We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“pleasantly surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in Bismarck
Moose Jaw, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“pleasantly surprised”
Reviewed February 26, 2011

stayed here on the return from Vegas for the night before heading home in the morning. For a budget hotel, I found this hotel very clean, the staff very personable and friendly and the continental breakfast?... lots and lots to eat including sausage and eggs...one of the best continental breakfasts I have had. I would recommend this hotel to anyone on a budget who wants quality as well.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TNT_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    103
    35
    12
    10
See reviews for
53
81
28
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Trinity Fl
Level Contributor
69 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2010

Had a highway rest stop coupon & called and asked if they'd honor it. Said yes , then when I got there , they didn't. Rooms were old with old bedding & furniture. If your on the 2nd floor , no elevator. Pay the extra $25 and go to a nice chain. At least you know what your getting.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 12, 2010

First there was alot of confussion at check in. I made the reservation with the hotel in advance. I reserved what they call the executive suite. That was the smallest room we
ever stayed in at a hotel. AC was very noisy. Refridgerator didn't get cold. I had to get a ice cooler and fill it with ice. Don't use washer and dryer at this hotel clothes will never dry.I had to hang them in the room to dry.
Don't go without your shoes on carpet was filthy. They give you no towels and they are so cheep and worn. You can hear everyone above you and going up and down the stairs.
We checked out early instead of the week we needed. Days Inn was much better.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexxus4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara de Samana, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed September 28, 2010

I booked through Hotels.com Made sure it was a NON smoking room. They gave me smoking and said it was the only room left, take it or leave it. Next to a staircase and first floor. I heard every footstep upstairs, very noisy and like sleeping in an ashtray. AVOID THIS!!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ross142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SelectInnBisGM, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 14, 2010
The room was booked through Expedia and they cannot see our room inventory. They overbooked our non-smoking rooms. We do our best to accomodate our guests, but reserving a non-smoking room is a request and not guaranteed due to availability issues. Our desk clerk did offer the guest an ozone machine which takes all the odors out of the room, but the guest declined. I spoke with the guest over the phone and offered some compensation, but was also declined because it wasn't worth their time. Unfortunately, we tried to make things right with the guest but didn't have any success.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2010

We stayed here one night as part of a 4-day cross country move with our two cats. We hoped for somewhere close to I-94, clean, comfortable and pet-friendly. We chose this motel based on TA reviews and on Select Inn's claims that they accept pets.

We reserved a room with king bed 3 weeks in advance and specifically told them at the time that we were traveling with 2 cats. We agreed to pay an extra pet fee and damage deposit.

Strike One: We arrived around 6PM. Upon check-in we were told that a mistake had been made and there were no king-bed/pets allowed rooms. We were "lucky", they told us, that there was a smaller room available. In other words, if we had arrived later and no pet-allowed rooms were available, they would have turned us away despite the fact that, when we made our reservations, we made it clear we would have cats with us.

Strike Two: The room was on the second floor of a building with no elevators. We had to haul everything including the cats and their kennels around the parking lot and up stairs. Anyone who cannot handle stairs should be wary of this place because, at no time during the reservation process do they inform you about the lack of elevators, and, in our experience, do not do a good job of honoring specific reservations.

Strike 3: Our room was very poorly furnished. The fixtures were outdated and cheap. The refrigerator was wobbly and barely cooled anything. The carpet was slightly damp.The room was drab, dark and depressing. The air conditioning was very noisy but barely adequate to remove the humidity from the air. We could not wait to get out of there.

I peeked in other rooms with open doors and came away with the impression that the "pet friendly" rooms are nowhere near as nice as the non-pet rooms, even though we were paying more for staying with pets.

We stayed in 3 other motels on this trip, and Select Inn was the only one where we were made to feel unwelcome, overcharged and were given distinctly inferior accommodations because of our pets. There are some motels out there that do a good job of accommodating travelers with pets; Select Inn is not one of them.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyLa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2010

On our USA road trip we've now stayed at many places, and this was an average place.
Highlights: clean, near freeway, semi modern town wi lots of places to eat
Low: beds are creaky and uncomfortable, staff booked us into an occupied room (uuuhh), air co could now be turned on at night due to it being loud

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
127 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2010

This place was definitely the cleanest budget hotel I have ever stayed at. It was amazing - everything was spotless. The room was nice and fairly recently renovated. One slight drawback is their parking lot is a bit small so if the place is full (like when we were there) you will probably have to park a ways from your room unless you arrive early.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sukhoi_584th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bismarck hotels
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Bismarck
Days Inn Bismarck
#5 of 32 in Bismarck
4.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
1.8 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Bismarck
0.7 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#1 of 32 in Bismarck
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Bismarck
0.1 mi away
Ramada Bismarck
Ramada Bismarck
#16 of 32 in Bismarck
3.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Bismarck
Hampton Inn Bismarck
#4 of 32 in Bismarck
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn & Suites

Property: Americas Best Value Inn & Suites
Address: 1505 Interchange Ave, I-94 & US 83, Bismarck, ND 58501-2080 (Formerly Select Inn Bismarck)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Dakota > Bismarck
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bismarck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Select Inn Bismarck Hotel Bismarck
Select Hotel Bismarck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing