We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but pricey and strict rules”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Suites By Carlson, Bismarck
Ranked #23 of 32 Hotels in Bismarck
Chicago
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Nice, but pricey and strict rules”
Reviewed August 6, 2010

We were travelling with our 7 year old and our dog. We happened to be driving through North Dakota during a very busy time with lots of conventions in town and Sturgess, so all the "pet friendly" labelled hotels were booked up. The $130 rate was much more than we normally pay for a quick overnight stop. The hotel is very nice, spacious and clean with comfortable beds and pillows. The TV was new, but would not let you turn the volume up loud enough to actually hear anything. There are very strict rules here. You have to sign several waivers in order to stay , and there are rule signs in giant lettering posted at every entrance and in every hall way. But since our only choice was to stay here or sleep in the car we had to stay here. (We smuggled our small, well behaved, hypoallergenic dog in, wrapped in a beachtowel and then left at 3am so no one would see. I know, it's wrong but we couldn't leave her in the car all night!)
The waterslide/pool area was very nice and clean. Our daughter had lots of fun. The toilet in the pool area was completely plugged and flooded, and though several people brought it to the front desk's attention nothing was done about it for our entire stay. Also, the front desk people were very cold and unwelcoming and gave you a big lecture about all their rules before you even get your key. I felt like I was paying $130 a night to stay in someone's prison camp. I would not stay here again if I could at all avoid it.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChicagoMom2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    57
    41
    35
    29
See reviews for
154
36
5
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights. The staff at this hotel is wonderful, the kids had lots of fun at the waterslide and pool and the breakfast is one of the best continental breakfast I have ever had.Our room had a king sized bed in one room and sofa bed in the other room, it wasn't the most spacious room but it was well set up for the size. My only complaint with our room would be that the air conditioner was in the bedroom so when you closed the door it was very cold in one room but too warm in the other room. I would definently stay at this hotel again

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rae-lynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina SK
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2010

Have stayed here several times, usually with one or two other couples booking rooms there too. It's always been pleasant but service this time was even better, & all the staff we met were friendly & helpful. Pricier than staying in AZ or NV but definitely one of the best values in the Dakotas.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyDriver2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2010

Spent three nights at the hotel with my family (husband and two young children) and our friends (husband, wife and one young child). The hotel was in a great location, very easy to get to the malls and the zoo. The staff at the hotel were extra friendly and were able to give us easy directions to everywhere we asked. The staff were also able to recommend great places to eat and visit while in the city. The hotel room was clean, comfortable and quite. The kids loved the pool, kiddy pool and the waterslide. It was busy over the weekend, but the staff were always checking the area , cleaning and replacing the pool towels as needed. Planning to stay here again in the fall.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canadian_Cutiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIlliston
1 review
Reviewed March 7, 2010

I stayed one night with my wife on our anniversary and the noise was outrageous. We had a whirlpool suite and it was not worth the money I spent. The whirlpool was more like a light breeze and the mattress needs to be changed! The only real positive was the friendly staff!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dsanford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bismarck hotels

ND
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2009

spent one night after a long day traveling. the staff was great. the room was nice. the bed was comfortable. it was quiet and the next morning the breakfast was good. lots of choices. also, close to places to eat.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank win300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina SK
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2009

We usually stat here, close to Super Walmart, Applebee's, Space Aliens, other restaraunts. Rooms are basic but spacious, we have a sitting area in case we have friends over. Breakfast is good. Hotel is usually quiet & there's lots of parking. Since we're Canadian, we're usually there for the shopping & to visit friends. We've tried other hotels in Bismarck, they were noisy or had a bar or convention centre. This one costs a little more but the conveniences are worth it, & the staff has always been good.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyDriver2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bismarck hotels
1.0 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Bismarck
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#1 of 32 in Bismarck
348 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Bismarck
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Bismarck
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bismarck Northwest
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Bismarck
Hampton Inn Bismarck
#4 of 32 in Bismarck
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Suites By Carlson, Bismarck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Suites By Carlson, Bismarck

Property: Country Suites By Carlson, Bismarck
Address: 3205 N 14th St, Bismarck, ND 58503-0656
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Dakota > Bismarck
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Bismarck
#5 Business Hotel in Bismarck
#8 Family Hotel in Bismarck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Country Suites By Carlson, Bismarck 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A favorite among families for its on-site water park and location off Highway 83 and I-94. The Country Suites By Carlson, Bismarck, ND provides the amenities needed to ensure you have a memorable experience. Guests visiting Bismarck, ND appreciate this hotel's proximity to great attractions like the Dakota Zoo and the Bismarck Civic Center. Start every day of your stay with the complimentary, hot Be Our Guest Breakfast buffet and a workout in the fitness center. While here, enjoy the heated indoor pool with a waterslide, a kid's pool area, a whirlpool tub, as well as a sauna. To recharge, retreat to your room with a microwave, a refrigerator and free high-speed Internet access. At this award-winning Country Suites, find the perfect blend of comfort and convenience for an unforgettable visit to Bismarck, ND. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Carlson, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Country Suites By Carlson, Bismarck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Suites By Carlson, Bismarck Hotel Bismarck
Country Inn Bismarck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing