We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good time”

Kobe's Japanese Steakhouse and Sushi Bar
Ranked #17 of 179 Restaurants in Bismarck
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: As the first Japanese steakhouse to open in North Dakota, Kobe's Japanese Steakhouse and Sushi Bar introduced not only traditional Japanese food, such as sushi and tempura, but also an ancient style of Japanese cuisine, Teppanyaki, aimed at bringing the Japanese eating experience closer to Bismarck's heart. Kobe's is known by locals and visitors alike as the hip place to dine in, not only because of the food, but also because of the comfortable atmosphere and personable staff. Our guests share tables surrounding a large hot plate, where theatrical Japanese chefs whirl, twirl, juggle, flip and flame raw ingredients into delectable meals. We don't just serve the best quality of food here, we serve the heart of Japanese hospitality. Our chefs are professional and interactive, making sure that your experience is always our top priority. Whether you're joining us for lunch with co-workers, dinner with the family or a special bachelorette party, there's something here for everyone to enjoy. Come experience a fun atmosphere with amazing food at Kobe's Japanese Steakhouse and Sushi Bar!
Bismarck, North Dakota
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“good time”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Ate at the grill during a business meeting. Very funny cook. Enjoyed the night. Seafood was really good for being in Bismarck.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Drew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
management915, General Manager at Kobe's Japanese Steakhouse and Sushi Bar, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you very much for taking the time to share your recent experience in our restaurant Kobe's.

We are delighted to read that you had a good time ate at one of our of hibachi tables during your business meeting and the cook is funny and seafood is really good

Your comment is very important to us and we will make sure to share it with our teams.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.


Warmest regards,
Kiky Rizky
General Manager
Kobe's Japanese Steakhouse and Sushi Bar
Telp. 701 751-3088
Dir. 701 595-4507
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    30
    10
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bismarck, North Dakota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Would tell everyone to go and try it.The staff was great. Staff was friendly and attentive. We sat on the hibachi grill side and the food was good .

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marnie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
management915, General Manager at Kobe's Japanese Steakhouse and Sushi Bar, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind words regarding your experience at Kobe's.
We always try to do our best to make sure our guests have the best dining experience with us and it is a great honor to read that you "would tell everyone to go and try it and the staff was friendly and attentive and the food is good"

We are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon

Warmest regards,

Kiky Rizky
General Manager
Kobe's Japanese Steakhouse and Sushi Bar
Telp. 701 751-3088
Dir. 701 595-4507
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
262 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Much Improved!”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

I first visited this restaurant when it opened in 2011. At that time, the service was so slow that I thought I'd never return. I'm glad I gave the place another try! I really enjoyed the food, and the service was great! Kobe draws a large, exuberant crowd and is worth a visit when you're in Bismarck!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
management915, General Manager at Kobe's Japanese Steakhouse and Sushi Bar, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comment on Tripadvisor regarding your recent visit at Kobe's.

I am glad to read that our service much improved since your last visit and it was great! It is always a nice thing to hear a feedback from our guest and your returned visit to us is a celebration for our teams.

Your comment is very important to us and I will make sure to share it with our teams. We are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.


Sincerely

Kiky Rizky
General Manager
Kobe's Japanese Steakhouse and Sushi Bar
Telp. 701 751-3088
Dir. 701 595-4507
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bismarck, North Dakota
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent Fun & Food”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

I have been to Kobes many a times and every time is always a wonderful experience. I have sat both on the booth side and hibachi grill side and the food is good either way.
Staff is always friendly and attentive. Have never had a bad customer service experience.
The only negative thing I would have to remark about is when I ordered scallops on the hibachi grill they were very overcooked and rubbery which just made be sad because I had had scallops previously and they were cooked to perfection.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank amd2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
management915, General Manager at Kobe's Japanese Steakhouse and Sushi Bar, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your comment on Tripadvisor regarding your recent visit at Kobe's. I am glad to read that every time you come to Kobe's is always a wonderful experience, never had a bad customer service experience and the staff is always friendly and attentive.

However I would like to extend my sincere apologies that you felt the hibachi scallops were overcooked and rubbery.Your comments are very important to us and we will make sure to share it with our teams.

Furthermore, I would like to talk about your experience further and remain at your entire disposal should you wish to contact me.

I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Kobe's!

Warmest regards,

Kiky Rizky
General Manager
Kobe's Japanese Steakhouse and Sushi Bar
915 W Interstate Ave
Bismarck, ND 58503
Telp. 701 751-3088
Direct: 701 595-4507
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sushi heaven”
Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

I tried over 8 different kinds of sushi at once and they were all amazing and fresh! The service was fantastic and the place was very clean. This is definitely a favorite place of mine.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
management915, General Manager at Kobe's Japanese Steakhouse and Sushi Bar, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your patronage. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit on March 29th 2014 and tried 8 different rolls and they're all amazing and fresh.
Furthermore, it is a great honor to read that for you, the place is very clean and the service is fantastic.

Your comments is very important to us and we will make sure to share it with our teams. We are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely

Kiky Rizky
General Manager
Kobe's Japanese Steakhouse and Sushi Bar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kobe's Japanese Steakhouse and Sushi Bar also viewed

 

Been to Kobe's Japanese Steakhouse and Sushi Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing