We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect! Love the view and perks!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shell Island Resort
Certificate of Excellence
durham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect! Love the view and perks!”
Reviewed May 15, 2009

Had a wonderful time, loved all the perks, indoor pool, outdoor pool, restaurant, hotel shop, etc...

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beachloverdurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,024 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    441
    294
    143
    89
    57
See reviews for
429
255
29
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new jersey
1 review
Reviewed May 14, 2009

Shell Island Resort is a great location, right on the beach, and is at the northernmost end of Wrightsville Beach, very private. It offers beautiful views from the room. The free breakfast was a daily treat. It has clean rooms and we found the staff to be friendly and accomodating. It was being renovated in December 2008 and we look forward to the updates when we return in May 2009.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jokey60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland OH
1 review
Reviewed May 14, 2009

Booked room to take daughter and her roommate for some early-May, post-college beach time. Room had great view and laid out nicely with access to a half-bath. Renovations to hotel have made a huge improvemen from what may have been a dated interior; lobby and common rooms nicely done and contemporary. Staff was great. Experience very different from many of the negative reviews; staff were polite and tried to be accommodating, WiFi was free and worked fine, water had very little taste/scent, room and common areas very clean, location on end of beach fantastic for lower traffic. We wanted to go into Wilmington for dinner, so modest restaurant on-site was adequate for occasional lunch. Good value for price.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom-Go-Blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed May 14, 2009

We, like everyone else, thought the present economic situation meant NO VACATION. But - we really wanted to get away. So, we looked for a place that we could drive to and wouldn't require extra travel days or added airline expense. Boy, did we find it! Our family went to Shell Island Resort on Wrightsville Beach. I call it Wilmington, NC, but the beach is called Wrightsville. We only had Friday off, so we wanted to make the most of our three day weekend. We had a great weekend. The hotel is beautiful. All condos, great views, two pools (indoor and outdoor), plus a poolside Tiki Bar that me and my husband thoroughly enjoyed! The hotel is still undergoing a renovation and the front of the hotel is pretty much a mess. However, once inside, you can forget all about the construction. The service is very friendly, the condos (rooms) all have a bedroom and a living room with a fold out sofa. TV's in both rooms, which we really need with teenagers. We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bettysmom_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gibbstrips
1 review
Reviewed May 6, 2009

From a straight beach point of view, this might be the best place on the island. However, the rooms are small and individually owned. We ask for the same room every time, 612. This has a king bed and has been recently renovated. There are a couple of other updated units, we just don't know the number. Have fun. Enjoy the beach and great island.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gibbstrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
1 review
Reviewed April 20, 2009

My husband and I aren't used to staying in 600 sq. ft. so felt a bit cramped. Being on the 1st floor was a plus for us because we could walk a few steps to the pool and walkway to the beach. The beach is fabulous! The noise in the parking garage was bothersome and on Monday, the jackhammer was going full force in the hot tub. They are really under construction and I wouldn't recommend visiting during the week for a while. The price is definitely attractive considering its Wrightsville. There were many families and several wedding parties. I would recommend it with reservation. Know what you are getting. Most units are individually owned so some are not as nice as others.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NCgramoffour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington
2 reviews
Reviewed April 5, 2009

The hotel has great location, wonderful staff, but the water was AWEFUL. I dont know what the hotel can do but they need to either hound Wrightsville Beach Utilities to improve water quality or install a water treatment device. it was so bad when my wife was running a shower, the stinch permiated the entire place. I couldnt wait to get home and take a shower, also if you are going in the next couple of weeks be aware of renovations taking place. other than that, its a good place to stay, a bit pricey for the current situations there though.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WILLBMUSIC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wrightsville Beach
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
3.4 mi away
Sandpeddler Inn & Suites
Sandpeddler Inn & Suites
#6 of 9 in Wrightsville Beach
137 reviews
15.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wilmington Mayfaire
15.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carolina Beach Oceanfront
3.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shell Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shell Island Resort

Property: Shell Island Resort
Address: 2700 Lumina Ave N, Wrightsville Beach, NC 28480-1699
Location: United States > North Carolina > Wrightsville Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shell Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the northern tip of Wrightsville Beach, Shell Island Resort is surrounded by a sprawling expanse of sand and unparalleled views of the Atlantic Ocean, Mason’s Inlet, and Figure Eight Island. This family-friendly resort and hotel boasts a front row seat to the beckoning sea and a beach that seems to stretch endlessly, making it feel like it is yours alone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Shell Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shell Island Oceanfront Hotel
Shell Island Oceanfront Resort
Wrightsville Beach Shell Island Resort
Shell Island Resort Nc
Shell Island North Carolina
Shell Island Hotel
Shell Island Nc
Shell Island Resort North Carolina
Shell Isl All Oceanfront Suites
Shell Is Resort Wrightsville Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing