We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No One Leaves Hungry”
Review of Kroll's Diner

Kroll's Diner
Ranked #18 of 180 Restaurants in Bismarck
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, German
Description: Kroll's Diner is a 50s-style restaurant serving up German and American dishes since 1972 with locations in Bismarck, Mandan, Minot and Fargo.
Restaurant details
Description: Kroll's Diner is a 50s-style restaurant serving up German and American dishes since 1972 with locations in Bismarck, Mandan, Minot and Fargo.
Medina, TX
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“No One Leaves Hungry”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We've eaten breakfast at Kroll's numerous times while visiting the area over several years. The food has always been really good and the portions are huge. The German breakfast menu items have been exceptionally good. The restaurants, both in Bismarck and Mandan, are spotlessly clean. The waitstaff are attentive and always extremely congenial - nice traits to see in the mornings. We liked it so much we bought a coffee mug to remind us of our visit!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DondiC5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    44
    12
    0
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs
Level 6 Contributor
382 reviews
264 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Yummy Food from the Old Country”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Always good food with large portions. Lots of variety with some German specialties that are impossible to find anywhere else. Fast service and reasonably priced.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mtscribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa, United States
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Krolls in Mandan”
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Set up like a 50s diner which is very fun, lots of memorabilia on walls, wonderful shakes with many flavors, great food, good specials - we had a two for the price of one shakes and two for the price of one burger baskets, also fun German food choices

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank spaingma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waunakee, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A step up from a truck stop”
Reviewed May 3, 2012

Our traveling group stopped at Kroll's at I94 and 83. The service was great, lots of friendly attention. I tried their "signature" knoephla soup. It was yellow salty boullion gravy with little square dumplings and no potato. Yuck. I had an omelet that was good. Our group ordered pancakes that looked huge and fluffy. Another had a bacon burger that was also good. It's basically a truck stop without the trucker amenities. The restaurant is in need of updating. The great service makes a stop worth it.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nobadservice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bismarck, North Dakota
Level 6 Contributor
552 reviews
379 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Another home style restaurant”
Reviewed February 10, 2012

If you want to taste some good German food, this is one of the places to head. They also have some neat specials. And great milkshakes.

Helpful?
Thank Glenn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kroll's Diner also viewed

 

Been to Kroll's Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing