We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent room, they want you GONE on checkout day!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Suites By Carlson, Bismarck
Ranked #25 of 32 Hotels in Bismarck
Rancho Cucamonga, CA
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Decent room, they want you GONE on checkout day!”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

This hotel is nothing fancy but the front desk guy was pleasant. Room on the 3rd floor had king bed room separated from the living area which had a sofa bed. Bathroom didn't have shampoo the first day but when the housekeeping staff cleaned up the first day, we finally got some.

We looked at the breakfast that they offer and went across the street to Starbucks. We don't much like individually wrapped bagels.

What I'm really disappointed with is the pool area is closed from 11 to 12:30 each day for maintenance. I'm a former public pool operator and maintenance for 90 minutes each day is bogus, bogus, bogus!!! They don't want you using the pool on the day you check out. Check out time is noon. Everyplace else I have ever stayed on the planet lets you use the facilities on check out day. This is a scam!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The4Monkeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    57
    41
    34
    29
See reviews for
153
36
5
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
270 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This hotel was a welcome relief after the horrible Days Inn in County Bluffs we stayed in the previous night. The hotel had everything we needed, fridge, elevator, trolley, a/c, and an acceptable breakfast. The beds were comfortable and the room large enough.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Feds294201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biskcountry, Manager at Country Suites By Carlson, Bismarck, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our staff will be so happy with your comments. We look forward to seeing you again the next time your travels bring you our way.
Have a great summer!

Tim Brick
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Room was fine, nothing spectacular, average price. Really nice pool area and water slide, but so many kids, we didn't even bother going down. It seemed like a sports team had booked a group of rooms, and took up the entire pool area. Got up the next morning for the "free" breakfast, and the same group had cleaned the place out. The lady running it, said, "Your welcome to whatever you can find left!" REALLY.....?

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank itsallgood-14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biskcountry, Manager at Country Suites By Carlson, Bismarck, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for staying with us, I appreciate that you took time out of your day to share your valuable comments with us from your stay. Yes, I agree some dates we do have hotel capacity with teams or special events that are hosted in the area. Our pool waterslide seems to be very popular with families, we do try our best to limit pool access with pool wrist bands that we provid at check-in time for some control. Our morning breakfast attendent could have been a little more helpful with providing you with some selections to start your day out.
Thanks again for your time.
Best Regards,
Tim Brick, General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epping, North Dakota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Checked into our room to find garbage under the bed. A pair of girls underclothes in the corner of the sitting area. Complained to staff and we were moved to another room. Loaded all our belongings up again, along with our small granddaughter moved to another unimpressive room. The manager was asked to call us and we never received a phone call back. Poor service, dirty hotel. We stay in hotels often, we used to stay in this one on a regular basis. We will not be back!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sherry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biskcountry, Manager at Country Suites By Carlson, Bismarck, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. I apologize for the housekeeping staff missing some extra items left in the room. Staff should have offered to touch up the room for you, that would have avoided the inconvenience of moving rooms. I will share your review with department staff so that we may better serve you, one of our valued guest.
Please give us another try if your travels bring you our way again, call me direct 701-258-4200 and I will be happy to double check the guestroom prior to your arrival.
Thanks again,
General manager
Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bismarck hotels

Bismarck, North Dakota
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed at the Country Suites and enjoyed every part of it. My husband and I went for a much needed get-away and thought the room was beautiful and service excellent! My husband especially enjoyed the breakfast buffet in the morning. He doesn't normally eat breakfast, but piled up with oatmeal, fresh fruit, donuts, and an egg wrap! There was also bagels, waffles, and much more. Would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biskcountry, Manager at Country Suites By Carlson, Bismarck, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you so very much for your wonderful comments regarding your stay with us, our staff is delighted to see your reveiw of our hotel. Have a great summer and hope to see you back soon.
Thanks for staying with us,
General Manager, Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epping, North Dakota
1 review
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Our room, by miscommunication, was not cleaned. They made things right with us and even offered to come and clean it at 9 pm. Staff was very friendly and helpful. We received clean towels, shampoo etc.

Room Tip: Rooms were nice, clean and staff was very friendly :) Have stayed there 3 times since November and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 223TomB223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biskcountry, Manager at Country Suites By Carlson, Bismarck, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Although we may stumble now and again, it's great to see that our valued guests are so kind in words. We appreciate the benefit of having you as our guest.
Thank you,
Tim, Hotel general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, South Dakota, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed March 20, 2013

The staff was very attentive and professional. The hotel was quite busy but everything was organized and the staff took time to be friendly and attentive to all guests. I definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biskcountry, Manager at Country Suites By Carlson, Bismarck, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
It's always wonderful to receive such positive responses, your encouraging words put smiles on our staff members, we want every guest to feel " Be our guest" hospitality.
Thank you very much!
Tim, Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bismarck hotels
1.0 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Bismarck
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#1 of 32 in Bismarck
346 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Bismarck
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bismarck Northwest
0.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Bismarck
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bismarck
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Suites By Carlson, Bismarck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Suites By Carlson, Bismarck

Property: Country Suites By Carlson, Bismarck
Address: 3205 N 14th St, Bismarck, ND 58503-0656
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Dakota > Bismarck
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Bismarck
#5 Business Hotel in Bismarck
#8 Family Hotel in Bismarck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Country Suites By Carlson, Bismarck 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A favorite among families for its on-site water park and location off Highway 83 and I-94. The Country Suites By Carlson, Bismarck, ND provides the amenities needed to ensure you have a memorable experience. Guests visiting Bismarck, ND appreciate this hotel's proximity to great attractions like the Dakota Zoo and the Bismarck Civic Center. Start every day of your stay with the complimentary, hot Be Our Guest Breakfast buffet and a workout in the fitness center. While here, enjoy the heated indoor pool with a waterslide, a kid's pool area, a whirlpool tub, as well as a sauna. To recharge, retreat to your room with a microwave, a refrigerator and free high-speed Internet access. At this award-winning Country Suites, find the perfect blend of comfort and convenience for an unforgettable visit to Bismarck, ND. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Carlson, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Country Suites By Carlson, Bismarck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Suites By Carlson, Bismarck Hotel Bismarck
Country Inn Bismarck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing