We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK, but needs an update” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Bismarck South

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Bismarck South
Ranked #27 of 32 Hotels in Bismarck
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
84 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“OK, but needs an update”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

Rooms are a little tired and the bathroom could use an update. Not the worst FF Inn, not the best. I prefer the HIE in Bismarck

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cs3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BismarckSouthFFS_GM, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Bismarck South, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. I apologize we did not meet your expectations while you were a guest of our hotel. I want to assure you we understand the issues you have expressed and are taking steps to alleviate those problems and improve the hotel for our guests. We hope with our continued efforts to improve the quality of stay for our guests, you will give the Fairfield Inn & Suites Bismarck South another try if you find yourself in the area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    37
    11
    7
    4
See reviews for
22
20
6
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minot, North Dakota
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

My son and I stayed here for a weekend get away. Our room was immaculate with extra towels and extra pillows. This was our first visit to Bismarck and the experience was nothing short of a perfect hotel experience. The jacuzzi was clean and the pool was fun! I definitely liked the fact that if I slept in and missed breakfast, Perkins and McDonalds were a hop, skip and a jump away from the front lobby. The Dakota Zoo and the Lewis and Clark Riverboat were only minutes away! wiFi was consistent and there was a decent cable channel lineup.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivagypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

We had a great stay here.The staff was friendly and the room, common areas, pool and hot tub were all very clean. Very nice special touches like cookies and lemonade in the lobby after a long day of driving with 2 kids. Great breakfast and comfy beds. We went by the previous reviews and were very pleased with how right-on they were. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mjtruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

Stayed here for one night on our cross country trip. The staff was super helpful throughout the stay. Our room was clean, modern and fairly quiet. The location is fairly easy from 94 and we walked to down town for dinner (~20 minutes). There are a lot of closer chain restaurants as well. Definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Casey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
182 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

This hotel has a great location with a great breakfast. The kids enjoyed the pool. Staff was great, beds comfortable. However they did not do a good job of coming into the halls at night to quiet down the kids from baseball teams. 11:30 pm is far to late for them to be up and down the halls so loud. Breakfast area is smallish, but well organized. Breakfast lady did great job keeping things stocked even when people were always in here way!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MTTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, MN
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

I've stayed at the Fairfield Inn South off Ivy Avenue in Bismarck, ND before and had a good experience so I returned. The typical experience, but on this last experience had to deal with stumping from the people above my room. I called the front desk at 1:30am complaining about the noise. The stomping and yelling continued for about another hour. Upon check-out I asked for a manager; who was not available. Told the front desk person about my experience and she promised to forward my complaing to the manager. I thought I'd never get a response as what normally happens (I decided to go back to or never go near a hotel based upon their response). To my surprize Matt the manager wrote me an email that evening. Overall, they will continue to get my business because of their response and follow-through. The hotel is clean, the rooms kept well, and it is located close to many restuarants, shopping facilities, and the state capitol. Minus the folks who behave badly, this is good hotel to do business with, and judging from their response, they will go above and beyond to take care of their customers. Thanks.

Room Tip: Pick a higher floor room to avoid possible stomping and partying from above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MKandLSaintPaul_MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

I always ask for a high floor room away from elevator and machines. In this hotel I was given a room on the first floor right off the lobby next to the vending/ice machines. Staff did not care about where they put us and the lady at the check in desk was not friendly or accomodating.
When we came back from dinner, planning to go to be early for an early start next day, it was impossible to get to sleep. You could clearly hear people coming in and talking in the hallway. The walls and ceilings of this hotel felt paper thin. Then people started using the ice machine and this added to the noise. Then some kid upstairs decided to run around and jump and made the walls and ceiling shake. This went on past 10 o'clock. And the noises started again at 5:30 AM. We did not get a good night sleep.
I traveled from Washington to Florida and was on the way back and stayed at many hotels both ways. This is by far the worst night sleep I got.
For every hotel I stayed in I got a survey a couple of days later. Not this one. No survey - surprise and so I decided to write a review.

Room Tip: Do not get a room on the first or second floor - it the person above you decide to walk it will feel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pah88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BismarckSouthFFS_GM, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Bismarck South, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Valued Guest,
I want to thank you for your feedback. I apologize you had a negative experience at our hotel. Guest satisfaction is our main priority and we are always looking for ways to improve. I would like to apologize for not accomodating your requests as they were noted and placing you in a high traffic area next to the ice machine. I have addressed this with my front desk staff and we will make a much greater effort to accomodate guest requests more effectively. We at the Fairfield Inn and Suites always want our guests to get a restful nights sleep and I apologize that that was not the case with your stay with us. I want to assure you that all of these issues have been addressed so that they do not happen again in the future. We hope with our continued efforts to improve every stay for our guests, you will give the Bismarck South Fairfield Inn and Suites another try next time you stay in the area.

Sincerely,

Matthew Moen
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bismarck hotels
0.1 mi away
Expressway Suites
Expressway Suites
#14 of 32 in Bismarck
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
3.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Bismarck North
0.9 mi away
Radisson Hotel Bismarck
Radisson Hotel Bismarck
#25 of 32 in Bismarck
3.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Expressway Inn of Bismarck
Expressway Inn of Bismarck
#21 of 32 in Bismarck
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Bismarck
Hampton Inn Bismarck
#4 of 32 in Bismarck
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ramkota Hotel
Ramkota Hotel
#19 of 32 in Bismarck
3.5 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Bismarck South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Bismarck South

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Bismarck South
Address: 135 Ivy Avenue, Bismarck, ND 58504-5765
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Dakota > Bismarck
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Bismarck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Bismarck South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairfield Inn & Suites Bismarck South is located near the Bismarck Civic Center, Kirkwood Mall, and a short drive from the Bismarck Airport. Some of the best restaurnants in Bismarck are located nearby, including Pirogue Grill, the Toasted Frog and The Walrus. Our Bismarck hotel provides guests with access to an indoor pool and hot tub as well as 24-hour fitness center. We'll get you started each day with our free hot breakfast that includes Belgian waffles, coffee, fruit, assorted cereals, pastries and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Marriott and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Bismarck South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites Bismarck South Hotel Bismarck
Fairfield Inn And Suites Bismarck South
Fairfield Inn Bismarck
Fairfield Bismarck
Bismarck Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing