We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you are looking for meat..”
Review of Peacock Alley

Peacock Alley
Reserve with OpenTable
Peacock Alley is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 182 Restaurants in Bismarck
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $39
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 5th Street
Description: Located in the historic Patterson building in downtown Bismarck, the Peacock Alley American Grill & Bar is truly a Bismarck destination. The Peacock is a National award winning restaurant winning the coveted beef innovator of the year in 2012. Diners order from a legendary menu featuring an exquisite variety for all palates. The evening menu offers a wide selection of steaks to gourmet burgers and salads. Known for mixing the BEST MARTINIS IN BISMARCK, the bar offers a selection of 24 different tap beers. Whether sitting down for a memorable dinner, enjoying a cocktail in the sprawling bar, or hosting a group gathering in our private 60 seat Langer Room, the Peacock Alley is the place where Bismarck meets.
Fargo, North Dakota
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“If you are looking for meat..”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

I have eaten here once for dinner with colleges. Great food. I was talked into having the Cowboy Ribeye (not on the menu), which is a huge chunk of beef that was cooked perfect and tasted great. There is a resteraunt in the back, but the front is a bar atmosphere. The service was good, but nothing to rave about.

I'm not a big fan of the dining options in North Dakota, but this place breaks out of my general dislike of dining in ND.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jmak4man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    106
    31
    26
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Place.”
Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

hey wonderful place that has a great bar, wide selection of wonderful beverages, and a surprisingly good restaurant that seems to be overlooked by the locals. Classy, classy, classy place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MSPPJA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good lunch!”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We had a delightful lunch. It's a busy place, so the service isn't unusually fast, but the food made it worth it.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank SteveMirn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bismarck, ND
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Landmark Restuarant/Bar”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Located in the historic Patterson building in downtown Bismarck and has throw back decor and lots of historic pictures of Bismarck, nice old style bar. Under new management which has greatly improved the menu and the quality of the food. Thier prime rib and prib rib sandwiches are outstanding and make sure you get a beer bun which are unique and addiciting. Great for lunch and dinner or just drinks and apps.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jeff935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bismarck, North Dakota
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Miss the Old Peacock”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Ordered fish and chips. Took server 15+ minutes to come back and say no longer on menu. Ordered an Alley Cat burger RARE. Wife's food and the shoe leather brown WELL DONE burger brought out. Asked server to take back. Wife is nearly half done with meal when she returns stating cook will not prepare it any other way. Asked to speak to owner, server stated they'd gone to the Belle Mehus for concert. After wife finished her dinner we left went home had a bologna sandwich.

Helpful?
4 Thank pheasant16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peacockalley, Owner at Peacock Alley, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Pheasant16, I am sorry to hear that our server did not know the menu. The items you selected have been discontinued for a couple of years so they were not familiar with what you were asking for. Instead of saying no right away we train our staff to always try to say yes. The server tried to accommodate your requests but was unable to because we no longer have fish to make the fish and chips. As for the RARE burger this is also something we strongly believe in. We follow the USDA guidelines for serving burgers. It is highly recommended to serve burgers at 160 degrees to prevent e coli and food poisoning. We will not compromise the potential health of our customers for any reason. Our kitchen goes thru extensive measures to ensure our customers never get sick and cooking burgers to 160 degrees is a great way to prevent food poisoning. Cooking a burger to rare we consider too risky of a chance to take so we say no to that request.
We wish you the best,
Dale
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peacock Alley also viewed

 

Been to Peacock Alley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing