We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Menu Selection”
Review of The Bistro

The Bistro
Ranked #32 of 179 Restaurants in Bismarck
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout
Description: The Bistro 1100 – An American Café was established in November of 1996 and is currently under the sole ownership of Gerard "Mo" Schmidt a native North Dakotan.The Bistro defines the difference between eating and dining. Widely known for its regional Italian cuisine and modern dishes cooked over red oak on an open grill, the Bistro truly offers unique menu items that go beyond what others can only claim to provide.Our goal is to provide each of our guests with warm, friendly hospitality and the finest food in the region.Whether you are just looking for a delicious lunch or dinner, a private party in our Board Room, or are in need of our full-service catering services we are the premier establishment in Bismarck to meet your dining needs.Eat well, laugh often, live long!
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
218 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great Menu Selection”
Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

Bismarck has come a long way. A few years ago on our first visit to this city we asked at the front desk of our hotel where could one get a good steak. The recommendation was THE SIZZLER. Thank heaven for Bistro, a huge step above Sizzler. The Bistro menu is quite varied, from Pizza to steak and lamb. I totally enjoyed the wedge salad. The chicken and caramelized onion pizza was good but a little under cooked. Crust a little on the doughy side. Server was very attentive. Price were reasonable. We for sure will return on our next visit to Bismarck

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank BobD686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    38
    16
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bismarck
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Saturday Special for Burgers and Beer!”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

The Burger and Beer Saturday special is AWESOME! The food is delicious, the beer is cold, and best of all, if you want to start out with a bloody mary, clam digger, or caesar, those are on special, too! What a bonus! The Bistro Burgers are big and very tasty (they come with bacon, cheese, and lots of topping), but if you don't like mayo, be sure to let them know to put it on the side. They tend to be very generous with that particular topping!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SD2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bismarck, North Dakota
Level Contributor
79 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Bistro burger is the best in town!”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

If you are looking for a reasonable priced lunch with outstanding flavors stop in here and sit in the bar. If you are up for dinner this is exceptional also. This is a classy, top shelf eatery!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Went for our anniversary”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Went here for our anniversary , loved it the food was very good had the sautéed ostrich it was so good! Great flavor , very good service& atmosphere, prices not too high ,lobster bisque was very good! Highly Recommend Trying!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ella s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great dining experience”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

We took a group of people out for dinner and everyone enjoyed their meal. The lamb was particularly good. The steak and shrimp was very good, too. Probably the least successful was the walleye. Service was excellent and we completely enjoyed our evening.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Egon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bistro also viewed

 

Been to The Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing