We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“North Dakota Nice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Super 8 Bismarck

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Super 8 Bismarck
Ranked #26 of 32 Hotels in Bismarck
GreenLeadersBronze level
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“North Dakota Nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

An overnight trip to North Dakota on business had me take 1804 from BIS out to the Super 8 on Capitol Ave. A smaller aged hotel in a convenient area far enough away from the major roads for a nice quiet night's sleep. Several restaurants are nearby some within walking distance. A significant number of older hotels are poorly maintained and dirty, but this one was well maintained and clean in the areas I visited. I did notice some remnant smoke smell in the building but nothing I couldn't ignore. The room I had was plenty large and came with the typical accouterments like a coffee maker, hair dryer, safe large enough for a laptop, micro, fridge, and a wall HVAC unit that's a little noisy. There was no iron in the room, but they have one at the desk with a portable ironing board that was hard to work with. The building is a split level so the third floor is just a flight and a half of stairs and the outside doors are card access. Public PC for printing boarding passed. The free breakfast was nice with lots of bread products (cereal, waffles, bread, muffins) and half a dozen drink options. Breakfast room is a little tight but not too bad. Parking is great for trucks (smaller than semis). A man named Kelley (sp) was at the desk when I checked in and he was extremely helpful and friendly to everyone. Checking out I also noticed how nice and helpful the staff was. I'd stay at this Super 8 again, good accommodations for the price.

Room Tip: Get one that has always been designated non-smoking otherwise there seems to be some remnant smoke s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wrlang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    104
    62
    31
    27
See reviews for
99
67
33
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

The first indication of questionable behavior was when our credit card was charged two days before our arrival. We were then placed in a lower floor room at the extreme end of the hallway next to the exit and stairs. The exit door had been tampered with and would not lock out intruders.
We were awaken at or about 12:30 am by squeaking floors and feet tamping from the floor above us. The squeaks indicated poor construction, loose floor boards or the like. We called the night manager asking for relief. He, in turn, agreed to check. The noise continued until approximated 2:15 am before settling. Creaking and Croaking like a "Haunted House" making sleep impossible.
The next morning I asked to speak to management only to be told no one was available. When attempting to lodge a complaint, the desk clerk told me noise was impossible as the room above us had not been occupied. This was even more offensive since when we went in to the hotel, signs were posted on the door and at the desk stating there was "No Vacancy".

We are veteran travelers and normally stay at Super 8. This is definitely one to stay away from.

Room Tip: Take the third floor and stay away from the rear exits.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Don B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

Our stay was 4 nights with a black lab. There is no place for a pet to use the restroom, you have to walk down the street. The property was VERY dirty, cigarettes and trash piled up in the NW corner of the parking lot. Fridge in our room did not work properly, and when I told the front desk, all I got was... OK. I do not feel the need to pay a "pet fee" for a place like this. I will not come back here. Very disappointing.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tameez1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bismarck hotels

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

This is the first review I have written regarding the condition of a motel. However, I rely on Trip advisor reviews to choose a motel so, I'm going to be writing more reviews to help other travelers. We have stayed at several Super 8 motels and this Super 8 motel experience was the worst. The door lock was broken. The top screw holding the lock in place was 1/2 out of the door jam. And, when we opened the bed to go to sleep, we found a dirty bandage dressing and band aid in the bed. Obviously, the bed sheets had not been changed from the previous guests. I called the front desk and a gentleman came to change the sheets. The sad news is that he didn't make one comment about the situation; no apology or acknowledgement of a totally unacceptable service problem. The next morning the front desk did offer an apology and adjusted our room cost. They credited us $25 for the inconvenience. A room in disrepair, no immediate apology and dirty sheets was only worth $25 to this particular Super 8. There are several reasonably priced motels in the Bismarck area. I would highly suggest not choosing the Bismarck Super 8.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank CRtraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havre, Montana
Level Contributor
131 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

Overnight stay on a Motor cycle trip. I had made reservations which was good cause the place was full when I got in, through a hellish rain storm and was soaked and tired. Check in was good no issues and the price was good with Military discount..staff at desk was friendly and helpful..room was standard Super - 8 style...clean and batroom was clean..the hall noise was very loud around door..and you could hear through walls..other than that ok..and a so so breakfast bar nothing extra...I was a little disappointed on return trip a week later, called ahead for reservation and was told same room would be 94.00 plus tax..which was quite a bit higher than the week before, clerk also said was not giving Military discount because of softball Tournaments in town?? I thought that was kind of lame excuse..Anyway went to another class up Hotel for a few dollars more and got the discount..So will consider if I stay here again..

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ThomasA79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bismarck
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

We needed an economical place to stay for the night and were pleasantly surprised at how nice this property was. The ladies at the front desk were also very helpful in suggesting a kid-friendly place to eat dinner and some sites to see if we had time. Breakfast was pretty basic, but certainly acceptable included in the reasonable room rate.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank Shannon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Fargo, North Dakota
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

I travel to Bismarck every 3 weeks...and I have stayed at the Super 8 for the past 8 years...all I have to do is call and tell them I'm coming in and Carleen, Heidi or Rachel will have me registered and my extra pillows waiting for me when I check in..I stay at Super 8 twice a week for business...and the Wyndham rewards program is awesome for restaurant points...I recommend the Super 8 in Bismarck ND...a great place to stay

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank Tim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bismarck hotels
0.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites
1.9 mi away
Super 8 Bismarck North
Super 8 Bismarck North
#4 of 32 in Bismarck
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Bismarck
Days Inn Bismarck
#7 of 32 in Bismarck
3.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#29 of 32 in Bismarck
3.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada Bismarck
Ramada Bismarck
#23 of 32 in Bismarck
3.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kelly Inn Bismarck
Kelly Inn Bismarck
#30 of 32 in Bismarck
3.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Bismarck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Bismarck

Property: Super 8 Bismarck
Address: 1124 East Capitol Avenue, Bismarck, ND 58501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Dakota > Bismarck
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bismarck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Super 8 Bismarck 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Super 8 Bismarck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Bismarck Hotel Bismarck
Super Eight Bismarck
Bismarck Super Eight
Bismarck Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing