We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very confortable” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Surf Suites Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wrightsville Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Surf Suites Motel
Certificate of Excellence
chapel hill nc
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“very confortable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2010

Wrightsville Beach NC has really upgraded. Probable due to all the storms and insurance money. No high rises in view and the beach is lovely, lots of surfers to watch. We had beautiful weather and the kids are all back in school so it was quiet. Great bird watching!
Surf Suites was a surprise, the one bed room had a comfortable king size bed, excellent linens and towels and great kitchen. The view , balcony, and pool where superior.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mwykcoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    52
    7
    4
    3
See reviews for
47
68
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2010

Lovely view from private patio area. We have a first floor room. It was set up to accomodate travelers needing wheelchair access so the appearance of the cabinets in the bathroom and kitchen were a little different than we were used to. King sized bed seems to take up most of the space in the bedroom but was quite comfortable with clean/new looking comforter on it. Extra towels and blanket was stored in closet as well as iron, ironing board, broom and rack for holding suitcase. Separate livingroom area makes it so much nicer to spend time inside than being in a regular hotel room. Can't wait to book out next trip and stay at Surf Suites again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WolfpackFan4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
94 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2008

We were in town for business, so we decided to make the most of our March trip to Wilmington by getting a place on the beach. Although it wasn't warm enough to fully appreciate the area, the accommodations were great.

The room was very reasonably priced at $79 a night (although the rates nearly triple in the summer months). Wrightsville Beach is a nice area, because it is more "homey" than other area beaches. There are no tourist shops or fast food, like on Carolina Beach, Kure Beach, etc. However, it is only several minutes away from the comforts of Wilmington.

We enjoyed just about everything about the room. You could tell it had been recently updated. It was clean and tidy. Probably the only shortcoming I saw was that they only had 2 towels in the room. However, you can call down for more.

I would definitely recommend Surf Suites for anyone wanting a beautiful beach side view and a comfortable room.

  • Liked — Location, view of the beach!!
  • Disliked — Not very many towels in the room
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank summerhydrangea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, VA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2008

My wife and I stayed here for Valentines. What an amazing place. The rooms was clean and smelled fresh. The staff went out of way to print out theater listing and directions. The view was spectacular. And although they didn't have anything to do with it, the weather was awesome. I hope to stay here many more times.

  • Liked — room, view, staff
  • Disliked — not a thing
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank FrankS35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
58 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2007

We were here off season & & got a great rate of $109 with AAA, which turned out to be a great value, since the weather was sunny & gorgeous. We asked for a quiet room & were given a room on the 4th (top) floor that was terrific. The view was simply phenomenal. Beach access was great. The place was well appointed, with a full kitchen, a flat screen TV, free wireless internet, a separate bedroom, & a spacious, comfortable living area & balcony. I had no problem with internet access. My only complaint is that it was not quite as clean as I would like. The bathroom was fine, but the bedroom carpet left something to be desired. That said, for a property of this type, I felt this was a good value.

  • Stayed November 2007
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Virginiawanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2007

The hotel has a good location within walking distance of the Oceanic restaurant and is right on the waterfront with a narrow buffer zone of coastal plants. The hotel did not match it's advertising and led us to be disappointed. Our wireless internet access only worked if we were outside on the patio (too far to use the service while plugged into an outlet), and the staff took their time in helping us to solve the problem (it didn't work at all inside the room and we were told at first that our laptops were the problem). There were also some housekeeping issues with insufficient towels and broken laundry machines. They did provide beach umbrellas and beach chairs for free, but the first umbrella they gave us was broken and I had to walk all the way back to exchange it. Overall an okay place but a little expensive in view of the low level of service.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank scarpaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Advance, North Carolina
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2007

We stayed at the Surf Suites Oceanfront because we wanted to try Wrightsville Beach. It was very nice and clean. I didn't really care for the layout, though. The bedroom was separate and in the back, away from the ocean. I like to hear the ocean when I'm sleeping and that wasn't possible. The pool was over to the side so you couldn't see it and we always enjoy sitting on our balcony and seeing the pool. The ocean and surroundings were beautiful, however. There's a nice restaurant right next door (Oceanic) but pretty pricey. We enjoyed the Causeway Cafe in Wrightsville Beach more than any place. The price for the Surf Suites was a little high, $229 per night, which is more than we wanted to pay, but it had a full kitchen. We didn't cook, though, so that didn't do us any good. The trouble is, there are only like a couple of hotels at Wrightsville Beach, so there's not much of a choice of where to stay. If you want oceanfront, it was about the only choice. I would stay there again but I wish it were more reasonable.

  • Liked — the cleanliness
  • Disliked — the layout of the unit, the having to walk, walk to get to the pool, the location of the pool, the price
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sukiedorsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wrightsville Beach
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
3.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire
3.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wilmington Mayfaire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Golden Sands
Golden Sands
#2 of 19 in Carolina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
12.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach
4.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf Suites Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Suites Motel

Property: Surf Suites Motel
Address: 711 South Lumina Ave., Wrightsville Beach, NC 28480
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Wrightsville Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 45
Also Known As:
Surf Hotel Wrightsville Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing