We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great surprise, great value on the beach!”
Review of Surf Suites Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wrightsville Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Surf Suites Motel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 5, 2012

You can't beat this! A "motel", roomy with a kitchen, on the beach, unbelievable price, a pool, great service, cleanliness, amenities, and location away from other hotels. Could not have found a better place! Simple and perfect. Off season is the time to go!

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor because you won't get a full view of the beach and ocean.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Patty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
There are newer reviews for Surf Suites Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 172 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2012

Have a soft spot for animals? How about a soul? Then avoid Surf Suites at all costs.

Wrightsville Beach is a small, sleepy little town, especially at this time of year, and it's hard not to see and hear everything that happens around you. Last night, I happened to see another guest of the Surf Suites check in, lock his dog in a car, and promptly retreat to his room for the night. When I saw that the windows of the car were completely closed, I called the front desk to report the guest.

Despite their claim that the staff is "renowned for their friendliness and service," the half-asleep man who answered could not have possibly cared less. Yes, it was late, but at the rates Surf Suites charges, I would hope they can afford an overnight representative capable of assisting customers.

The man did absolutely nothing, and actually told me that, while pets are not allowed *in* rooms, they don't have a policy on keeping animals in parked cars, even if the conditions are unsafe, and wouldn't do anything. I was dumbfounded by his attitude and sheer complacency/lack of concern for the issue. If you can't even feign compassion or guest service in this situation, on-premise animal cruelty is, at the very least, a liability that should have been addressed by the hotel.

I'm fully aware that Surf Suites does not allow pets in the rooms, but that should not translate into utter disregard for the life of an animal being neglected on their premises.

Room Tip: Just don't.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
8  Thank Melanie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2011

This was a great place to stay on Wrightsville Beach. The price for an oceanfront room was less than I found at the other beachfront hotels and the room was clean and has a full kitchen! The only downside is that they only have king size beds with a pullout so it's not good for families with children wanting to say in the same room

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LovinLife47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

This rooms all face the ocean and the view is very nice. All the rooms but the ground floor have balconies. The ground floor rooms open onto patios from which you can access the beach. There is an elevator. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The beach is a very short walk from the hotel (approx. 250 feet). There were many surfers in the water in front of the hotel. The beach there had some large waves and there was a drop-off right at the surf line, so I would not recommend the surf here for children or weak swimmers. We didn't use the kitchen, but it looked pretty new. The balcony was nice in the afternoon when it was shaded, but in the morning it was in direct sun with reflection off of the glass doors so was too hot. The hotel has a small pool but the ocean is the attraction. Staff were very friendly and professional. We will return!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Warings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

Nothing to complain about here...nice clean rooms that don't show excessive wear, clean pool, pretty grounds, restaurant next door...first time here and I would go back. Front desk staff very hospitable.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NYNCVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for one night in July. We regretted that we did not book it for two nights! We were on the fourth floor and the view was amazing! The suite was equipped with dishes, utensils, and even had coffee filters for the coffee machine. We would definately stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank 1979Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

I used to live at Wrightsville Beach so I knew the Surf Motel Suites would be a great location for our family...and it was. We were happy with the updated kitchen and bathroom. We were able to cook nice dinners in the kitchen, so that was very helpful. The office staff were nice and gave us extra towels when we needed them. The pool was really pretty with a beautiful view and new decking. Our visit was so relaxing and nice and we really loved our trip here. The Surf Motel Suites is a hidden gem--I almost hate to give such a good review and have a million people start taking up all the rooms! With the location and the updates, you really can't go wrong here.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LoveToTravel1045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wrightsville Beach
0.1 mi away
Sandpeddler Inn & Suites
Sandpeddler Inn & Suites
#5 of 9 in Wrightsville Beach
137 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
13.0 mi away
Golden Sands
Golden Sands
#2 of 19 in Carolina Beach
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wilmington Mayfaire
12.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carolina Beach Oceanfront
0.8 mi away
Blockade Runner Beach Resort
Blockade Runner Beach Resort
#1 of 9 in Wrightsville Beach
2,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf Suites Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Suites Motel

Address: 711 South Lumina Ave., Wrightsville Beach, NC 28480
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Wrightsville Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
Price Range: $79 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 45
Also Known As:
Surf Hotel Wrightsville Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing