We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Oceanfront Suite” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Surf Suites Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wrightsville Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Surf Suites Motel
Save
You added Surf Suites Motel to your Saves list
711 South Lumina Ave., Wrightsville Beach, NC 28480   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful Oceanfront Suite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Extremely spacious suite, exceptionally clean!! We truly enjoyed our stay at Surf Suites in Wrightsville Beach. Great location right next door to the Oceanic Pier/Oceanic Restaurant & Grill. This place is not fancy, so if you're looking for all the bells and whistles it's not the place for you. There is a nice swimming pool (unheated) on the property and that's about it. We love the beach for its tranquility...and that is what we got!! Since it's located at the south end of Wrightsville, we were able to walk down to the very southern tip of the beach to the inlet. Lots of nice shells!!! The price for our suite was very reasonable. Hotel staff was professional, but not overly friendly. We had a large king size bed; very comfy! We slept soundly with no outside noises. The full kitchen even had a mini dishwasher! Full fridge, full stove/oven, etc. Living room sofa pulls out to a large bed; also comfy. The balcony is extra wide to face the beach. Two chairs, table and lounge chair were nice. There is even a sliding enclosure to pull across the balcony for bad weather. l would recommend Surf Suites to couples, families with older children; high school age or older...not younger kids since there is not very much to do for entertainment. We went in April and it was very quiet, prices were low, but the ocean much too cold for swimming. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RenaissanceArtLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    47
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
44
56
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Really loved staying here. Greg the office manager was very polite and a great person to deal with. The price was great during the off season. The grounds were clean and well painted. From being a handicapped person it was easy access with a ramp leading up to the office and elevator. Hallways are outside leading to your room. Now comes the room. A long hallways leads in to the bedroom with a King sized mattress. The bedroom is a private room by itself so folks can still be in the living and kitchen while you sleep. next, is the large bathroom with tub & shower. The the main living area and kitchen. The kitchen has a full size fridge & freezer, full stove and oven, and a dishwasher. The room also comes with cooking utensils and plates and silverware. The living area has a large couch, dinning table with chairs, TV, and the room is air and heat controlled. The balcony is very large with chair & lounger. Plus, the balcony has lights that you control with a light switch. No more having the lights turn off from being on a timer or when the office say's "Lights Out." OH! The balcony is also over sized with 2 sliding glass doors. If you are looking for a great place to stay, This is the place!! We will be back for Christmas & New Years. Thanks again Greg for all you did

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bubbie1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
398 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

My family and I recently stayed here for three days and enjoyed the Surf Suites. The location is quiet - towards the south end the Wrightsville Beach. The beach was very clean, about 100 feet wide and near a pier that is being rebuilt (March 2013) - lots of shells for the kids to collect. We had a ground floor room - the front half towards the beach is a nice living room area with a flat screen tv, small table with three chairs, a big couch with a fold out bed (the kids said it was comfortable) and a kitchen with fairly new major appliances. The back half is the bathroom and bedroom - these are a bit dated, but very clean and comfortable. There is also a small outdoor pool is you need a break from the salt water. The staff was friendly and we would stay here again.

Room Tip: There are four floors - the view of the ocean gets better as you get higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We wanted to take a last minute fishing trip at Wrightsville beach and ended up staying at the Surf suites. We had a wonderful time. The staff was very accommodating and the rooms are immaculate. They are like little apartments with a beach view! With the low price and the fishing pier going up next door, We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: The fourth floor has great views, but for the price all the rooms great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FishinEddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
202 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

The rates are very good. The staff is accomodating. The door to our baloney did not lock. We saw cockroaches. We let them know. They said they have the rooms sprayed weekly. We saw them the day before we left or else we would have left. Cockroaches freak us out.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marieds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

My husband & I recently spent 3 nights at the Surf. We've been going for many years and have never been disappointed. The rooms are clean, comfortable & quiet! The staff is always helpful & professional. The all ocean front rooms are perfect for "counting the waves" and relaxing on the balcony. The only negative comment would be that the kitchen was a little scanty on the cooking utensils. We will definitely go again & would certainly recommend this property.

Room Tip: The upper floors provide a better ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

The Surf Suites is without question one of Wrightsville Beach's best kept secrets! It's been a while since my last stay so I decided to go do some studying this weekend. The quality, service and front office personnel remain awesome. There is nothing like the ability to walking out of your condo onto your own patio, then out onto a well-maintained yard then out directly on the beach....basically secluded!!!!

The atmosphere is nice and simple. Then to top that off, there is the Oceanic Seafood Restaurant is right next door!!! TOTALLY AWESOME!!!

Room Tip: Bottom floor provides instant access to beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CranGoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wrightsville Beach
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
3.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wilmington Mayfaire
3.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Golden Sands
Golden Sands
#1 of 19 in Carolina Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 348 reviews
12.2 mi away
Courtyard Carolina Beach Oceanfront
4.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf Suites Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Suites Motel

Property: Surf Suites Motel
Address: 711 South Lumina Ave., Wrightsville Beach, NC 28480
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Wrightsville Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 45
Also Known As:
Surf Hotel Wrightsville Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing