We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable”
Review of The Toasted Frog

The Toasted Frog
Ranked #10 of 180 Restaurants in Bismarck
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: The Toasted Frog is a fun, inviting, restaurant and lounge located in the heart of downtown Bismarck. With a polished casual atmosphere and a diverse menu, The Toasted Frog has a little bit of something for everyone. Extensive martini, wine, and beer lists, along with a large selection of spirits from around the world, The Frog is a great place to meet friends for drinks. Our dinner menu is varied, serving appetizers, soup and salads, lavosh, wood-fired pizzas, sandwiches, as well as entrees. We have nightly changing specials, including fresh fish flown in each week from Honolulu, Hawaii. Whether it's a pound of wings and a couple of beers, or a nice steak and a bottle of wine, The Toasted Frog can accommodate you.YOU MUST BE AT LEAST 21 YEARS OF AGE TO DINE AT THE TOASTED FROG. We take reservations for groups of 8 or larger, otherwise seating is on a first come, first served basis. Open Monday through Saturday at 4 p.m., closed Sundays. See you soon at The Frog!
San Antonio
Level 6 Contributor
439 reviews
294 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Set up as a bar and it is a bar. At the same time, the menu pleasantly surprised us with its variety. Friendly service and excellent food. Located across the street from Pirogue; both are excellent choices for dinner.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Otto W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    74
    29
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Urbandale, Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A toast to the Frog”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Nice all around: nice decor, nice service, very nice food. My wife enjoyed the walleye and I liked the prime rib sandwich. Nice job, Mr Frog.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
567 reviews
231 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 407 helpful votes
“A really enjoyable evening with great food, cocktails and staff.”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Having read positive reviews for the Toasted Frog on TA, we read the menu while wandering around downtown Bismarck checking out other restaurants but the menu with the added bonus of outside seating clinched the Toasted Frog for us. The restaurant is very large inside and very popular with only around 8 tables outside on the sidewalk, which we decided to wait for. We waited for a good twenty minutes on a very busy Friday night but it was worth waiting for. Between us we had Chicken Noodle Soup, Baked Brie, Fish Tacos, Margherita Pizza, a Pasta Special and Smores. For drinks we had a Lemon Drop Cocktail and a Nutty Raspberry Cocktail ($8 each). The staff were very friendly and the front of house guy (so sorry we did not get your name) was great and gave us a complimentary cocktail to try while he spent time chatting away to us. Once the sun went down, the temperature dropped rapidly and we were the only diners who remained outside; they have only recently started putting tables outside but if they invest in some patio or wall mounted heaters, they will be able to extend the outside season and also continue using the tables after the sun has set. The bill was $85 including the cocktails but before the tip and it was all very enjoyable; we would definitely recommend The Toasted Frog and would return if back in the Bismarck area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelpassion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Always Return...”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Found this little gem about two years ago, and have been back every time that we're back in the city, which is about twice a year...good menu choices, great martini/cocktail menu, and service that tops most other places...will always return, and a great place downtown...

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uwreckme9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bismarck, North Dakota
Level 6 Contributor
291 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Great service”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Recently dined at The Toasted Frog. The waiter was great - his recommendations for wine, soup and dinner were perfect. Brick walls added atmosphere to the restaurant. Will return

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gshore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Toasted Frog also viewed

 

Been to The Toasted Frog? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing