We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEDBUGS”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Expressway Inn & Suites of Bismarck
Ranked #21 of 32 Hotels in Bismarck
North Dakota, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“BEDBUGS”
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We were at this motel 3 days, 2 nights. The morning of our second night the sheet was partially off the bed, my daughter looked and noticed a bug trying to crawl back into the bed. We caught it, Used Google Images to compare the bug to a bed bug, and sure enough that is what it was. We brought the bug and the images of bed bugs off the internet down to the front desk, the manager swore up and down that it wasnt a bed bug and it was just some kind of beetle. Then another manager came over and looked and said yes it was a bed bug. They then half [--] searched our room for more and swore there was only the one bug. They called Ecolab and had us leave our stuff in the room to get sprayed, they had us leave the motel and return 20 minutes later, when we returned to get our belongings there was no sign of anything being sprayed. And when we were packing up our stuff, we found a dead bed bug on the bed. We had to bag all of our belongings x3, throw away all of our luggage to make sure we did not bring the little critters back home with us, any clothing we brought with was bagged and we had to take it right to the laundry mat to be washed and dried to get rid of any bugs on our clothing, we spent the whole car ride home itching and scratching, and then once we got home had to call our local pest control to make sure that we handled it correctly and that there was no way of them being tranferred into our home. For precaution, we had to leave all of our stuff outside. Needless to say, We will NEVER stay here ever again and we would advise other not to either. The one manager could have cared less that we had to throw our stuff costing us an arm and a leg to replace everything we had to throw, suitcases, make-up, baby formula, diaper bag, diapers, make-up brushes and bags. He was just rude. And not to mention wasted a whole day of house hunting, because we had to vaccum our car, go to the store to get garbage bags to bag our stuff, go to the laundry mat, and do all the necessary precautions. NOT impressed.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Momx4_x2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Expressway Inn & Suites of Bismarck, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Looking for a free night... First of all, they only registered two people to the room, but snuck in four more, trying to avoid the extra cost. The room was ABSOLUTELY TRASHED, including soiled baby diapers. It stunk horribly. It was disgusting. The guest brought down one bug in a plastic bag. The front desk clerk and the general manager together looked at the bug they brought down. The front desk clerk stated he thought it might be a water beetle, however the general manager confirmed it MAY be a bed bug and we should investigate. To make sure, we did a THOROUGH investigation of the room, looking between mattresses, behind headboards, along the baseboards, and anywhere else one could hide. We did not find any signs of any bugs whatsoever. As a precaution, we had the exterminator come in and investigate. They also confirmed that there were absolutely no signs of any bugs and due to the fact their was only one bug, it would more than likely have been brought in by the current occupants. As a precaution we had the room sprayed. We also agreed to spray the guests belongings if they wanted us to, which they agreed to have us do. The general manager also sat down with the guests for no less than a half hour, and discussed our findings with her. He comped their room, even though we did not find any signs of any bugs. We also gave her a check for $100.00 to cover the cost of her belongings. To say we didn't care about her situation is completely untrue. This is an obvious attempt to simply get her room for free.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    35
    20
    13
    9
See reviews for
32
36
8
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norcross, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviewed June 4, 2012

I travel anywhere from 500 to 2500 miles a week across the United States and I always look forward to heading back to Bismarck. When you are gone several days a week, the "Road Warrior" doesn't want to worry about a clean room, location and service, its expected. The Expressway Inn has deverything a high end hotel would offer without the high end price tag. The staff exceeds expectations every week I am there, the comfort, location, everything. If you are looking for business respite or a family friendly place with a great price, great breakfast included with the stay and a great location, no need to look any further.

Room Tip: Talk to Mike, the Manager of th Expressway Inn, he will work with you to provide the best deal for y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed here before catching a flight to Las Vegas. We chose to stay here because it was cheap and needed a room for 1 night. An older building that has been partially remodeled, rooms are on the small size but okay for a night. Walls are thin, listened to a guy hack up a cat for part of the night and next morning. Front staff were friendly and free breakfast very good. A free shuttle to the airport is available with parking at the airport until you return.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobbyO4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minot, North Dakota
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2012

I have never stayed in a hotel with such poor sound proofing. I could hear all of the conversations in the room next door. I also heard everyone walking by in the hallway. The breakfast room was also cramped and packed full with oil field workers.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank haskins5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpresswayInn, Manager at Expressway Inn & Suites of Bismarck, responded to this review, February 20, 2012
We agree that the breakfast room has been super busy and cramped recently. It is as if the majority of our guests are deciding to all eat at the same time, but with exception to that one hour time period, there is more than enough space and rarely is full. We will be remodeling our breakfast room to add seating for 16 more people in May of this year, which should help alleviate this problem. As far as the noise is concerned between the rooms, it is very rate we ever get any complaints about noise, as the building is constructed with concrete instead of wood. Normally, we get reviews and compliments about how quite the building is. The guest is correct, the rooms are being remodeled currently, and we are about halfway done with the rooms. Complete date is set for May or June, and we are excited by the compliments we have received so far regarding the new rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota
1 review
Reviewed February 9, 2012

i am repeat customer of Exppressway Inn. all the staff is some of the best that i have ran into. Friendly service, if you have a problem with your room (which in my case is very rare) they take care of it right away. It doesn't matter who you run into that work @ Expressway everybody there always treats you good. Highly recommend staying here if you need a room in Bismarck. Top notch staff.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joshuabosch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanley, North Dakota
1 review
Reviewed February 6, 2012

My husband and I stayed there for our anniversary this last month and the accommodations were outstanding! We stayed in the Executive Suite (Room 311), which had new furnishings with a cozy romantic feel. The front desk associates who checked us in were quite knowledgeable about the Bismarck area and were willing to give us directions all across the city. They were very pleasant and were very helpful. The location of the hotel is ideal, it is located directly across from a large mall, and just down the street from many restaurants. We cannot wait to stay here again! Many thanks to the Expressway Inn hotel staff for making our weekend an extremely relaxing and enjoyable one!

Room Tip: Our room was facing east (facing the parking lot and mall). It was even by the elevator, but it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AshCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garland, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2011

I've seen the negative reviews (there aren't many) regarding this place and most of them sound like disgruntled folks. Yes the place is older and could use a little renovation but it is a very clean and quiet place. Every time I come to Bismarck this is my home away from home. The front desk and management give very personalized service and strive to please you no matter what your request. You can't go wrong staying here. The only recommendation I would make is that they install curved shower rods in the bathrooms and use plastic shower curtains as opposed to those annoying cloth ones that always want to stick to you :(

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ketchikan2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bismarck hotels
0.1 mi away
Expressway Suites
Expressway Suites
#16 of 32 in Bismarck
76 reviews
4.3 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Bismarck
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Bismarck South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ramkota Hotel
Ramkota Hotel
#22 of 32 in Bismarck
786 reviews
2.5 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bismarck Northwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Expressway Inn & Suites of Bismarck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Expressway Inn & Suites of Bismarck

Property: Expressway Inn & Suites of Bismarck
Address: 200 E Bismarck Expy, Bismarck, ND 58504-6381
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Dakota > Bismarck
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 32 Hotels in Bismarck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Expressway Inn & Suites of Bismarck 2.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Expressway Inn of Bismarck is a smoke free-pet free facility located close to everything that you will need while in Bismarck. We are three blocks away from the Bismarck Civic Center. Across the street is the area's largest shopping mall, Kirkwood Mall. We are five blocks from the downtown area, and there are about a dozen great restaurants within walking distance. We are the closest hotel to the Cottonwood Soccer Complex, Clem Kelly Softball Complex, and Cottonwood Softball Complex. The Dakota Zoo is five blocks away, and the State Capital is one mile North of us. We have a variety of sleeping rooms, varying from Economy Single Rooms which are perfect for the cost conscious businessman all the way up to Executive Suites for guests that like a little luxury while they are here. You can also enjoy our 42 person hot-tub or during summer months, relax by our outdoor pool. We also serve a hot breakfast, provide free airport and hospital shuttle, and have free WIFI in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Expressway Inn & Suites of Bismarck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Expressway Hotel Bismarck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing