, we keep our amenities limited in order to keep our brand promise to offer great value and comfort for the lowest price of any national chain. We take your feedback seriously and will take it into account as we work to improve our guests’ experience with us. Please also consider calling our guest relations department to report your experience and help us provide you with better service in the future: 1-800-577-3435.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisconsin
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Pros:
Nice staff, she was able to handle a slightly inebriated Guest who was not happy. close to a couple of places to eat. Pricing Was not bad.
Cons:
Rooms were ok but could use a good cleaning. Clientele was not the best, we worried about our bikes for the 1st time on this trip. had to pay for the wifi, had to keep entering the password.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jlmccon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bismarck hotels
0.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#29 of 32 in Bismarck
3.5 of 5 stars 111 reviews
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Bismarck
Days Inn Bismarck
#22 of 32 in Bismarck
3.5 of 5 stars 486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ramada Bismarck
Ramada Bismarck
#27 of 32 in Bismarck
3.5 of 5 stars 483 reviews
0.3 mi away
MainStay Suites Bismarck
MainStay Suites Bismarck
#13 of 32 in Bismarck
4.5 of 5 stars 60 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Bismarck
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Bismarck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Bismarck

Property: Motel 6 Bismarck
Address: 2433 State St, I-94 at Exit 159, Bismarck, ND 58501
Location: United States > North Dakota > Bismarck
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 32 Hotels in Bismarck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Bismarck 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Motel-6 so you can book your Motel 6 Bismarck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Bismarck Hotel Bismarck
Motel Six Bismarck
Bismarck Motel 6
Bismarck Motel Six

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing