We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Typical Motel 6” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Motel 6 Bismarck

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Motel 6 Bismarck
Ranked #31 of 32 Hotels in Bismarck
Billings
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Typical Motel 6”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

All other motels in town were full, due to a major convention in town, so we stayed at Motel 6. They have obviously been renovated in the last year or so, but still absolutely bare bones.Floor was in need of sweeping, there was no shampoo or facial tissues to be seen. Our room had apparently recently been a smoking room, as it stank of cigarette smoke badly. on the positive side, the sheets were clean, and the beds fairly comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fivering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    10
    11
    12
    41
See reviews for
16
26
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed here because we were just in town overnight and wanted a cheap place to stay - but would gladly have spent the extra money to stay elsewhere (by way of comparison, we turned down a $99 room at the Comfort Inn for a $69 room here, and regretted it). While obviously recently renovated, our room was filthy - sink clearly unwashed, a dirty cleaning rag left in a corner, stained bedspread (which we removed rather than use). Trash piled up around garbages outside - which remained there for our entire visit - seems to indicate the management isn't too interested in keeping a clean motel. Walls are paper-thin - although our neighbours were just watching TV and conversing at a reasonable volume, we could hear every word of both. It's cheap, but you'd be better off spending the money to get a decent rest elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MAWJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nisswa MN
Level Contributor
143 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

Renovated recently, this Motel 6 is typical of the older exterior entrance motels. Room was clean and bed was comfortable. Rooms in North Dakota are very high priced due to the oil boom. We won't be traveling through here to stay overnight until the construction boom is over. A motel 6 in Bismark North Dakota for $69/night? Yikes. Given the prices of the other motels along the highway, it was the best we found. Smoking room (all they had) smelled like smoke, but not bad because the rooms are not carpeted. In this case, a plus.

Room Tip: Call or reserve early to get a non-smoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nisswatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012 via mobile

The rooms were average, clean and basic. But the staff was less than friendly and the kind of guests that filled up the place were sketchy, loud and made me not want to venture out of my room. Seemed like a local crowd, probably a lot of oil workers. The parking lot filled up and we were not able to park any where near our room which made me uncomfortable especially because of the kind of people wandering around...I was worried our car would get broken into. I would not stay there again. Note: if you don't travel this area a lot know that u need to call ahead early to book a room every hotel in town fills up every night. On our way thru the first time we ended up having to drive another hundred miles to get a room after already driving 12 hours that day.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Montana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

Thuggish construction workers partied until about 2:30 am. They were hanging out in the courtyard, drink in hand smoking cigarettes blasting "Tuesday's Gone" by Lynyrd Skynyrd on portable speakers at one point. I felt totally unsafe as there were about 30 of them. Took everything out of my car at night, and complained to the front desk. Terrible stuff. Don't stay here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jbbergan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pueblo, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2012

The room we stayed in had been recently updated and looked very nice, like being in an Ikea showcase room and it was clean. The room was small, only one queen bed that barely had enough room to squeeze between the side of the bed and the wall. There weren't a lot of towels. Very disappointing that we would have to pay for internet (did not opt for this). We were in a non-smoking room that was next to a smoking room and still smelled like stale smoke and was gross. There were only two pillows on a queen bed & did not have any more available. No breakfast was offered. Disappointed that I was not able to get a discount for being a government employee.

Room Tip: Ask about a non-smoking room that is NOT next to a smoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luciana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williston, North Dakota
Level Contributor
145 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2012

dont bother with this place. I told them not to bother leaving the light on for us again because it sucked!!! One clean wash cloth and hand towel for 2 people and rough towels John Wayne wouldnt have used to clean his boots. When I complained to the manager she told me the truck with the laundry was late and they were having trouble with linens. The floor was gritty, no carpet and when I got in bed i was worried the sheets weren't clean. never again!!!! They also quoted me the wrong price on the phone for the room. it is NOT worth a dime to stay there again!

Room Tip: there are no good rooms. they are all noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cindy k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bismarck hotels
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Bismarck
Days Inn Bismarck
#6 of 32 in Bismarck
4.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ramada Limited Bismarck Northeast
0.6 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Bismarck
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#29 of 32 in Bismarck
3.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kelly Inn Bismarck
Kelly Inn Bismarck
#30 of 32 in Bismarck
3.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Bismarck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Bismarck

Property: Motel 6 Bismarck
Address: 2433 State St, I-94 at Exit 159, Bismarck, ND 58501
Location: United States > North Dakota > Bismarck
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 32 Hotels in Bismarck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Bismarck 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia and Motel-6 so you can book your Motel 6 Bismarck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Bismarck Hotel Bismarck
Motel Six Bismarck
Bismarck Motel Six
Bismarck Motel 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing