We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Surf Suites Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wrightsville Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Surf Suites Motel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 29, 2011

I used to live at Wrightsville Beach so I knew the Surf Motel Suites would be a great location for our family...and it was. We were happy with the updated kitchen and bathroom. We were able to cook nice dinners in the kitchen, so that was very helpful. The office staff were nice and gave us extra towels when we needed them. The pool was really pretty with a beautiful view and new decking. Our visit was so relaxing and nice and we really loved our trip here. The Surf Motel Suites is a hidden gem--I almost hate to give such a good review and have a million people start taking up all the rooms! With the location and the updates, you really can't go wrong here.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LoveToTravel1045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
There are newer reviews for Surf Suites Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 172 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2011

Can't be beat for location or price. This place is the farthest south of any hotel, so most of your neighbors out on the beach are either local homeowners or local surfers. Even on the heavy-traffic 4th of July weekend, the beach out in front of the Surf was full, but nothing compared to the 4 deep crowds down at Johnny Mercer pier.

In-room accommodations are just what you need and nothing you don't. No annoying, space-hogging, nautical bric-a-brac. Rooms are clean and have great beachfront balconies. Staff is friendly, but almost undetectably discrete. You go to the beach in the mid-morning and by the time you come back for lunch, your room is spic and span!

We've stayed at the other on-island "hotel" choices (Holiday Inn and Blockade Runner) and, though they're solid options, they simply can't match the location and price you get at the Surf.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AllHatNoSteers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2011

Just a two night stay to get out of the city but could not ask for more. Awsome few, on the beach, seperate bedroom suite w/ wonderful kitchen. Staff on site 24 hr & very on top of it. Will be back for sure.

Room Tip: Up top for best view.
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank uncl01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2011

Really enjoyed our stay on the beach in Wrightsville. The staff were welcoming and helpful, and the suite was roomy, quiet, and comfortable. Had a terrific view of the sunsets and a full kitchen to make it convenient to enjoy our breakfast and evening wine on the balcony.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LetsgoGeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2010

We enjoyed our stay in Wrightsville Beach and especially liked watching surfers in the waves just outside of our hotel room. The large balcony looking over the dunes and waves was a bonus. Our room was spotless, the bed comfortable and the kitchen adequate and updated. I would recommend Surf Motel Suites to anyone looking for a beach get-away near great restaurants. The staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Indeedboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2010

The Surf Suites are truly a hidden gem. Located at the south end of the island right next to Crystal Pier and the Oceanic restaurant, there are no high rise mega hotels full of noisy people and ill-behaved children to disrupt the peace and calm or obscure the views of Wrightsville Beach. Having lived in Wilmington as a young child, staying at the Surf brought back loads of memories of how WB was before Shell Island and the development of the north end of the beach.

The rooms are clean and nicely appointed and the staff treated us with good old-fashioned southern hospitality. The views of the beach are spectacular and it is a short walk through the back yard before your toes are in the sand. The kitchen has all of the basics to include filters for the coffee maker. My mom stopped by ahead of our arrival and we had coffee and champagne in the room when we got there. There are plenty of stores in the area to pick up a little wine and cheese on your way over. The room had a wine opener, etc so there wasn't any need to pick these items up.

For those who can't stay away from work (like us) there is free wireless internet. We caught the news in the mornings on the flat screen TV. If the salt and sand isn't your thing, there is a pool with lounge chairs and a view of the ocean (we opted for the saltwater).

If you are looking to go out for breakfast in the morning, we recommend the Causeway Cafe next to Redix and the drawbridge. For dinner, there are LOADS of great restaurants in Wilmington and Wrightsville Beach. Downtown Wilmington is a great place to check out. We recommend going down in the late afternoon and walking around the historic waterfront before ducking into any one of a number of fantastic restaurants within 2 blocks of the Cape Fear River.

We had a truly relaxing, enjoyable stay and will certainly be returning every chance we get in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TarheelMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2010

Wrightsville Beach NC has really upgraded. Probable due to all the storms and insurance money. No high rises in view and the beach is lovely, lots of surfers to watch. We had beautiful weather and the kids are all back in school so it was quiet. Great bird watching!
Surf Suites was a surprise, the one bed room had a comfortable king size bed, excellent linens and towels and great kitchen. The view , balcony, and pool where superior.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mwykcoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wrightsville Beach
0.1 mi away
Sandpeddler Inn & Suites
Sandpeddler Inn & Suites
#5 of 9 in Wrightsville Beach
138 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
13.0 mi away
Golden Sands
Golden Sands
#2 of 19 in Carolina Beach
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wilmington Mayfaire
12.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carolina Beach Oceanfront
0.8 mi away
Blockade Runner Beach Resort
Blockade Runner Beach Resort
#1 of 9 in Wrightsville Beach
2,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf Suites Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Suites Motel

Address: 711 South Lumina Ave., Wrightsville Beach, NC 28480
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Wrightsville Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
Price Range: $79 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 45
Also Known As:
Surf Hotel Wrightsville Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing