We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Toasted Frog

The Toasted Frog
Ranked #10 of 179 Restaurants in Bismarck
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Toasted Frog is a fun, inviting, restaurant and lounge located in the heart of downtown Bismarck. With a polished casual atmosphere and a diverse menu, The Toasted Frog has a little bit of something for everyone. Extensive martini, wine, and beer lists, along with a large selection of spirits from around the world, The Frog is a great place to meet friends for drinks. Our dinner menu is varied, serving appetizers, soup and salads, lavosh, wood-fired pizzas, sandwiches, as well as entrees. We have nightly changing specials, including fresh fish flown in each week from Honolulu, Hawaii. Whether it's a pound of wings and a couple of beers, or a nice steak and a bottle of wine, The Toasted Frog can accommodate you.YOU MUST BE AT LEAST 21 YEARS OF AGE TO DINE AT THE TOASTED FROG. We take reservations for groups of 8 or larger, otherwise seating is on a first come, first served basis. Open Monday through Saturday at 4 p.m., closed Sundays. See you soon at The Frog!
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
76 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“great restaurant”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

I had dinner one night at the Toasted Frog and liked it well enough to go back for a second night. The first night I had their special of the night which was a fish dish with a side of bok choy which was excellent. The second night I had a filet which was also great.
They have an excellent selection of cocktails and wine. The service is well above average and the wait staff is very professional and attentive.
I definitely recommend the Toasted Frog if in the Bismarck area.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank tonkabayguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    71
    28
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montana
Level Contributor
73 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, poor service :-(”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

I really liked the atmosphere, but wow, did we have bad service!
Got there and were seated right away. Ordered a round of drinks and decided to get a dessert also. Drinks came quick (and were quite good!) and dessert followed, but then that was the last we saw of our server! We finished the round, and the dessert, then sat and chatted for probably 15 minutes while waiting to order more. We would have ordered another round, or 3 plus an appetizer and another dessert, but he didn't stop by the table. Finally one of our party stood up and put his coat on, and bam, he was there asking if we wanted another round. We just paid the check and left. Went to the hotel bar and had a great rest of the evening! We would have stayed longer, but our server didn't seem interested.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mtpiper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ND
Level Contributor
159 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Went down for a few drinks. Had a great time. Decided to order food. so we ordered walleye. Had way too many bones in it. We told the waiter about it and he said, it's fish, it has bones in it. Otherwise it was a nice place.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kohl0002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Forks, North Dakota
Level Contributor
115 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good Food for the Price”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

The Toasted Frog serves unique, quality food creations and price not too much more chain restaurants. They have a long and creative martini list that range from sweet to bitter. If you go, I also recommend order the Smores for dessert, well worth the price!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank DakotaFlyer2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Downtown pub with friendly style”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Stopped in for a few drinks on a Saturday afternoon in downtown Bismarck... great place with nice atmosphere. It was a little noisy for the amount of people in there, but the drinks were really good and the females in our group loved the large selection of specialty martinis available. Can't comment on the food, but the service was great with recommendations as asked for. Will definitely be back!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scooter1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Toasted Frog also viewed

 

Been to The Toasted Frog? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing