We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average night at an average hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Suites By Carlson, Bismarck
Ranked #18 of 32 Hotels in Bismarck
Mandan, North Dakota
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Average night at an average hotel.”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

We took the kids here as a treat. Chose it because of the pool and slide. Check in was quick, but front desk staff acted as if they just wanted you to check in and get out of their hair as quickly as possible. Pool was clean, and had stocked towels. Slide was the favorite! Our room was an average suite with the basics such as fridge, sofa, tv-but we did not feel it was worth the $130/weeknight rate. The breakfast in the morning was good and included waffles, eggs, bacon, muffins, coffee and juice. Overall, we felt the hotel was pleasant but was not worth the $130-more like a $89-$100 range. If you have kids and plan on swimming a lot, then this is a great hotel for your family. If you are looking just for a place to stay it serves those needs but you can find a cheaper alternative.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Devin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    56
    39
    31
    27
See reviews for
146
36
4
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Great Falls, Montana
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night here on a cross country road trip. The gal was friendly and helpful at check in. The kids did enjoy the water park/pool. The one, HUGE DRAWBACK was the noise at night! What we needed was a good night's rest. What we got were outrageously loud and inconsiderate neighbors who stayed up all night. I called the desk at 11:30 and asked them to do something. The front desk people didn't even ask what room- I had the feeling they already knew. Which made me wonder why I had to lie sleepless, why they weren't pro active in dealing with the outrageous noise across the hall. It got quieter for awhile but all night every time they opened their door, all the noise spilled out.
We are making the reverse trip next week and definitely won't stay here (ever) again!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzyq406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlsonRezidor, online customer support at Country Suites By Carlson, Bismarck, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to reach out to us. We understand how important a quiet environment is and apologize for your noisy neighbors. Your feedback helps us prevent situations such as this in the future. We hope you will give us another chance if you are in the area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bismarck hotels

2 reviews
Reviewed June 26, 2014

We stopped her in the middle of our move. It was a great place for my kids to have fun. They loved the water park. The staff was friendly and helpful. Our room was on the first floor and surprising it was very quiet. The hotel was clean. The breakfast was decent. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillette, Wyoming
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Our room was dirty and old. Needs updating. The A/C unit did not have a cover on it. It was dusty and very dirty. The phone looked like it had not been wiped off for 2 years. We paid $150 a night. For that price we could stay at a nicer hotel. Our entire room would shake when they were running the industrial washing machines. And it was 3 or 4 times a day. Including 11pm when we were trying to sleep. The front desk laughed when I called to ask about the shaking. I was told they were washing pool towels. Apparently this was funny to them at 11pm?? The breakfast attendant was very rude and she was especially rude to my children. Make sure you count all of the bathroom towels they put in your room because they count them too and if any of them are missing they charge you for them. The only reason we stayed at this hotel is because my son's baseball team chose this hotel. We will never stay at this hotel again. The nightly rate is way too expensive. I'm sure the draw to this hotel is the small indoor waterpark but for $150 a night it's not worth it.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wyomom24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Benning, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviewed April 17, 2014

I chose this hotel because it was one with an indoor water park for my kids. We needed a break in the process of moving from Georgia to North Dakota. The hotel was very clean and had a warming welcome. The staff was extremely nice and helpful. We went on a week day so there were only a few people in the pool area. My kids loved the huge water slide but more importantly, they loved the hot tub. The pool was WELL chlorinated. My eyes burned just walking in there. Our room was nice too. We upgraded to the king suite with the bedroom separate. We had a family member come stay and my husband and I walked to Olive Garden that is next door. The beds were comfortable and clean. My kids enjoyed sleeping on the pull out sofa bed. The 2 TVs were a nice addition. I will be returning and recommending Country Suites to anyone who wants to stay in Bismarck. Oh I forgot to add that the complimentary breakfast was AMAZING. My husband brought me country sausage and biscuits. YUM.

Room Tip: The upgraded room with a king and sleeper sofa is nice. You can close off your bedroom door if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lilboss, Director of Sales at Country Suites By Carlson, Bismarck, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. We appreciate all the wonderful things you had to say. We are glad you and your family enjoyed the breakfast. We would love to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We arrived at this hotel the evening of Sept 25th with our Canadian tour group of 52. Our room was clean and well taken care of. The staff at this facility are great. And none better than a woman by the name of Joyce who treated us royally that evening and also the next morning during our breakfast. If all employees at various hotels were like her, this world would be a much better place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank klepper-geocaching
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biskcountry, Director of Sales at Country Suites By Carlson, Bismarck, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you so much for writing this trip advisor review. I am glad you had a great stay with us on your tour. We are delighted to hear that Joyice had such a positive impact on your stay. We will make sure that we let her know. Thank you again for such a glowing review.

Sincerely,
Rebecca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williston, North Dakota
1 review
Reviewed October 4, 2013

My family and I stayed here for 2 nights due to a medical reason. We felt so welcome and cared for! The medical rate was reasonable. The front desk customer service as well as the general manager were very friendly and the hospitality was more than expected. The environment was quiet and the rooms were very nice and clean. The family enjoyed the pool as they spent quite a bit of time between the pool and warming up in the sauna. The free breakfast had many choices. We went down there after hours to get the kids some milk and the cooks were more than happy to unlock the case and let me grab some milk for the kids. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biskcountry, Public Relations Manager at Country Suites By Carlson, Bismarck, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you so much for writing such a positive review. We are so glad we were able to provide a caring and comfortable home for you and your family. I am so glad that all of our staff took such great care of all your needs. We are all looking forward to your next stay with us. It was a pleasure having you as a guest.

Rebecca
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bismarck hotels
1.0 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Bismarck
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#1 of 32 in Bismarck
324 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bismarck Northwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Bismarck
0.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Bismarck
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bismarck
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Suites By Carlson, Bismarck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Suites By Carlson, Bismarck

Property: Country Suites By Carlson, Bismarck
Address: 3205 N 14th St, Bismarck, ND 58503-0656
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Dakota > Bismarck
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Bismarck
#5 Business Hotel in Bismarck
#8 Family Hotel in Bismarck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Country Suites By Carlson, Bismarck 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A favorite among families for its on-site water park and location off Highway 83 and I-94. The Country Suites By Carlson, Bismarck, ND provides the amenities needed to ensure you have a memorable experience. Guests visiting Bismarck, ND appreciate this hotel's proximity to great attractions like the Dakota Zoo and the Bismarck Civic Center. Start every day of your stay with the complimentary, hot Be Our Guest Breakfast buffet and a workout in the fitness center. While here, enjoy the heated indoor pool with a waterslide, a kid's pool area, a whirlpool tub, as well as a sauna. To recharge, retreat to your room with a microwave, a refrigerator and free high-speed Internet access. At this award-winning Country Suites, find the perfect blend of comfort and convenience for an unforgettable visit to Bismarck, ND. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Carlson, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Country Suites By Carlson, Bismarck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Suites By Carlson, Bismarck Hotel Bismarck
Country Inn Bismarck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing