We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Travel to the frontier days” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of North Dakota Heritage Center & State Museum

North Dakota Heritage Center & State Museum
Ranked #1 of 33 things to do in Bismarck
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: North Dakota's largest museum features four new museum galleries tracing the state's rich history from its earliest geologic formation 600 million years ago to today. Experience North Dakota's heritage throughout the museum spaces. From a life-size T. rex skeleton cast to a 1950s soda shop to rare beadwork, the North Dakota Heritage Center & State Museum offers interesting opportunities for you to connect North Dakota history with your life.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities
Golden, Colorado
Level Contributor
217 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Travel to the frontier days”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

A great exhibit showcasing the states' long history from the pre-historic age through the dinosaur exhibits, Indians to the settlers who came. It's interesting to see how they lived in those days in harder conditions compared to what we enjoy now.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank ex-globetrottingbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    286
    69
    13
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bismarck, North Dakota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just beginning”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

If you want to understand what makes North Dakota great and a special place in all the world, be sure to visit the North Dakota Heritage Center. Be sure to come back in 2014 when the Smithsonian of the Prairie opens!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank stan e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
73 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Place a good 3 hours on your schedule”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

This Center is by far worth the visit if you want to know about the Heritage of ND. I have been to this many times, in the past years and they keep improving and changing the facility lay out to keep you coming back,,,,well worth the tax payers monies...

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Story, Wyoming U.S.A.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice Heritage Center”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

We really enjoyed the Heritage Center and felt it had some of the finest exhibits we have seen in any museum near by. We did not find one part that we didn't like.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank karylynp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corry, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
106 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great Place to Learn N.D. History”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

What a nice museum! It is conveniently located adjacent to the capitol so that you can experience both of them. I was born and raised in N.D. and still learned several new and interesting facts about my home state during this visit. It only takes a couple of hours to go through it and is well worth the stop!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank pmgeiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed North Dakota Heritage Center & State Museum also viewed

 

Been to North Dakota Heritage Center & State Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing